We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the convenience of the location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miami International Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Miami International Airport Hotel
Ranked #81 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not worth the convenience of the location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed her the night before a cruise. The front desk acted like we were stupid for not speaking Spanish. They ignored us for several minutes as we waited to check in. The price was rediculous. The room was nasty and smelled like hell. Our sheets had hair on them from the previous occupant and the shower was moldy and gross. What a waste of money. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joncall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Joncall,

We appreciate your feedback as well as your business. We thank you for sharing this information with us as it gives us the opportunity to correct and prevent situations like such, from happening in the future.

Please allow us to extend our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered while staying with us and we hope you give us another opportunity in the future.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    627
    809
    368
    300
See reviews for
591
686
351
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shawano WI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the airport hotel on both our outbound trip as well as returning home from Peru. Not having to worry about getting a shuttle to/ from the airport on super early flights was our main reason to choose this hotel. The rooms were fine with 2 queen beds, although the bathroom was a little tight. It was clean and spacious. After arriving into Miami at midnight, we stayed and requested a 5am wake up call for our 730 am flight. However, we did not receive one and woke at 627am, causing us to miss our flight. When I got back I wrote a letter of displeasure to the manager and when they found the automated wake up call didn't go thru due to a malfunctioning phone line, they immediately refunded our room charge. This really impressed me because of their willingness to follow up and find out what went wrong. I would definitely stay again, if not for the convenience, but for the knowledge they take customer service seriously.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstClass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear FirstClass1,

We appreciate you writing to us regarding your stay, we are glad you found our hotel to be practical and convenient.

We appreciate you writing to the hotel personally, as it gave us the opportunity to take care of the issue. The hotel’s number one goal is guest customer service and guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for your feedback and business. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Miami International Airport.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

You should ONLY stay at this hotel if you crave the convenience of a hotel that is actually in the airport. In our case, we arrived in the evening (me, wifey, 2 yr old daughter) and really just needed a place to crash for the night before we flew out again early the next morning (4:30 AM wakeup call - and a big TY to the a-hole who set the radio alarm to 3:30 AM).

The rooms are very small (bathroom door hits the toilet seat small) and our wonderful airport view of planes taking off and landing was actually looking over what I assumed was the air conditioning. No runway views at all, which was pretty disappointing as my daughter loves airplanes. The rooms are clearly dated, although they have shelled out the money for about 50" flat screen TV per room. The low ceilings and small room combine to create a slightly claustrophobic atmosphere.

Again, I would never stay here again...unless I am arriving late, have small children, and really, really don't want to deal with a shuttle.

I rated 2 circles b/c although everything was poor...it still did do the job. We got up early the next morning and didn't have to take a shuttle, but simply walked to the gate.

Room Tip: I would specifically ask for a runway view if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for choosing the Miami International Airport Hotel. We appreciate your business as well as your feedback.

We are happy to share with you that our hotel will be going under renovation soon. We hope you give us another chance in the future to experience all of the changes.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having a layover flight to Cancun, my partner and I needed a place to put our heads down. Bed was massive and the room was unnecessarily big too. Hardly hear the planes flying overhead but unfortunately we were opposite the janitors closet - he, however, was not as quiet! Saying that, we had a decent night sleep and bathroom facilities were good. Felt refreshed for our journey ahead!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Danielle D,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback as well as your business.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Miami International Airport.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims Dorf, Graubunden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We chose this hotel for the practical location within the airport terminal. The smell in the hallway was uncomfortable and the elevators quite skanky. The room felt cramped and the bathtub was rather dirty (lot of yellow stains). Some of the towels did not appear to be properly cleaned. The temperature in the room was freezing (even when we turned off the air conditioning). If you had to book an hotel within the airport area I would most definitely not recommend this one!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Christian B,

Thank you for choosing the Miami International airport Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while staying with us.

Please know that all issues will be address accordingly with my employees. We regret the inconvenience and hope you give us another opportunity in the future, I would like to share with you that the hotel is going through renovation and we hope you return to see all the changes.

Again, thank you for sharing this information with us.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
453 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 773 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Room was clean. Soundproofing from airplanes wasn't that great. Most of the rooms face the parking lot, so don't expect a good view. Too bad there is no longer a rooftop pool (someone told me they had "structural issues"), not sure if they have a fitness center either, I don't think so. It's above terminal "E", right in the center of the Airport. You enter on the departure level. Very few signs to find it. There is a rooftop restaurant open til 11 pm, or lots of restaurants in the airport, but most seemed to be closed by 8 pm. Hotel shows lots of signs of age, but the room was clean and everything worked. Staff were friendly. They have day rates, which I believe are much more expensive than staying overnight. Room is pretty spacious. On the t.v. in the room, they have channels with the airport arrivals and departures. You can't beat it for convenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear pattayainsider,

Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge your stay, we appreciate your feedback as well as your business.

We are glad that you found our hotel to be practical and convenient.
Again, thank you and we hope to see you on your next trip to the Miami International Airport Hotel.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I can understand why some guests here do not like the hotel. It can be dark and the rooms are tiny, but it is without question the only place I will stay in Miami for two days or less:
LOCATION-- its at the airport-- I travel with two young kids, six pieces of luggage, a stroller, a car seat, carry-ons, etc. It is a pain and a half to get all of this onto a shuttle bus. I much prefer to request an airport porter to take all of this on their super convenient trollies to Terminal E where the Airport Hotel is located. Then the bellman there takes it all up to my room, and when I leave he brings it all to the check-in counter back in Terminal D. It might be far, but its closer than a shuttle bus. Plus, the rooms are well insulated, so you will not hear one airplane take off or land.
CONVENIENCE -- this last trip, we stayed two nights in Miami. The first night, we arrived, checked in and hustled just in time to eat at Chili's (which closes at 8:30pm sharp). Second day, we took the people mover (a train) to the centralized rental car building. The rental car companies must be giving fantastic deals ONLY to the tourists, because you have to provide your boarding pass. I already booked a super deal, then they gave me an upgrade! We spent the day at our favorite Miami hotspots-- Chuck E. Cheese in Aventura, Costco in Miami Lakes, and then the beach nearby. At the end of the day, I returned the car, which was as easy as if I was parking it, went back to our room, had room service and ordered a movie from their Ondemand movies. That is living! My kids were happy which made me happy and fortified against another long day of traveling.

Room Tip: Choose the biggest room you can afford. They are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeenieBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaHotel, General Manager at Miami International Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear KeenieBeans,

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you found our hotel to be practical and convenient.

We hope to see you and your family again on your next trip to the Miami International Airport Hotel.

Harve Rosenthal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.9 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#45 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Miami Airport North Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
1.2 mi away
PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn at Miami International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami International Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami International Airport Hotel

Property: Miami International Airport Hotel
Address: NW 20th Street, LeJeune Road, Miami, FL 33122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami International Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami International Airport Hotel is the only in-airport hotel with immediate access to airline ticket counters, departure concourses and award winning airport concession shops and restaurants. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the MIA Hotel is ready to welcome all guests and ensure they have a pleasant and satisfying experience. Guests are able to disengage from the hustle and bustle of the airport in the quiet atmosphere of their room, while enjoying the restful Sealy Posturepedic sleep mattress. For the guest’s convenience the MIA Hotels bellman are available to assist guests with their luggage to their room and or their airline ticket counter. Enjoy a satisfying meal in Air Margaritaville just steps away. The hotel features 259 unique rooms ranging from studio room that features a single twin, or 1 single queen bed for the independent traveler, 2 queen beds for the larger traveling family, to a king standard room, and deluxe queen or king rooms are available for those that need a more spacious living area. Day rooms are available based on availability. Nearby services include, rental car services, local shuttle services to many area venues such as Port of Miami, Dolphin Mall, Melreese Country Club Golf Course, Marlin Stadium, and Miami Aqua Tours. Our courteous and bilingual staffs are eagerly awaiting your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Miami International Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miami Airport
Miami Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing