We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for overnight connection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miami International Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miami International Airport Hotel
Ranked #76 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Antigua
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very convenient for overnight connection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at the hotel twice in the month of June 2013 to catch overnight connections. The location is perfect, inside the Airport, in the area D.

It is a kind of "cold" hotel. Reception staff is ok, but not amazing. I asked how to get in town and the guy told me "only by taxi", showing not a big interest in giving me directions, as usually you would expect at a Hotel Reception.

I replied "are you sure"? Seems strange. I got same answer.

I later found out that it is possible to get a connection to the Metro (MIA Mobile) or to the Bus stop from where you can get a bus to Miami beach. The metro and the bus stop are in the same place.

Metro runs every 20/30 minutes in the evenings and weekends, be aware of that. I did not take the bus.

Overall if you need to catch a flight this hotel is the best option. You wake up and you are already in the airport.

I was at the restaurant, looked good, food tasting good but I think my steak quality wasn't the best.

In the lift you still see the sign"fitness centre", but it was removed. They did not bother to change the label in the lift. I got ready with my swimmer gear for a swim and I found out there was no pool!

It's just a great location hotel where to go for a shower and a sleep while waiting for a connection.
That's it!

Room Tip: It's just a great location hotel where to go for a shower and a sleep while waiting for a connec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredSax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    532
    714
    333
    264
See reviews for
507
589
303
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Thanks to a aircraft mechanical problem I missed a connection in Miami and needed a place to layover for twenty four hours. I wanted something in the airport and, after looking at reviews here, decided to give the Miami International Airport Hotel a chance.

Overall my room was comfortable and spacious, largely because I was lucky enough to get one at the corner. There was clear evidence of the recent hotel remodel in my room including nice tile and fixtures in the bathroom, good king size bed, comfortable chairs, and fairly modern lamps. Perhaps because it was at the corner, I had no problem with noise from the hotel hallway or the airport, which I could see out my room window. The room met my other basic tests -- ample electrical outlets, hot shower with plenty of water pressure, and excellent air conditioning. Overall I was satisfied and would certainly stay at the hotel again if I'm ever in need of a place to shower and sleep at the Miami airport.

I had few interactions with the staff but they all seemed pleasant enough and certainly attentive (though not chatty).

Several things about the room were odd, though. There was a desk, but it was in use as a TV stand and there was no desk chair. I ended up using a side chair and ottoman as my work area. There was no bureau or place to store clothing, though there was a clothes rack mounted on the wall and a large suitcase stand built in below. The hotel doesn't have its own wifi, so guests need to connect to internet services provided by the airport next door. In my case this was a major problem as the connection dropped and reconnected at least every five minutes, making it difficult to work and impossible to use the internet for voice services (which means I couldn't call into an important remote meeting over the internet, a common travel need for me). One odd benefit of using airport wifi in the room is that the 24 hours you purchase (for a delightfully low $8) also cover any access you may need/want in the airport proper, and I found the signal is much better in the airport itself.

There also didn't appear to be room service. The hotel has its own restaurant, which I used for breakfast and found the service attentive and the food good, basic fare. (The breakfast menu has three items -- eggs/meat/potatoes, fruit plate, or oatmeal.) Happily breakfast was included in my room rate. Other food options exist, however, as just outside the hotel lobby is a concourse area with food court containing a number of fast food choices.

I should note that finding the hotel was quite difficult. The hotel web site only mentions that it is on the second level of the E terminal. There are no helpful signs in the airport to point you to the hotel and it does not show on any of the airport maps located along the concourse. I had to call the hotel twice from within the airport to get guidance as to how to find it. (Hint: It is located just outside the Terminal E security checkpoint, on the departure level.) If you are like me and arrive somewhere in Terminal D you need to plan ahead so you can figure out how to find the hotel.

Overall, though, the inconveniences and missing features were relatively minor (except perhaps the Internet) and I would consider staying here again if similar circumstances arose.

Room Tip: I was in a corner room (#600) which was roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I missed a flight in Miami and needed a convenient place to stay as I needed to check-in by 4:30 am for my flight the next morning. The room was tiny, like a closet and the bed was also tiny. The tiny mattress was horrible also as it was lopsided and I was almost falling off. The worst part though was that at 4:30 in the morning I was waiting 10 minutes for the elevator (not exactly rush hour), and finally I called the front desk where I was told matter of factly that the elevators weren't working right and she would send one up to me. That took another 5 minutes. I would think in an airport hotel where most people have to catch a flight if thee was a problem with the elevator, there should be a sign or something to let people know they had to call and have one sent up. I almost missed my flight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was left stranded in miami after missing a connecting flight so checked myself in the nearest airport hotel which was the miami international .. I paid £110 for one night stay (actually for 7 hour hours as i had an early morning flight) which I thought was very expensive!!! But I was very tired and did not fancy spending the night in a airport chair.....
I was given an ensuite double bedroom with a view of a construction site. Most of the room space was taken by the bed with little room to walk around the bed...... the bedsheets appeared laundried but were stained... the bathroom was of modest size and clean... there was space next to the bathroom to accommodate my large traveling suitcases.... Overall a good place to crash in between flights, does the job, but is overpriced and not that clean....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodfanatic6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed on my own in a queen bed which was adequate. If 2 people had been there one would have to climb over other to get into bed as it was flush to the wall. Not much room however it was clean and did the job for one night.
Eating facilities was best going into the terminal concourse

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were in the process of moving out of the country with a lot of luggage and two cats. For that purpose, this hotel was perfect. I would not recommend this hotel unless it is for its proximity to Concourse E and Miami International Airport. Construction of an 8th floor could be heard on the 3rd floor until about 9 PM. Also, eating facilities are at a minimum unless you leave the airport.

Room Tip: If you book directly with them online, you get breakfast free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a short layover during the day. Noise outside room disturbed sleep. Room was clean but small (no desk), no free wifi but cost for 24hrs was only about $8. Restaurant was ok but devoid of any atmosphere even though it has great views over the airport apron. Very convenient location at Terminal D.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Miami Airport North Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn at Miami International Airport
0.9 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#38 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
1.2 mi away
PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami International Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami International Airport Hotel

Property: Miami International Airport Hotel
Address: 2100 NW 42nd Ave, Inside MIA Concourse E, Departures Level, Miami, FL 33122
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami International Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located inside the Miami International Airport, Concourse E (Departure Level). Features 259 sound-proof rooms, Top of the Port Restaurant is currently closed for renovations. Day use rooms subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Miami International Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miami Airport
Miami Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing