We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“O.K. For Short Turn Arounds” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miami International Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miami International Airport Hotel
Ranked #79 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
“O.K. For Short Turn Arounds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Conveniently located in the unsecure area of Concourse E, the Miami International Airport Hotel was perfect for our 7:00 p.m. arrival and next morning departure. Checking into our reserved room (#316), was quick and easy. Although the hotel is a bit worn and shows signs of its age, the room itself was fine: two comfortable beds, a large flat screen television and a recently renovated bathroom including a new sink and re-tiled walls. The room is similar to what you would find at a Motel 6 or other value motel chain. It appeared to be clean and it was quiet during the night.

The hotel has a bar next to the lobby, offers wake-up and room service and is located near several restaurants, including Burger King, Bacardi's, California Pizza Kitchen, Starbucks and a bagel/deli shop. Wireless internet connection is available for $4.95 for thirty minutes and $7.95 for 24 hours. While not the Hyatt or Marriott by any stretch, the Miami International Hotel is a good altnernative to taking a taxi or shuttle to/from a motel when on a short turn around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sceneisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    582
    755
    346
    278
See reviews for
541
633
326
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Booked to stay here having an early flight out of Miami, however would not do so again.
Whilst the location is good the bedroom walls are not well sound proofed.
With people getting up at various time hero ugh the night you hear the showers we were Owen at 1 and 3 am by the noise of people getting up and no doubts we woke people up at 6 am.
Sleep experience apart the breakfast was really good as was our evening meal the previous night, however that did not ma up for the lack of sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeman5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I like I'm sure many got stuck at MIA with a layover that was not planed. The airline put me in this hotel and it was one of the worst ones i have ever been in. To start I am disabled and the room not only had no chair, but no bars the the bathroom to help me get up or down-in or out. The staff was unwilling to help in this matter saying this is the room the airlines gave you.(the airlines does not give out rooms) The room was so small you could hardly walk around the bed and the bathroom is old an outdated. The next day as I called for a wheelchair again the staff was no help. I had to go down to what they call a lobby and after 45 minutes found a TSA officer that was willing and able to help me get the chair. I hope you never have to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLR946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up North
Level Contributor
216 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is right in the terminal so location wise it's okay depending on what terminal you're flying from but even then it won't ever be a long walk. We booked a day room as had a long layover. The room itself is absolutely fine, it's clean, well furnished, has everything you need etc but what bothered me was the thin walls. If they're going to quadruple glaze the windows so you don't get flight noise the least they could do is consider the sound proofing between rooms. I really don't like thin walls in a hotel, my biggest bugbear!
Also, bear in mind that they don't store luggage for you if you arrive before your check-in time so you would need to take it just down the hall (not far) to check it in with the airport left luggage facility and of course this will cost you.
Airport hotels are never anything to sing and dance about as you only stay in them because you need to but to be honest this one isn't bad at all and I would use it again if I had to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesecake0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was excited to see that there was a hotel actually IN the airport, as I had an almost 11 hour layover. I initially rationalized that the expense of getting a cab, finding a hotel, getting another cab, and going who knows how far from the airport were all relatively equal the the convenience of staying at the airport. WRONG! I entered the hotel room thinking, 'Ah, what a lovely room.' Come to find out, that's all it was. Nothing was functional. The wall of blinds did not open, and the one, ONE that did, revealed a breath-taking view of a pillar. Convincing myself that I needed to shower and sleep, I went to the bathroom. The only nice thing I can say about the shower was that it was at least hot. The tub did not drain, so I was standing in a shin-deep pool of dirty soap water and there was mold on the curtain. I tried to get online, but shockingly, MIA is the only airport I've ever been to (including some third-world countries) that didn't have free wi-fi. Not only was it not free at the airport, but it wasn't free in the hotel. Complimentary? No. I closed up the laptop and reached for the remote. It turned the TV on and off, and would occasionally change the channel. I was so irritated that I just decided to scrap it all and go to sleep. By then, I think I was so exasperated that sleep just wasn't going to happen. I spent a grand total of 5 hours in this room, and was still charged full price for nothing more than a well decorated box. Multiple attempts to find a place on their website to complain were all fruitless. They certainly don't make it easy - to stay or complain. Take the time to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choosing a room at another hotel is your best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlinBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you are just passing through Miami on the way to somewhere else and you must lay over for a night and get up early the next day for a departure, this hotel is by far the best location, especially if you fly American Airlines. The hotel is virtually located in the terminal, very near where all the American flights are (Terminal D). Checking in and out is a breeze. The rooms are small and sterile, but clean, quiet, and the air conditioning works great. It was incredibly easy to walk off the plane down the concourse into the hotel lobby and check in. We took a cab into Miami's South Beach area for dinner (about $33 each way), just to see it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyfisherbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located on concourse E of the airport which is ideal for American Airlines passengers. The hotel is sound proof, I did not even remember I was staying at the airport because there was no noise. One can view arrivals and departures on the tv in your room. My slight concern was that wifi was not included with the room price. Nevertheless, I recommend this hotel for anyone with an overnight connection.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaMar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#42 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Miami Airport North Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Miami Airport
Courtyard Miami Airport
#32 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.6 mi away
Element Miami International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami International Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami International Airport Hotel

Property: Miami International Airport Hotel
Address: 2100 NW 42nd Ave, Inside MIA Concourse E, Departures Level, Miami, FL 33122
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami International Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located inside the Miami International Airport, Concourse E (Departure Level). Features 259 sound-proof rooms, Top of the Port Restaurant is currently closed for renovations. Day use rooms subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Miami International Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miami Airport
Miami Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing