We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you have to...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miami International Airport Hotel
Ranked #79 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only if you have to...”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Here's what's good about this hotel: It's right inside the airport terminal.

The rest — not so great. Nothing BAD per se, just very underwhelmed.

There's almost no signage, so you're likely to miss it. And I mean NO signage, at least from the street level.

I needed a day-rate room for a few hours to kill time, and the clerk at first didn't understand what I meant (language barrier). The rate was $98 but she brought it down to $75 without me asking because they were testing the fire system later. This is a pretty fair rate.

The room is about as basic as it can get and not particularly relaxing. But the shutters (yes, shutters) do block out light well. The door was broken and the only way to get it to close securely was to slam it with all your force, probably waking up guests staying miles away. As well, the door lock only worked one out of about five times. If I hadn't tried a number of times, I'd have had to go back down to the lobby.

The "sushi bar" in the lobby bar didn't exist. And the "lobby bar" itself was literally a little kiosk sticking out into the terminal itself. Food menu was dirty and very basic and, although the chicken had some gristle and fat, it was cooked reasonably well. I mean, how bad can you mess up chicken fingers?

I literally couldn't find this lobby bar because it was so tiny so I asked the concierge, who couldn't seem to care to give me the time of day. "Where is your lobby bar?" He grunted "Here" without pointing or anything. I still didn't understand so he pointed to it and rolled his eyes at me. Classy.

Checkout was painless, though the staff didn't seem to be able to answer a basic airport question "Which terminal does Air Canada fly out of?"

All in all, it was okay for its purpose — a dark, quiet room and a clean bed. If I were staying overnight, I'd pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Tod M,

Thank you for staying at the Miami International Airport Hotel. I would first like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while staying with us.

In addition, I would like to apologize for the way you were treated by our concierge, I have made our front desk manager aware of issue and she will make sure all staff is aware. This is not an indicative of how we treat our guest, our number one goal is to have superior guest service, and we have failed to provide that service to you and for that, I apologize.

I have also made our food and beverage director aware of your issue while dining at our lobby bar. I am happy to share that I along our food and beverage manager are currently working on new and improved menus for our lobby bar.

We truly hope you give us another opportunity in the future to be of service to you.

Thank you

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    674
    850
    390
    308
See reviews for
625
739
378
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lemoore, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel due to overnight connection to Punta Cana, D.R. Small rooms, cozy and nice Hotel bar not too much to say about. Courteous staff, did not use the restaurant on the top floor but breakfast was fine. Would stay again since the wait for courtesy vans to other airport hotels would mean we would have to tote our luggage much further.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDOEMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear LDOEMO,

Thank you for staying with us at the Miami International Airport Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as well as your business.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly hope to see you again on your next stop the Miami International Airport.

Thank you,

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Gorgeous hotel. Lobby was hopping with music and many people. Our room was on the 9th floor with an amazing view of the bay. We used this hotel for our night before our cruise. It was exciting to see our ship the following day. The room was huge. Comfortable bed. Staff very friendly. I would visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Close the Bayside Markerplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear lbfluffy,

Thank you for your comment, unfortunately our hotel is not the hotel you stayed.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were on an early flight so chose to stay in airport hotel. Rooms were clean and pillows were fine. The lobby was under construction. The wake up call never came. The restaurant was so understaffed the poor guy waiting on us about fainted when 10 of us showed up.

Room Tip: They are all the same, good luck. Be sure to set your IPhone alarm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Renee B,

We appreciate your feedback as well as your business. Due to the hotel being under renovation, we are experiencing glitches with our telephone system, I can guarantee you that we are continuously working on this issue.

I truly hope we see you again on your next stop to the Miami International Airport.

Once again, thank you.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I had a stopover between connecting flights so the hotel on the roof of the terminal seemed like a good idea rather than my usual base just along the road.

It was OK, but if it had not been for the convenience of being to walk out into the concourse I might have regretted my choice. Problems with the room keys and access to the internet spoilt this brief stop.

Would I use it again? Possibly, but possibly not. It wasn't really worth the cost.

Room Tip: Try not to stay too near the elevators because of the level of movement at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear BerkshireJohn,

Thank you for your feedback as well as your business. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while staying with us.

Our hotel is currently under renovation and we hope that you give another opportunity on your next stop to the Miami International Airport to be of service to you and to experience the many changes.

Once again, thank you.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I loved the convenience of the hotel, which is located in Concourse E inside the airport, since my flight arrived very late at night. Such a relief to not have to take transportation. I also appreciated the availability of a SINGLE room at a lower rate than double. The room was advertised as "sound proof". I did not hear any airplanes between midnight and 6 a.m., but people started banging doors before 6 a.m. The complimentary breakfast was appreciated and the service was fast, but unfortunately the coffee was terrible and the creamer was artificial. I hope this hotel remains in business at this location. It is so very convenient, and the price was reasonable. I will be staying there often.

Room Tip: Book the room through the hotel's website in order to get the "single" room, if that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear katweaves,

Thank you for choosing the Miami International Airport Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback as well as your business.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel to be practical and convenient.

We hope to see again on your next stop to the Miami International Airport.

Thank you.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

First time ever that I asked for a wake up call and it never came. almost missed my flight. Nice bar across the way. good choice if you have a late arrival in Miami.and an early morning flight
don't trust the hotel to wake you up.

Room Tip: do not be looking for nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear nmwoody,

Thank you for staying with us at the Miami International. We appreciate your feedback as well as your business. We are saddened to learn that your stay was not a pleasant or satisfying stay.

In regards to your wakeup call issue, I have addressed issue with our telephone service company, unfortunately due to hotel’s renovation we have been experiencing glitches with the system, please know that we are working rapidly to fix this issue. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience.

I truly hope you give us another opportunity in the future to be of service to you.

Thank you.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Miami Airport North Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#45 of 122 in Miami
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami International Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami International Airport Hotel

Property: Miami International Airport Hotel
Address: NW 20th Street, LeJeune Road, Miami, FL 33122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami International Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami International Airport Hotel is the only in-airport hotel with immediate access to airline ticket counters, departure concourses and award winning airport concession shops and restaurants. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the MIA Hotel is ready to welcome all guests and ensure they have a pleasant and satisfying experience. Guests are able to disengage from the hustle and bustle of the airport in the quiet atmosphere of their room, while enjoying the restful Sealy Posturepedic sleep mattress. For the guest’s convenience the MIA Hotels bellman are available to assist guests with their luggage to their room and or their airline ticket counter. Enjoy a satisfying meal in Air Margaritaville just steps away. The hotel features 259 unique rooms ranging from studio room that features a single twin, or 1 single queen bed for the independent traveler, 2 queen beds for the larger traveling family, to a king standard room, and deluxe queen or king rooms are available for those that need a more spacious living area. Day rooms are available based on availability. Nearby services include, rental car services, local shuttle services to many area venues such as Port of Miami, Dolphin Mall, Melreese Country Club Golf Course, Marlin Stadium, and Miami Aqua Tours. Our courteous and bilingual staffs are eagerly awaiting your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miami International Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miami Airport
Miami Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing