We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY COMFORTABLE BED & VERY CONVENIENT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami International Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miami International Airport Hotel
Ranked #76 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“REALLY COMFORTABLE BED & VERY CONVENIENT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

With a 7pm flight arrival from UK and cruise from Ft Lauderdale the next day this seemed like a good solution for a 1 night stay and it was.

Easy to walk your bags straight from arrivals - check-in was friendly and efficient and we were quickly in a large and attractive room with a king-sized bed. As the Virgin Atlantic food was so inadequate we needed to eat something extra before retiring for the night and the hotel restaurant was the convenient choice.

We were quickly seated and decided to just have the chicken tenders (listed as a starter) with a side of french fries washed down by a glass of wine and this was absolutely fine and just what we needed with friendly and efficient service.

Back to the room and the really thick curtains and effective double-glazing coupled with an extremely comfortable bed meant we had a great nights sleep - which lets face it is by far the most important thing in a hotel.

The bathroom is slightly dated with marble walls but this was probably a grand hotel when first opened and we couldn't fault the cleanliness or facilities (except you had to pay for wi-fi).

We breakfasted in the hotel and the menu provided a good choice and the food was excellent with good service.

Check-out was a doddle and it was then just a case of pulling the cases to the people-mover (light train system) that takes you to the rent-a-car facility.

One tip for anyone staying here and then taking a cruise from Ft Lauderdale the next day is to hire a car for 1 day to get from Miami to Ft lauderdale airport and then get the free shuttle from the rental car facility down to your ship. Booking this in advance in the UK cost me just £21 and this is far cheaper than taking a taxi. You can do exactly the same at the end of your cruise in reverse as there are no one-way drop-off fees in Florida.

Room Tip: I recommend the king-sized room , we had only booked a standard room but got a king-sized one withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear bobkent,

Thank you for choosing the Miami International Airport Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback as well as your business.

I am happy to know that your stay was practical, convenient and satisfying. We hope to see you again on your next stop to the Miami International Airport.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    532
    714
    333
    264
See reviews for
507
589
303
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL Suburbs
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night so that we could make a connecting flight much easier the following day. The hotel is located right on the airport property - so that is a big plus. The rooms are quite small, but we found ours to be clean and didn't see any issues as mentioned in some other reviews. The registration line does move incredibly slow - so be prepared to wait a bit if there is a line (which is usually the case). The room was quite quiet for being located at a major airport.

We ate at the restaurant at the top of the hotel last time we stayed here and decided not to do the same on this trip. On the last trip it was kinda 'sad' all around. The food was OK, the drinks were OK, but the service was not the best and the overall feel and look of the place is just somewhat depressing. I would find somewhere else to eat (which is not the easiest outside of security at MIA) when staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChgoSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear ChgoSailor,

Thank you for staying at the Miami International Airport Hotel. I am happy to know that you found our hotel to be practical and convenient.

We thank you for your feedback as well as your business.
We hope to see you again on your next stop to the Miami International Airport Hotel.


Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night between flights, which was convenient. The next day I noticed itchy welts on my legs that bothered me for days. We had reservations to stay another night on our return trip but changed our reservation to another hotel. I appreciated that the staff accommodated us without question.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Liz G

We are grateful that you took the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.com and inform us of the inconvenience you experienced. Please allow us to extend our apologies for the unhappy experience during your visit to our hotel.

We immediately asked our fumigation/pesticide company to do a random inspection of all hotel rooms, since we do not have a report from you. Our pest control company informed us that they found “no evidence of bed bug infestation” in any of our hotel guest rooms.

It is our goal to follow through on all of our customer complaints. We hope you give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDUSA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A big plus is convenience to check in after a late evening arrival or the night before an early morning departure. We did both! The hotel is right in the center of the concources so be prepared to pull your bags from and to the arrival/departure concources for your airline. The big minus is the time to check in. We had prepaid and still waited 20 minutes and 25 minutes respectively in the line to check in at reception. I had to keep reminding myself that our wait was not the fault of the staff but the fault of management. Neverthe less I get irritated in such situations and the check in staff lamented that management does not believe the check in times are as long as they really are.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTWassociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear GTWassociates,

Thank you for staying at the Miami International Airport Hotel. We appreciate your business as well as your feedback. I am glad that you found our hotel to be practical and convenient. I apologize for the time you had to wait until you were checked-in; I have shared your comment with my front desk manager.

Once again, thank you

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I usually read hotel reviews before booking a hotel room, but I apparently failed to read carefully about this hotel. We arrived at the hotel in the late evening, only needing to stay one night, before our cruise out of the Port of Miami the next afternoon. Upon entering the elevator, we realized how dirty it was inside. Upon entering the hallway on our designated floor, we realized how dirty & filthy the walls were. When I opened the door of the room, we realized how small it was, but it was okay for just the two of us for one night, and it was nicely furnished and appeared clean.

As I continued to take pictures of the room, I eventually entered the bathroom, and this is where it went all the way down hill. There was blue chewing gum stuck to the floor, that housekeeping obviously ignored; you couldn't help but see it out front, lying there between the toilet and the sink. The sink had two hair strands in it, as well as the shower. Oh, the shower tiles were filthy; I chose not to shower there.

It's a shame that a hotel would allow its property to get this nasty, knowing that people are paying close to $200 for the room. The only good thing about this place, is the convenience if one has a late arrival to or early departure from the airport. It's obvious that this place is not managed correctly, and there are lazy employees in charge of cleaning rooms.... just read other reviews regarding dirty rooms. I'm sure management will see this and try to come up with something good to say, but after that experience, we'll never stay there again; hopefully others won't be fooled by their nice website pictures.

Breakfast was offered with the price of the room, inside of their 'Top of the Port'. restaurant, which was very good.

If you don't mind filthy rooms, then this place is for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuverOfTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear LuverOfTraveling,

Thank you for staying at the Miami International Airport Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as well as your business.

I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while staying with us, I have addressed all issues with my housekeeping manager.

Once again, I apologize and hope you give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future.


Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Look, this place is anything but spectacular, and for that, it fits into the Miami airport ecosystem quite well.

So what do you get if you stay here: a decent enough room, an okay bed, and a location if you're stranded in the airport because you missed a connection that is hard to beat. Staff was nice, shower was fine, and so maybe my standards are low, but it beat sleeping in the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Patrick F,

Thank you for choosing the Miami International Airport Hotel. I am glad that you found our hotel to be convenient while staying with us. The hotel will soon be going under renovation and I hope that if you ever find yourself again at the Miami International Airport you give another opportunity to be of service to you.

Thank you

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
276 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you want the convience of being at a hotel in the Airport Terminal, this is the place. The price is high and the rooms are average at best. Not sure if I would ever stay here again unless I did not have much time and needed to connect to a very early morning flight. Not very pleasant.

Room Tip: close to elevator so you don't have to walk down the narrow boring hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonNoel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear LeonNoelKos,

Thank you for your feedback as well as your business, I am happy to know that you found our hotel to be practical and convenient. Our hotel will soon be going through renovation; if you ever find yourself at the Miami International Airport, I hope you give us another opportunity to witness the many changes.

Once again, thank you.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Miami Airport North Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn at Miami International Airport
0.9 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#38 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
1.2 mi away
PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami International Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami International Airport Hotel

Property: Miami International Airport Hotel
Address: 2100 NW 42nd Ave, Inside MIA Concourse E, Departures Level, Miami, FL 33122
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami International Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located inside the Miami International Airport, Concourse E (Departure Level). Features 259 sound-proof rooms, Top of the Port Restaurant is currently closed for renovations. Day use rooms subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Miami International Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miami Airport
Miami Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing