We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel & great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Ranked #47 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had a really nice stay at DoubleTree by Hilton MIA, the staff was really nice & the rooms were really clean & comfortable. The location is great for people that need to stay close to the airport, MIA is about 5 minutes away. It was a lot cheaper than the hotel I stayed at the previous night in Kendall which was $150 & DoubleTree was only $100 & in a better location. It was kind of hard to find the entrance to the property at first, I ended up missing the entrance & getting back on 836 from 72nd ave & got back off 836 at 57th ave to NW 7th street which is where the entrance really is located. I would definitely stay at DoubleTree MIA again the next time I visit Miami!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bleinenbach407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    516
    252
    123
    79
See reviews for
294
287
111
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staying here tonight due to an unexpected layover, this is certainly not a hotel I would choose to stay at again. The lobby appears to be very nicely remodeled, but there is a horrid odor throughout the entire building, including my room. I guess I would call it a mildew smell, but it's overpowering and obnoxious. Other than the awful smell, the rooms are very dated but clean. Hoping for at least a decent nights sleep.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingGnomeWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I apologize for the unfortunate odor you experienced, throughout our hotel. We’ve reviewed your feedback with our engineers and management team and we do not have any other reports of this type of odor: the lobby, lounge and restaurants are all newly renovated and we do not have any type of mildew situation that would lead to this type of commentary- we did have a large group of international guests (smokers) staying at the hotel over hurricane Sandy who smoked outside the building and some of that may have filtered back into the lobby, but certainly not the entire hotel and we also did have some roofing work completed at the end of October/ beginning of November but that is the full extent of any type of odor that may have permeated the building for a brief time, since we do not know your date of stay we are unable to correlate these events. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can gather more details and help make things right. Tony Ferrara, General Manager, 305-260-8912, Tferrara@doubletreemacc.com. Again my apologies, we hope to see you again during your next visit to the area

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel front desk and restaurant staff were wonderful,my only complaint was the shuttle driver. One trip he made people wait at the airport for the next shuttle saying it was full.....there were 4 available seats still. On the trip back to the airport (we were traveling as 2 couples) we loaded the shuttle leaving seats for our husbands only for the bus driver to close the doors and try to drive off telling them it was full and they'd have to wait. Again there were still open seats so it was a lie.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babiesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during October 2012 awaiting the moving van. We chose it because the hotels on Miami Beach were exorbitantly priced, and this hotel was dog friendly. Finding the property entrance is off-putting, the address provided (72nd Avenue) is not where the hotel entrance actually is (7th Avenue) requiring you to pay for convention/self-parking before getting to the hotel entrance, where valet is available at $7 more a day (worth it, unlimited in/ out). Not a problem the second time you need to go there. The biggest problem was our first (yup, we had to move) room, which suffered from an obnoxious odor (mildew wet rag) coming, we decided, from the AC unit. One of the most disgusting smells around, for sure. We moved the second night, after talking to an assistant manager, who thanked us for the feedback and promised to move our bags, but didn't follow through. First night, light dinner through room service was adequate; second night in the hotel restaurant was forgettable. Breakfast available to HiltonHonors members for free was quite good, with a very good selection of hot and cold foods. Second night room was large and smelled much better. Noticed throughout both rooms that items were broken or had become unattached from beds and walls and not repaired; hotel needs much better quality control by housekeeping. Empty beer bottle found on balcony also. Give me a break. Hotel staff generally polite and accommodating.

Room Tip: Assume you may want to change given the condition of rooms. Some issues may not be obvious at first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldenoughtoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Thank you late night staff!!!! I have worked at a hampton for 8 years now and customer service is our #1st,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10th priority!! lol My husband and I showed up around 11 pm and the ladies at the desk made us feel so welcomed and without questions our requests were gladly taken care of!! Kudos to this service which makes me proud to work for this brand!! I will certainly stay here whenever we are traveling to this area and will make sure my guests do as well!! Very clean, GREAT breakfast and SERVICE in dining!! Our new favorite place in miami!!! GREAT JOB!!! ....and THANK YOU!!!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from the 11th floor and loved watching the planes!! And, were never woken by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel2010024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Double Tree by Hilton at the Miami airport was a great experience. We stayed at this hotel on a recent vacation to Miami. On check in our room was upgraded to deluxe suite, and the staff was very friendly. As our wedding anniversary was in a few days the hotel gave us breakfast vouchers for our entire stay, and snack vouchers for use at the bar which also included one drink. A request for more hot cookies was also met with a smiling face and given with out issue. Each night on return from touring Miami the staff would was very interested in talking with us. We couldn't of been more satisfied from the room upgrade, the free breakfast, and the wonderful staff all of which made our stay excellent!

Room Tip: If a family of four upgrade to the Deluxe suite which has enough space to accommodate four adults or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for one night. It must have not been my day. At check in I waited 20 minutes at the Hilton Honors desk to check in. Upon checking into room I noticed that the toilet had "feces" sprayed around the rim and down the front on the toilet. Their was also a large human hair ball in the middle of the tile floor. I ma not making this up. An associate traveling with me stepped into the shower only to find that the handle to turn on the water was missing---no shower that morning.
The staff did their best to make me feel better as I am a Diamond Member with Hilton. Unfortunatly it did not help much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We appreciate your loyalty as a rewards member and we value your business. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations or ours on your recent stay in Miami and we’re actively working with our housekeeping and engineering team to focus on cleanliness and comfort throughout our property. We’ll keep your concerns in mind as we evaluate our quality assurance processes at our property. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can gather more details and help make things right. Tony Ferrara, General Manager, 305-260-8912, Tferrara@doubletreemacc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#38 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Miami Airport - Blue Lagoon
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
2.8 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#28 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Address: 711 NW 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#34 Business Hotel in Miami
#36 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated guest rooms will let you know "It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center's convenient location to the Miami International Airport (MIA) is adjoined to the Miami International Merchandise Mart and the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Shop, meet or just enjoy all of Miami from this destination spot. Situated by the Waterford Blue Lagoon Business District and offering easy highway access to the Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. This hotel in Miami, FL offers a beauty salon, a plaza of shops and gift stores, and 24-hour complimentary airport transportation to and from MIA Airport. The spacious over-sized guest rooms, 17 suites for entertaining and the complimentary guest room WiFi are just starters. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. The temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Grab and Go food favorites at Au Bu Pain along with 24 hour food service are surpassed only by the three restaurants/lounges featuring an array of culinary creations. Be sure to include a evening of dining on fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. Ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. Imagine almost 60 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 7,000 to 28,000 sq. Ft., Ground level exposition space of over 70,000 sq. Ft. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Sheraton Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing