We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not really worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miami International Airport Hotel
Ranked #80 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Thank goodness I'm only staying 1 night. Staff is not very professional and the rooms are very small and sparsely furnished. The rooms however are clean and the bed is comfortable. It is also a decent location if your in transit. I would for sure come again but they could use some updating and improve their night staff at least.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Darren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Darren O,
I appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Miami International Airport Hotel.

I am happy to know that you found our hotel rooms to be clean and our beds to be comfortable.

I would like to apologize for our night staff unprofessionalism, please know that I have shared your experience with my front office manager we will make sure our employees are reminded that our number one goal is to provide excellent customer service.

Once again, I thank you for sharing your experience and I hope to see you again on your next stop to the Miami International Airport.

Harve Rosenthal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,524)
There are newer reviews for Miami International Airport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 2,524 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

The only 2 advantages of this hotel are: 1. It is inside the airport 2. You can’t hear the planes from the bedroom. Aside from that, the hotel itself is quite awful. Weird feeling in the bedroom and the bathroom, old furniture, dirty walls. Even worst is the restaurant... Not the best way to begin your day unfortunately... Really not recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Elena3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harve r, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience based on your comments. However I wanted to update you concerning the appearance of the guest room and restaurant. We have painted the restaurant and changed the carpet and did the same in our guest rooms and hallways. I would invite you back on your next trip and you will see the many upgrades that have taken place at the hotel to improve your visit. Thank you again Harve Rosenthal-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I traveled to Miami to send my younger off on a summer trip. We had to spend the night in Miami so we could get him on an early flight. The hotel was very comfortable and the front desk staff were just ok not really welcoming or friendly. They seemed very reserved and stressed. The rooms were probably top notch when the hotel was build but now they are a bit tired and outdated (cracked tile floors, mold in the bathrooms, finish worn off the bathroom fixtures) . The beds were fine and the rooms were quiet. We got a good night's sleep. The restaurant was good for a simple breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank pa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked the Miami International Airport Hotel months in advance as we were arriving late and leaving on a cruise the next day. We could have picked a downtown hotel, but our original plans had our teenage children arriving on their own exactly one week later and needing somewhere to stay overnight on their own. We thought we might as well stay here and book their accommodation there as well so we would know what they would expect, how to get there, etc.

I was very surprised to find availability at a reasonable price (at least until taxes were added) at the Miami International Airport Hotel when I first looked (and before I had read reviews on Trip Advisor). I normally assume that an on-site airport hotel is a higher end, luxury property. Once I started reading reviews, the availability and price began to make more sense.

We paid $180 (taxes in) for our king room. Finding the hotel wasn’t too difficult, but I agree with the previous poster that it is not obvious. You would think that the directions would be well-marked, particular in the baggage carousel areas. Instead we had to ask for directions, check maps multiple times as we wandered through the airport and didn’t know we were there until we were practically on top of it. Check-in was fine, although one of the desk clerks was extremely friendly while the other clerk just sat there, apparently doing nothing despite a short line of waiting guests.

As others have noted, the hotel is in need of (and perhaps in the middle of?) significant refurbishing and updating. Everything looks old (in a 1970s way, not a “classic” way). It may have been classy and modern at some point, but it is 3-star accommodation at best now. And while I hadn’t planned on spending a lot of time looking out my window, I was a little surprised that my only view was of a rooftop, the sides of buildings and HVAC equipment. I had sort of expected either a view of the runway area, or a view looking back to the city.

All that said, the accommodation met our needs, was sufficiently comfortable and very convenient. If I needed airport accommodation again, I would likely stay again for the convenience. On the other hand, if I was flying in for a cruise again or for any other reason, I’d be more likely to stay closer to downtown in a more modern hotel for the price.

My other observations are:
• Contrary to a recent posting, we had no problem with the wi-fi.
• It was a little disturbing to enter our room and find that the interior adjoining door was unlocked on our side. It wasn’t a problem to lock it, but if I hadn’t noticed it, the guest next door could have entered our room at night. You would think that housekeeping would always the lock the adjoining door upon check-out.
• The “free” breakfast was excellent. Because we were in Miami for a cruise (two, actually) we had the luxury of being in no rush the following morning. We enjoyed the meal in the 7th floor restaurant (with views of the runways and airport activity) and could have stayed there longer, if we hadn’t been somewhat anxious to get to the port not too long after noon.
• The bathroom was so small that the door swung open to within 2 mm of the toilet. When I say “2 mm”, I mean 2 mm. There was actually a notch cut out of the door for when the toilet seat was down.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank AdvisorKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

stayed here one night before an early flight.......located right in the airport.....paid $105....Ok hotel , nothing special........they do include breakfast starting at 6:00AM....on top floor ..I did not have enough time to have breakfast there..........my single room was on the small side...but had NO noise......my biggest issue is that the wyfi in the room did NOT work...you had to go to the lobby to get a good connection.......they try to use the airport wyfi......which does NOT work in the room that I had.........they need to spend some money and get there OWN internet,,just for the hotel.......really :wyfi in your room at an airport........no working......a rookie mistake....but an easy fix........

Room Tip: ask for a room where wyfi works!...........quiet rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Staff is nice, but the noise, (un)cleaness, and the whole package is good just for one night. It is not expensive and the breakfast is ok. But, nothing over 3 stars experience. Just what you would expect from the on-airport stayover.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Coming from the Caribbean most of my connections are through Miami, overnight with early morning connections. I generally don't want to spend more time than I have to getting to my flight, so I generally stay at the Miami International Airport Hotel.

My stays have all been good, with nice accommodations. The rooms are comfortable with basic amenities. I've never been there long enough to enjoy anything more than the room, but I will continue to use them for my overnights in Miami.

Room Tip: Be sure to verify your American Airlines Frequent Flyer Miles with the front desk to earn miles.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Miami Airport North Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#45 of 124 in Miami
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami International Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami International Airport Hotel

Address: NW 20th Street, LeJeune Road, Miami, FL 33122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Price Range: $155 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami International Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami International Airport Hotel is the only in-airport hotel with immediate access to airline ticket counters, departure concourses and award winning airport concession shops and restaurants. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the MIA Hotel is ready to welcome all guests and ensure they have a pleasant and satisfying experience. Guests are able to disengage from the hustle and bustle of the airport in the quiet atmosphere of their room, while enjoying the restful Sealy Posturepedic sleep mattress. For the guest’s convenience the MIA Hotels bellman are available to assist guests with their luggage to their room and or their airline ticket counter. Enjoy a satisfying meal in Air Margaritaville just steps away. The hotel features 259 unique rooms ranging from studio room that features a single twin, or 1 single queen bed for the independent traveler, 2 queen beds for the larger traveling family, to a king standard room, and deluxe queen or king rooms are available for those that need a more spacious living area. Day rooms are available based on availability. Nearby services include, rental car services, local shuttle services to many area venues such as Port of Miami, Dolphin Mall, Melreese Country Club Golf Course, Marlin Stadium, and Miami Aqua Tours. Our courteous and bilingual staffs are eagerly awaiting your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Miami International Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miami Airport
Miami Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing