We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Horrible experience, don't recommend it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Miami Airport
Ranked #40 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible experience, don't recommend it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The only reason I gave this hotel 1 star is because they were really nice about letting me check in early, otherwise the rest of the stay was a disaster. I do not like to put out negative reviews, so I guess this will be the first.

1. They do not specify that breakfast cost $22+ dollars. When you get there they tell you to enjoy their buffet as if it were free, and then you come to find out it actually cost.

2. Where is Valet? Valet is no where to be found and even the people working there does not know who valet is. They fail to tell you that you would use your room key card to get in and out of the gate.

3. They charge you $15.00 per night to park your own car, and $20.00 per night to valet park your car. I tried to do valet for about 2 hours but valet could not be found, so I gave up.

4. I asked if they had any silverware we could use and the person at the desk just made a face like it was the craziest request she ever heard of. She did not really try to help with this request.

5. We decided to head out of the Hilton to run some errands come back and our key card is denied at the gate to enter the hotel, thankfully they have a ticket system that allowed me to get a ticket which opened the gate. Why would my room card be denied if I was not checking out until the next day?

6. They failed to tell us that if you move things around in the refrigerator, you would be charged for it. This one might have been my fault for not reading the paper on the door but I think when there is something automatically charging your account they should tell you when you check in, that if you open the fridge and take things out to look at it, you will be charged. Thankfully they said they would check and verify everything was there.

7. We asked for towels multiple times, at least 3 times and did not get them until the 3rd try.

8. At the end of our stay, no one asked us how it was, they simply did not care.

9. The beds are so uncomfortable, we woke up in pain.

There is a lot more to this story but hopefully that will give you an idea of the service we endured. I called my mom in law and she is canceling her reservation for next weekend, no one wants to spend almost $600.00 for bad service, rude employees who could care less about the customer or their jobs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tanisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    1,057
    439
    143
    96
See reviews for
693
726
161
621
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

In December we booked a day room at the Sofotel Hotel Miami airport . Our room was big and comfortable, and the food we ordered in the lobby was fantastic, transport to the airport was frtequent and free. All in all a good stay.

Last month we tried to book the Sofotel for another day room before flying back to the UK. The hotel was full so we ended up booking the Hilton Miami airport. The room was fine, however the costs was twice the price for the Sofotel. We ordered a meal to be delivered to the outside restaurant tables, as between 2pm and 6pm the restaurant was closed. Not impressed at paying restaurant prices for a chicken sandwich in a plastic container and plastic cutlery.

For anyone needing a day room near the airport then I would suggest the Sofotel hotel, not the Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank disneydollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After a 3 1/2 hr degradation with 1000s of others upon entering the US at the Customs and Immigration at Miami Airport we took our bags and scooted off to the Hilton Miami Airport hotel via their shuttle. The shuttle was complimentary with the nicest, most polite gentleman driving. He took us directly to the hotel which was a balm in a stormy sea.

We were treated to an upgrade (thanks to our HH membership) and surrounded in comfort and luxury in a newly updated suite. I love this hotel!!!

The restaurant had closed but the bar was still open and we ordered a flatbread pizza and bruschetta. The bartender was also delightful and friendly.

I have stayed at many hotels near this airport but this is now my home base since all flights to the Caribbean seem to involve an overnight layover here. While I dread facing the Miami Airport (everyone there seems to be rude) I am thrilled to be treated like a human with a soul instead of cattle to the slaughter. We had a non-eventful shuttle back to the airport w this kind driver the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for something quiet away from elevators and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IeatVeggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Arrived last night for a one-night pre-cruise stay. We arrived at the hotel shuttle pick-up curb around 7:45, we waited almost 40 minutes for a shuttle to arrive. I called the hotel after 20 min. of waiting & was assured that one would be along "shortly." Had we known it would be another 20 min, we would've taken a cab. Now that I have described this NEGATIVE impression of this hotel, let me get to the good stuff!

Once we finally got to the Hilton Honors check-in desk, my husband mentioned the shuttle debacle. The desk clerk apologized for our experience & offered us two complimentary appetizers in the bar & complimentary breakfasts the next morning. When we got to our room, 932, we discovered that we were in a small suite. What a nice surprise! The room was spacious with contemporary furnishings. The bathroom, while a little small, had good lighting & nice toiletries. They get a couple of points off for having only 2 bath towels...I had to use a hand towel to wrap my wet hair in this morning.

The front desk staff were pleasant & efficient, granting our request for late checkout this morning. The bar staff were also very nice as was our waitress this morning in The Cove Cafe.

While we were occasionally awakened by the occasional rumble of airplanes taking off @ odd hours of the night (hey, it's an airport hotel!), we would definitely stay here again if the situation called for it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FitTravellerLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013. The hotel is close to the airport but not too close and was priced reasonably during a busy time in Miami. The rooms looked good (recent renovation) however the grounds around the hotel were dirty and had lots of garbage, cigarette butts etc. There did not seem to be anybody minding the details. The gift shop inside the hotel (even though probably run separately) did not get any newspaper deliveries on one of the days I was there so there was no way to get a daily paper without walking about 3/4 of a mile to a mall nearby. The main hotel bar was closed during the 2 of the evenings I was there and I felt an overall coldness and laissez faire attitude to clients.

When I saw that the the Hilton flag was hanging upside down from the flagpole outside the property my theory about lack of attention to details was confirmed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravels1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Needed a hotel for one night before our cruise. Chose this for location. Loved that there was a free shuttle from airport to hotel. I'm a Hilton Gold member and got upgraded to a beautiful suite when we arrived! Our room was breathtaking! Too bad loud music was playing out at the pool, only downside. Loved the breakfast in the morning. Walked to the grocery, nice walk. No complaints. Very nice hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yecatsruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
251 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The renovation at this location is finally complete and the hotel has improved. Great fitness center. Nice grounds to walk around. Staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good but not worth the $22 asked for it. Saw a family of six look at the menu and turn around and say no breakfast here let's walk to Burger King. The pool area is very nice. Ample paid parking. Fishing in the lagoon so bring a poll.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
PULLMAN Miami Airport hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Miami Airport
Courtyard Miami Airport
#29 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miami Airport Marriott
0.7 mi away
HYATT house Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Airport

Property: Hilton Miami Airport
Address: 5101 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126-2021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#32 Family Hotel in Miami
#33 Business Hotel in Miami
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Miami Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing