We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but Restaurant Staff needs training on Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Ranked #63 of 123 Hotels in Miami
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
“Good Hotel but Restaurant Staff needs training on Customer Service”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Modern decor and fixtures in room and around hotel. Lobby also looked good. Check-in and out was very fast and the complimentary room wifi is really awesome. Didn't get to try the restaurant food because we were totally ignored and after seating for 14 mins without service or acknowledgement, went back to room and ordered a domino's pizza for delivery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eugene U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    605
    315
    160
    114
See reviews for
366
348
132
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

after a hotel tour with a company i work for dinner had been arranged in their restaurant Rioja..
there were 12 of us and appetizers had been pre arranged..so out comes 5 large plates..the 1st is fried calamari....it was shaped like mozzarella sticks...it seem to have a japanese bread crumb mixture on the outside...served with an garlic aoli..soo good...2nd was seafood ceviche...im not a fan of usually..but i could have eaten the whole platter..also served but i didnt try was 3 types of quesadilla..cheese..beef and chicken..all looked good..
a small salad was served with roasted pecans blue cheese mixed greens and what seemed like a balsamic dressing..
the entrees we all ordered off the menu..entrees range from 15-30..i had the guava pork chop..it was to die for..so tender..along with mash potato and just a few asparagus..my only complaint was id like to have had more veggies..some ordered salmon..ribeye..stuffed shrimp..a good selection...
lastly coffee and dessert..i got american coffee..again very good and strong...i got a 7 mile high choc cake to go...it was enough for 5 of us..others got banana brûlée..ice cream..but you must get the cake...its to die for..
im not usually big on hotel food especially in miami..but..this was excellent.. you must go..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xncman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family stayed for two nights. Other than the fact that we did not know there was a parking charge, it was a very nice hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable. They offer a nice breakfast bar and the pool was clean and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful time. The room was nice, the free shuttle to and from the airport was good, the wholesale mart was good. We had a lovely time. The cookies were delicious. The staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were exhibiting at a 4-day comics-cartoon convention so the location was PERFECT. When we arrived from the airport Wednesday evening around 9 p.m., I asked if an upgrade, as a Hilton Honors member, was possible. We were given a room on the 11th floor, thank you, Jose!

While checking in, the bellman also got our 2 FedEx boxes and brought them up to the room with our luggage. He was very accommodating and friendly. We also had a bellman take our artwork, banners, etc. to the convention hall the next morning - again, very accommodating. :)

The room was spacious, clean, etc. - no complaints!!! Young people on the floor on Friday and Saturday nights were VERY loud and security did come up to settle them down so I can't say they didn't try - they were soon loud again so unless a hotel is going to evict LOUD guests or call the police, peace and quiet can be short-lived depending on the other guests.

We ate at the hotel instead of getting a cab and eating elsewhere. The breakfast buffet was a very good value, $15.00 per person, with a good selection of fresh fruit, made-to-order omlettes, etc. Dinners were quite good with a varied selection - pastas, seafood, steaks, delicious chicken torilla soup, wedge salad with blue cheese (Caesar was nothing special, though). John was our waiter 3 evenings - thank you, John, for the wonderful, personable service. I think the restaurant was short of staff on Saturday evening, but we (8 adults) were seated and able to order drinks right away so waiting for entrees was not a major problem. After all, it was the Fourth of July weekend.

The outdoor pool area was beautifully landscaped, good water temperature. Negative was not providing towels so we brought them from our room and then had to go back up to the room and hang them to dry. Inconvenient, but doable!

Check out went smoothly mid-morning on Monday and we took the FREE hotel shuttle to the airport - a real plus for staying her again.

EVERYONE was very friendly, helpful, etc.

Room Tip: 1126 was quite pleasant; it didn't matter to us if the room looked out over the freeway as we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDCCexhibitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Miami Doubletree MIA, and I was very warmly greeted by the staff, especially Fausto Perez. He really went above and beyond in his kindness and willingness to help with directions, general questions about the area, and discussing the amenities of the hotel. Great asset to a great property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed one nite May 21st due to missed conncection on AA, Arrived at about 11pm, very tired, long day. The staff was great, check in amazingly quick, right to our room. The room although clean, was very old and outdated. The carpet was dirty, room smelled old/bad, the shower would not drain, standing in above ankle deep water before thru. I usually love to stay at Doubletree, this property is in very bad shape, needs a major remodel. Had room service delivered after check in that night, somewhat $$$, good service, food pretty good. Glad i wasn't paying to stay here. Very dissappointed with quality of this hotel, although the staff did a good job.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarribeanBound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Let me start out by apologizing for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay at the Doubletree Miami Airport Convention Center. We're glad we had the opportunity to serve a loyal DoubleTree guest. However, I'm disappointed that we did not meet your expectations or ours. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and allowing us the opportunity follow up with our housekeeping and maintenance teams. We hope that we'll have another opportunity to make it up to you if you're ever back in Miami.

Sincerely,

Tony Ferrara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#46 of 123 in Miami
3,132 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Element Miami International Airport
1.2 mi away
PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Address: 711 NW 72nd Ave, Miami, FL 33126-3001 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami
#34 Business Hotel in Miami
#36 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center is minutes to the Miami International Airport (MIA), connected to the Miami International Merchandise Mart – a wholesale / retail experience offering exceptional savings and is the home of the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Business travelers enjoy the convenient location to the Blue Lagoon and Doral business parks and guests traveling for leisure love this same location for its easy highway access allowing for them to visit the many sites of Miami and South Florida including Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. Complimentary, Wi-Fi with video streaming speeds, 24-hour complimentary airport transportation, 5 dining options from fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille to the Fresh Market Grab and Go. With 24 room service travelers never go hungry. The plaza of shops, multitude of gift stores and even a beauty salon/spa are just another reason to visit. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. Set in a tropical garden environment the temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. With 50 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 6,000 to 28,000 sq. ft., Ground level exposition space of over 76,000 sq. ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Sheraton Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing