We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Ranked #43 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average hotel downtown”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed at the Downtown Miami CY overnight for business recently. It was a good hotel for my needs - I needed a bed, a place to have breakfast, and a place to change before and after a meeting downtown. The CY met my needs in that regard. The hotel is older, but clean. The lobby is renovated and has the new "bistro" theme that Marriott is using throughout their hotels. The bar/bistro area was nice, they had a good selection of food and drinks, and the employees were helpful and friendly.

Pros: Upon arrival, I was upgraded to a suite, and given a free drink voucher. I'm Marriott gold, but this was still a nice touch. The hotel was clean, and the suite was spacious and had two small balconies. Bed was comfortable. The bistro was a nice place to have a beer, and the breakfast sandwich I had was reasonably priced and very tasty. The location is right in the heart of downtown - not really a great area, but good for business. If you're staying for vacation, I'd stay elsewhere. Parking was reasonable and easy to access.

Cons: Room smelled a little musty, and the AC was loud. The bathroom was smaller than most Marriotts, and the shower leaked onto the floor (I didn't mind, but housekeeping probably did).

Overall, a decent stay, but I wouldn't recommend for long-term stays or vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurdFerguson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    529
    214
    62
    25
See reviews for
357
297
57
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the Labor Day weekend. It's right in the middle of downtown Miami, really close to Port of Miami and Star Island. Honestly I did not mind that the hotel was not in South Beach. We spent the evening in South Beach and came back to the hotel. It was not that far. For a room like this we would have paid much more in South Beach and we chose to spend less but still stay at a good place. The rooms were remodeled and very clean. Complimentary breakfast was good too. I have no complains and I would suggest this hotel to anybody who would go to Miami.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionking05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Hotel facility was your typical Courtyard Marriott. Clean, nice, and great location for a pre-cruise stay. What was really remarkable was the staff. We used a Marriott bonus certificate for a free room and felt like royalty. There was literally nothing these folks wouldn't do for us. I hope after my cruise I have remembered her name correctly but Joanne at the front desk was outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here before our cruise. Rooms were recently remodeled and everything was fresh. Nice to have a balcony. However very noisy from the traffic outside. They need soundproofed glass.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiko96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We loved this hotel! It was clean, nicely decorated and had comfortable beds. The view of the pool and downtown Miami was also lovely. My only issue was the cost of transportation. There is not much around this hotel so transportation by cab can get expensive. The hotel does run a shuttle though the night we arrived the night staff knew nothing about this and it wasn't until the day we were leaving that it was offered to us. Shuttle to airport $30 to Cruise port was about $15. Anywhere else was about $25 such as South Beach or Coconut Grove. Our first night exploring we spent $125 in cabs. We were taking a Carnival Cruise so this hotel was conveniently located near the port. Would stay there again if that was the arrangement/

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room..much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itinerary Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice hotel with a great location, clean room e good staff!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here for one night in mid-August on our way down to Key West. It was a nice enough hotel and was within easy walking distance of the Miami waterfront. Our room was on the top floor over looking the pool. The room was very nice for the price range, small refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen tv, and decent bathroom. The main negatives were that the elevators were very slow, there were no clean towels available when we went out to the use pool area, and there is not a full-service restaurant on site. The front desk staff was very friendly. We self parked in the parking deck that is adjacent to the hotel and that was very easy. Overall, it probably is not a hotel that you would want to stay at for a week, but for just a night or two, it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R5C5H8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#24 of 122 in Miami
260 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#49 of 122 in Miami
3,339 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 122 in Miami
2,635 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#38 of 122 in Miami
3,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area

Property: Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Address: 200 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2106 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing