We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center
Ranked #65 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for four days, on my third day i discovered that the toilet was leaking i went down stairs to the front desk to let them know that i had an issue, so I went to the pool side to give them an opportunity to fix the toilet, i went back they told me that the engineer didn't find a problem so i went back up i searched all around the toilet to discover mildew and hair behind the toilet. It was black it was so gross i had to take a photo. The engineer then comes in and tells me that he can fix the leak and will call house keeping to clean the mildew. I felt so gross from all the nights and times i went in there and felt water touching my toes not realizing it was the toilet. The leak had to have been there long before i booked the hotel because the mildew was 'BLACK' it made me feel sick! I couldn't even speak to another person there because I was so upset. They did not take there time to solve my issue they made me feel stupid like i didn't know what I was talking about, then they try to make it better with a lousy $20 food voucher as if I couldn't afford lunch myself! From there I had to pack my bags to be shifted to another room which made me very uncomfortable. I was in my room for an hour with an engineer who didn't take his time to do his job the first time! Big inconvenience! The introduction to the hotel was beautiful the shuttle, the receptionist, the cookies; where i 'was' pleased upon arrival I saw a dead roach in my room and i didn't complain but the mildew was enough!

Room Tip: I wouldn't know what a good room is cause I didn't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tameka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for a night, and everything was fine - clean, large and quiet room, very good internet connection, great breakfast, as Hilton Gold member was upgraded to executive floor. Not very friendly staff at check in but effective, everything was prepared so it took a minute only. Wonderful!

Jointed the bar in the evening and ordered some drinks, salt&pepper calamari and bread pudding - yeah, bread puding was something really special - it was such wonderfully prepared, came with orchid bloom on the plate, all I can say is: KUDOS TO THE COOK! It was great! Really great! Thanks for it!

If in Miami again, will stay here!

Room Tip: Executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEffect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am a 100+ night per year business traveler. I have been traveling to the South Florida area 2-3 weeks per month for the last 18 months. We recently opened a new office in Miami Lakes and the commute from the hotel near our corporate office is horrific. I have been trying new locales and found this gem.

As a Hilton Diamond, I see more and more properties cutting the offering to those of us that spend 1/3 of our year in their beds. This property is the exception!

They still offer a free drink coupon for their bar. They still offer a full free hot buffet or menu item breakfast which was outstanding vs. the scaled back continental version. They still have an executive floor with an executive lounge. In the lounge, you can have breakfast (hot) if you do not feel like going down to the cafe. They also have evening appetizers, peanuts, beer, wine and other beverages.

The staff was great - especially the housekeeping bunch! The fitness center is quite large with free weights, machines and good cardio. They only have 2 treadmills which is light for a hotel of this size and one was not working properly. We will see when I return if they actually act on my mention of it by getting it fixed. There is also an old raquetball court converted to have a basketball hoop in it for a nice change of activities available. The proximity to the airport does promote some jet noise but not bad and did not keep me awake at all.

The outdoor pool was nice, clean and inviting. I frequented it late night after working out and enjoyed it very much!

I could only think of 2 downsides to this property. 1) Parking: It is separate from the hotel and you must pay separately. For those of us doing expense reports, we prefre the itemized charges just on our bill when we are forced to pay for parking. 2) Food in the area: Next to none and nothing within walking distance for those not having a car.

Overall, this is a great airport location and perfect for business travelers to the MIA area. I will definintely be returning. They have earned this Diamond's business!

Room Tip: A high floor facing the airport for anyone that likes airplanes and flying! Great views of large pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The rooms are good, the lounge is good, the public areas are mostly well maintained. It has a better gym with an eye-tearing disinfectant odor.

So why 3 stars? This is a conference center and yet they torture guests with excruciatingly slow internet. To save another nickel they subscribe to the Dish Network which may as well be an antenna. So not only cannot I not watch the Walking Dead on AMC or Boardwalk Empire on HBO I cannot download them either.

A lesser irk, but one felt nonetheless is they reserve the best parking spaces (paid parking) for SUVs and vans.

Bah!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReallyDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony f, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and lounge area. We will surely make a note about the amount of disinfectant we’re using. We appreciate your feedback on the speed of our internet service and television programs offered at our hotel. We’re sorry for the inconvenience and are currently addressing these issues with our service providers and reviewing our options. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope you’ll consider staying with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

After having been delayed for over an hour in Boston on an American Airlines flight due to labor issues with the pilots, we missed our connection. After being provided with some very poor travel options such as fly back to New York for an overnight stay and a JetBlue flight to Aruba the next morning, we were offered a choice to stay over night and fly out the next day. We were sent to the Doubletree to stay. Upon arrival and check in I provided my Hilton Honors number and immediately up graded to the executive floor. The room was clean and bright. There was also a lounge that had a buffet with hot and cold selections along with beverages and deserts. My wife and I wanting a bit more ordered from room service. We ordered two sandwiches and salads. The order arrived very quickly and was more than we expected from a room service meal. The salads were large, fresh and crisp. The sandwiches were polled sky high. What was even better is the whole meal tip to taxes was about $40.00! Upon retiring we enjoyed a king sized bed which was firm but like sleeping on air. The next morning we went to the breakfast buffet downstairs that was absolutely delicious for about $15.00 a person. With had a real gentleman by the name of Wayne who couldn't do enough for us as we enjoyed our meal. After all was said and done the real stars here are the staff. From check in to a late check out the people at this hotel were warm, inviting and ever so helpful making a ever so bad situation into an enjoyable experience. I can state without reservation stay at this location again and would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone thinking of staying here. To the staff at the Doubletree you are absolutely the best at what you do! Thank you again for your hospitality.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank First-Time-Aruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After reading some reviews on tripadvisor I was quite alarmed before heading over to Miami and staying here. I was travelling for work and had a convention here so there was no changing the accommodation! Was pleasantly surprised with the hotel! Great rooms, decent sized with good faciltiies throughout hotel including shops , restaurants etc. Hotel staff were all extremely friendly and I would CERTAINLY recommend this hotel to business travellers, solos, or families looking for somewhere close and convienant.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here one night on my way home from MVD. The hotel is clean, modern and comfortable. About 10 minutes from the airport. Not really made for a vacation hotel but great for business travel. If your business is being held close by I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank gupjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#45 of 127 in Miami
3,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Miami Airport - Blue Lagoon
3.9 mi away
Element Miami International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
3.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Miami International Airport Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#39 of 127 in Miami
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center

Address: 711 NW 72nd Ave, Miami, FL 33126-3001 (Formerly Miami Mart Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami
#34 Business Hotel in Miami
#36 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $126 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"It's So Miami"! From business to pleasure the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center is minutes to the Miami International Airport (MIA), connected to the Miami International Merchandise Mart – a wholesale / retail experience offering exceptional savings and is the home of the Miami Airport Convention Center (MACC). Business travelers enjoy the convenient location to the Blue Lagoon and Doral business parks and guests traveling for leisure love this same location for its easy highway access allowing for them to visit the many sites of Miami and South Florida including Downtown attractions, Coconut Grove shopping and South Beach nightlife. Complimentary, Wi-Fi with video streaming speeds, 24-hour complimentary airport transportation, 5 dining options from fine steaks and fresh Florida seafood at Rioja Grille to the Fresh Market Grab and Go. With 24 room service travelers never go hungry. The plaza of shops, multitude of gift stores and even a beauty salon/spa are just another reason to visit. Be sure to visit the large fitness facility, featuring locker rooms, state-of-the-art cardio vascular equipment and even an area for a game of basketball. Set in a tropical garden environment the temperature controlled outdoor pool and whirlpool is a great choice to relax and/or visit friends and family. Bring together groups from 10 to 6000 at the MACC. Consider hosting a meeting in this Miami, Florida hotel's 172,000 sq. ft. Of modern meeting and tradeshow space. With 50 individual meeting rooms including boardrooms, multiple ballrooms from 6,000 to 28,000 sq. ft., Ground level exposition space of over 76,000 sq. ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton & Miami Airport Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton And Miami Airport Convention Center
Doubletree By Hilton & Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Doubletree Miami Mart Airport Hotel
Miami Mart
Sheraton Mart Hotel
Sheraton Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing