We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel
Ranked #43 of 125 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I would give this hotel negative 5 stars if I could and I haven't even stepped foot in the place.

As a business professional I must travel often and have stayed in many luxury hotels. Never have I had an experience such as the one I had with Sofitel. I made the unfortunate mistake of booking my week long stay at this hotel online. I received my email confirmation stating that there is some 72 hour cancelation policy which is pretty standard.

A few days later when my business travel plans changed and I needed to cancel the reservation is when things went from bad to worse. I called to cancel within the 72 hour policy and the reservation customer service representative obliged accordingly. Thinking nothing of it until I got my credit card statement that I found out Sofitel still charged me for the entire stay!!!! I called the hotel and they said they they didn't have a record of my credit card on file!!!! Finally they found my reservation and told me that in their terms and conditions the 10th one down it states there are no refunds for cancelations, period!!!! I asked why didn't the rep tell me that at the time of cancelation and she said and I quote, "yes, she should have told you". No apology, no "let me see what I can do", no nothing.

I must also point out that the terms and conditions are not displayed on the screen when you're reserving the room. It is emailed to you once you have already paid which is too late. I called my credit card company and they have temporarily refunded the amount pending their investigation. When I called the hotel back to see if I can continue with my reservation they told me they had booked my room to another guest! So they're not out any money and are actually collecting twice for the same room!!!!

DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. THERE ARE SO MANY LUXURY MIAMI HOTELS THAT HAVE ETHICAL BUSINESS PRACTICES.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your comments. At Sofitel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest, and I sincerely apologize for the difficulties you encountered with cancelling your reservation. Please feel free to contact me directly at pierre.jotterand@sofitel.com with all the details of your reservation. I stand at your service to personally investigate the situation and make any necessary adjustments.
With all my apologies and best regards,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 4,035 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here in the past several times and thought it was nice. That is why we booked Sofitel Miami again earlier this week for two nights. It has really gone down hill since our last stay. The lobby and hallways were not clean and neat as before. They were playing some sort of Jamaican music way too loud and it was annoying throughout the lobby areas. But the worst thing was the fire alarm going off and having to evacuate the building when there was no fire, no emergency of any sort. They said that "it does that sometimes" because they are remodeling a couple floors. My wife and her 80 year old grandparents were on the 12th floor. The alarm goes off and the elevator shuts down so they had to use the stairs. When they arrived at the bottom they, along with all the other guests who had to evacuate noticed that it was business as usual at the front desk. My went over to find out what was going on and that is when the lady at the front desk said "it does that sometimes"....with no apology, no concern for all the people who just came down the stairs. Knowing that "it does that sometimes", the hotel should have rushed someone upstairs to tell everyone who thought they needed to evacuate that it was a false alarm. I will never stay at this hotel again and will never recommend it to anyone. This place is poorly managed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akromanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We sincerely regret to read that you and your family did not enjoy your stay with us.
The safety of our guests is of the utmost importance to us, and I can assure you that our security systems are fully operational. Each alarm is taken very seriously and immediately investigated by our Director of Security.
I would welcome and appreciate the opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience and to personally explain our safety procedures. At your convenience, please contact me directly at pierre.jotterand@sofitel.com.
Looking forward to hearing from you,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is our second time at the Sofitel Miami. It's a great hotel for an overnight stay after a long flight from the UK before driving to the Keys.
The hotel rooms are looking tired but the bed is very comfortable and at £70 a night it is excellent value. The bathroom is good with a very efficient shower.
We particularly like eating in the bar which has a very good menu and we were looked after by a very nice young French guy.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglishLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us on your way to the Florida Keys. We were delighted to welcome you back, and it is with great pleasure that I will share your compliments with Fabrice, our bar ambassador.
I am also very happy to inform you that we are in the process of major renovations. All of our guestrooms should be completed by your next visit.
We look forward to your next stay!
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sofitel Miami was the final leg of our one month stay in the US! My friend and I were both tired and were thankful to stay at a Hotel with such comfortable, clean rooms and friendly staff.

I will be sure to head back here when returning to the US.

Room Tip: I said "highest room available" and was given the top floor. Really great service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85Tim85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We are delighted that you had a great experience at Sofitel Miami. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations, and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

A bientôt!

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent our first night in Florida in this hotel - a perfect start. Our room was very spacious with a sitting room and a wonderfully comfortable bed, which I wish I could have brought home. the staff were all very pleasant and gracious and made our stay very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We were delighted to welcome you to sunny Florida, and I am delighted to know that you will keep excellent memories of your first night in Miami.
We look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed one night as we had to wait to fly home the following night from our Caribbean vacation. The hotel staff were very nice and friendly. They were able to give us a room that we could have a late check out time as our flight time changed until evening. The room was very clean and spacious. Shuttle picked us up at airport and took us back next afternoon. The gentleman ( I am sorry I forgot his name) who took us back to the airport was very nice. He told us a little about the hotel and Miami. Places to visit and sites to see so that if we go back, we can spend more time in Miami. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but walked a few blocks to a shopping plaza and there were several restaurants and shops. It was a nice evening to walk and stretch our legs after our long flights. The young man at the parking gate was very helpful - told us what was around and which direction to go in. Overall the hotel staff was very friendly and knowledgeable and we would definitely return when we are in Miami.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianelcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us upon your return from the Caribbean. We were delighted to host you on your way back home, and I am very happy to know that you will keep excellent memories of the evening you spent with us.
Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Miami in the near future.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Jinty125
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
1.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Miami Airport - Blue Lagoon
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#45 of 125 in Miami
3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#39 of 125 in Miami
1,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126-2016 (Formerly Sofitel Miami)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#30 Family Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $127 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes from Miami International Airport, stands, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Miami Airport. From the beaches to the Everglades, Pullman Miami Airport is centrally located to everything that Miami has to offer. Easy access to Downtown Miami, Coral Gables, and Doral make our Blue Lagoon location the perfect choice. The business epicenter and the vibrant city sights are all at your fingertips. Art, Design and Connectivity are at the heart of the vibrant Pullman Miami Airport. Guests will experience the essence of contemporary style and design. Pullman Miami Airport conforms to the modern lifestyle and caters to the spirit of today's cosmopolitan business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing