We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Ranked #61 of 123 Hotels in Miami
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We needed to go to Taste of Peru last weekend and this hotel was perfect. Walking distance to the fair and to a huge mart where you can find anything you want. It's got a nice fitness center, rooms are quiet and nice, beds, spectacular. Nice view from our room, Cable TV with a lot of good channels, 2 of them in Spanish. Great room service, friendly people and a tasty cookie as a welcome gift, The breakfast buffet is very good.

Room Tip: There are rooms with nice view, Others point to the ceiling, beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    605
    315
    160
    114
See reviews for
366
348
132
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here last June and it seemed okay. Stayed here again in 11/12 and it wasn't good. Arrived around 1pm and were told that no rooms were available on the executive level that we'd reserved unless we wanted a smoking room. The front desk personnel could have cared less and told us that we needed to wait until a room came available, so we sat in the lobby and waited and waited and waited. She never called us over, but finally I went over for the third time and asked if our room on the executive level was ready. She said it was, so we checked in. Went up to room and it was made up nicely however had a very large stain in the middle of the carpet. Bathtub had a clogg that wouldn't go down. Not to mention that the room was freezing cold. So I called down to the front desk and they told me the hotel didn't have any heat, however they would send up a space heater. Adequate, however very noisy clicking on and off all night long. The front desk also did not inform us that the executive lounge was closed on the weekends. Nor did they let us know that they didn't honor the 'park and fly' feature. We still had to pay $28 in a lot nearby for three nights parking. Nor did they tell us that a breakfast came with our room. Upon checkout I noticed a certificate for 2 in the check-in packet. Nobody at the front desk seemed to care. We will definitely go back to the Marriott chain for reliable service and the 'park and fly' feature offered to those who leave out of MIA. Upon our return at the MIA airport, shuttle was nowhere to be found. Waited almost 45 minutes and called twice.....never again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocagrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had a one night stay at the Double Tree MIA. Free transport to and from the the MIA airport. Confusing at the airport for all hotels no signs or info but you just need to flag down the hotel bus or van you are staying at. Every 30 mins for DoubleTree.

Arriving at the hotel it is in the aiport district, not much around. The checkin staff was very friendly and the hotel was well maintained. I was early to checkin so I waited at the lobby bar. The staff was excellent. I noticed couple dislike something with their food, replaced the food, and the manager give personal attention and offer dinner at their restaurant because of the mistakes. That shows to me they try to make every customer happy and satisfied. My food was great and the servers good all around.
The room was very large, great view, great bed, flat screen TV. A great stay and a great sleep.
When I first checked into the room, I did notice the bathroom may need a little attention, so I stepped out asked the wonderful room stewertess to take a look and she imediatly fixed the situation.

I would recommend this hotel for buiness and travel. Great connection for the cruise lines.

Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had a really nice stay at DoubleTree by Hilton MIA, the staff was really nice & the rooms were really clean & comfortable. The location is great for people that need to stay close to the airport, MIA is about 5 minutes away. It was a lot cheaper than the hotel I stayed at the previous night in Kendall which was $150 & DoubleTree was only $100 & in a better location. It was kind of hard to find the entrance to the property at first, I ended up missing the entrance & getting back on 836 from 72nd ave & got back off 836 at 57th ave to NW 7th street which is where the entrance really is located. I would definitely stay at DoubleTree MIA again the next time I visit Miami!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bleinenbach407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staying here tonight due to an unexpected layover, this is certainly not a hotel I would choose to stay at again. The lobby appears to be very nicely remodeled, but there is a horrid odor throughout the entire building, including my room. I guess I would call it a mildew smell, but it's overpowering and obnoxious. Other than the awful smell, the rooms are very dated but clean. Hoping for at least a decent nights sleep.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingGnomeWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I apologize for the unfortunate odor you experienced, throughout our hotel. We’ve reviewed your feedback with our engineers and management team and we do not have any other reports of this type of odor: the lobby, lounge and restaurants are all newly renovated and we do not have any type of mildew situation that would lead to this type of commentary- we did have a large group of international guests (smokers) staying at the hotel over hurricane Sandy who smoked outside the building and some of that may have filtered back into the lobby, but certainly not the entire hotel and we also did have some roofing work completed at the end of October/ beginning of November but that is the full extent of any type of odor that may have permeated the building for a brief time, since we do not know your date of stay we are unable to correlate these events. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can gather more details and help make things right. Tony Ferrara, General Manager, 305-260-8912, Tferrara@doubletreemacc.com. Again my apologies, we hope to see you again during your next visit to the area

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel front desk and restaurant staff were wonderful,my only complaint was the shuttle driver. One trip he made people wait at the airport for the next shuttle saying it was full.....there were 4 available seats still. On the trip back to the airport (we were traveling as 2 couples) we loaded the shuttle leaving seats for our husbands only for the bus driver to close the doors and try to drive off telling them it was full and they'd have to wait. Again there were still open seats so it was a lie.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babiesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during October 2012 awaiting the moving van. We chose it because the hotels on Miami Beach were exorbitantly priced, and this hotel was dog friendly. Finding the property entrance is off-putting, the address provided (72nd Avenue) is not where the hotel entrance actually is (7th Avenue) requiring you to pay for convention/self-parking before getting to the hotel entrance, where valet is available at $7 more a day (worth it, unlimited in/ out). Not a problem the second time you need to go there. The biggest problem was our first (yup, we had to move) room, which suffered from an obnoxious odor (mildew wet rag) coming, we decided, from the AC unit. One of the most disgusting smells around, for sure. We moved the second night, after talking to an assistant manager, who thanked us for the feedback and promised to move our bags, but didn't follow through. First night, light dinner through room service was adequate; second night in the hotel restaurant was forgettable. Breakfast available to HiltonHonors members for free was quite good, with a very good selection of hot and cold foods. Second night room was large and smelled much better. Noticed throughout both rooms that items were broken or had become unattached from beds and walls and not repaired; hotel needs much better quality control by housekeeping. Empty beer bottle found on balcony also. Give me a break. Hotel staff generally polite and accommodating.

Room Tip: Assume you may want to change given the condition of rooms. Some issues may not be obvious at first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldenoughtoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#45 of 123 in Miami
3,131 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Element Miami International Airport
1.2 mi away
PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Address: 711 NW 72nd Ave, Miami, FL 33126-3001 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami
#34 Business Hotel in Miami
#36 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center is minutes to the Miami International Airport (MIA), connected to the Miami International Merchandise Mart – a wholesale / retail experience offering exceptional savings and is the home of the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Business travelers enjoy the convenient location to the Blue Lagoon and Doral business parks and guests traveling for leisure love this same location for its easy highway access allowing for them to visit the many sites of Miami and South Florida including Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. Complimentary, Wi-Fi with video streaming speeds, 24-hour complimentary airport transportation, 5 dining options from fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille to the Fresh Market Grab and Go. With 24 room service travelers never go hungry. The plaza of shops, multitude of gift stores and even a beauty salon/spa are just another reason to visit. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. Set in a tropical garden environment the temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. With 50 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 6,000 to 28,000 sq. ft., Ground level exposition space of over 76,000 sq. ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Sheraton Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing