We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good option for shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Ranked #45 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good option for shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

If you catch a discounted price in sites as priceline or hotwire is a good option for who want go shopping in outlets and also to explore Miami.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipaBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    516
    254
    123
    79
See reviews for
295
288
111
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on January 17 and woke up to see I had been bitten by bedbugs and the sheets were spotted with blood after I killed them. Two were small, about one eight of an inch and another one was much larger, about half an inch. The incident was reported, they came to the room to take some pictures and I filed a report. I did not expect this as the Doubletree was supposed to be a high end hotel. I do not recommend this hotel at all, as the personnel was indifferent to my complains.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pupo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcalibo, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
I wanted to follow up with you to let you know that the procedures that were put into place following your report have been successful. This area of concerns has affected the hospitality industry, hospitals, private residences from multi-million dollar condos to private family homes. It is an invasion that is affecting the country, so individual reports and the immediate response from hotel management is vital. Health and Safety is our primary focus and is headed up by a committee of our finest departmental directors. Security and Loss prevention, Housekeeping, Engineering, Human resources inconjunction with Sales and GM.
We utilize the most current and affective preventive solutions to make sure our guests comfort is better than their on homes as we inspect and clean on a daily basis.
We would love to have you back and gain your confidence again.
Mark Calibo
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We spent a night here due to an airline travel voucher, and were very pleased with the accommodations and customer service we received. The bar normally closes at 11pm, but Theresa kept it open another hour because there were so many patrons. Wayne in the restaurant was super friendly, and the breakfast buffet was excellent- really fresh fruit, and good selections. We took advantage of the pool & hot tub the next morning before our flight, and would stay here again if it were our decision.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redwhine21224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We were put up in this hotel by the airline as our flight was cancelled. The check-in could not cope with a plane load of passengers and we were all made to feel unwelcome - and no chocolate chip cookies!

The wait for the restaurant which had a buffet, was over an hour, and they did not want to serve anything from the al a carte menu. By the time we got into the restaurant it was 9pm and quite empty even though the staff were telling everyone it was full. The staff were more interested in setting the tables for the next day than serving anyone. It was quite apparent that they wanted everyone to have the buffet food which looked very unappetising and as though some of it had been there for hours. Also, the buffet area was not very clean. We waited a long time, despite several requests, for someone to take our order. 30 minutes later our meal, which included a salad starter, still had not been served and no-one, especially the maitre d' seemed to care. In the end, we ate the 'breakfast' pack of which we were all provided with as the flight was going early the next morning.

The restaurant could not cope and did not make any effort to try. The restaurant is supposed to be open until 10pm but I think they all wanted to go home early.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed here everytime we visited Miami for over 2 years.

MY BIGGEST ISSUE..
Dog ticks and fleas trying to eat you alive on the beds. I have seen for myself, some guy with 2 BIG dogs, (not medium as written on the website) Dirty, wanting a nice groom, with ticks "vampiring" their skin... Other friends and colleagues told me abouyt this, they complaned in the past, but nothing happened.. This time we had just about enough.. cause there was one wandering around on my pillow (imagine if it got into my ear!!)

Some of the staff is nice and courteous, some have very bad manners, especially at the front desk and the shuttle drivers, these drivers drive like maniacs, feels like your in the fast and the furious movie... and they tend to curse at you when you don't tip or if you don't tip enough.

Housekeeping lady, sometimes on floor 8, sometimes 9.. Apparently hates it when the wifey is there, you get 1 towel instead of 2, room barely cleaned, soap thrown on the counter... I can go on for days....

The Parking thing, OMG, $7 per day.. are you guys crazy, and they guy at the gate wants you to pay $7 again before they 24hr period...

Internet connection is whack...

They only nice things about this hotel is the Breakfast, and the Miami airport view...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank contrrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tferrara10, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
First I should like to apologize regarding any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay at the Doubletree Miami Mart. Since I have been at this hotel (September of 2009) and we have NOT had a complaint regarding fleas or ticks anywhere in the property, much less been "infested". We still have not – in reviewing the 2 months prior to you trip-advisor report there we no complaints of this nature registered with guest assistance, our front second effort system, or with the Medallia guest comment email solicitation system. It is unfortunate that if you had an instance of this nature that you did not seek assistance from our property management team, who would have been happy to assist you and make the situation right, so that you can enjoy your stay. In addition it should be noted that we are a “pet friendly” property and that we appropriately “treat” each guest upon the guest/pet departure to insure that other guests do not have a problem of this nature. In regard to the other comments valet, housekeeping and parking – I apologize again for any inconvenience and would like to note the we do charge for parking and that charge of $7.00 is the lowest overnight parking charge of any full service hotel in the Miami Airport Area. If I may be of any future service in assisting you, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Sincerely,
Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich,UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This hotel was a steal at the price but we will remember it more for the bad points than the good. We were bemused by the parking arrangements and like lots of other guests we observed did a circuit or three past reception. There seems to be nothing but valet parking (90% of the spaces seemed empty). Finally when you do work out where to park you pay for the pleasure. The reception area is very nice and the reception staff are very polite and helpful and the free cookies a nice touch. It is a shame the rest of the staff does not share the same positive attitude. We booked a room for 3 on the 8th floor. When unpacking I realized there was no iron so I phoned the helpline and a very grumpy person turned up with it quite quickly. We later noticed there were only 2 towels so again called the helpline this time the same man did turn up and on answering the door he was shaking his head like I was a naughty schoolboy. Both tiomes he refused to talk to me. The list goes on: no coffee machine, no cups and the most horrible bedding of a yellowing duvet between 2 open sheets. We noticed a notice by the front door saying the bar had a happy hour with 2 drinks for 1. When we went to the bar we were told there is no happy hour but maybe there will be in the future. We asked could she report this to management and she said lots of people had complained but to no avail. The list goes on but in summary this could be a fantastic hotel if it wasn’t for the appalling attitude of some of the staff. Maybe they should replace the management with the reception staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
362 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Needed an airport near the hotel for an early morning flight and this one was perfect. Very helpful staff, nice and quiet rooms. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hokiechip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#38 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Miami Airport - Blue Lagoon
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
2.8 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#28 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#34 Business Hotel in Miami
#36 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Sheraton Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing