We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency Hotel Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regency Hotel Miami
Ranked #37 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about the hotel: hotel was clean, lobby was great, staff super friendly and great services. I remember the hallway looking a little outdated but the rooms were quite nice. The beds are one of the best beds I ever tried in a hotel. You get the best sleep after a long travel. One warning though, the plane's noise is a bit bothering.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aldanalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    546
    221
    76
    51
See reviews for
423
392
144
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Regency Hotel on two separate nights on layover to Belize. I booked this hotel knowing that some of the reviews were not very positive. One of the reasons I ignored the reviews was because of the pictures on their website. The Regency appeared to have a decor authentic to Miami and I liked the fact that it was close to the airport. So, I ignored the negative comments and made my reservations. I ultimately regreted that decision. The first night we stayed at the Regency was Friday, February 22nd and it was a big disappointment. As mentioned in other reviews, the best part about this hotel is its lobby. Our room, on the other hand, was not quite as nice. It looked exactly like the pictures on the website, but it was very worn and outdated, especially the bathroom. Our room also faced the restaurant across the alley and the music from the band blared until closing time. However, we did eat at this restaurant earlier in the evening and the food there was excellent! The one thing we liked about our room was the fact that we could go out on the balcony and get some fresh air. My husband and I seriously considered cancelling our room reservation for our layover back, but decided not to go through the trouble. On our return stay at the Regency on March 2nd, our room was on the other side of the hotel and was much quieter and less weathered looking. All in all, this hotel is "okay" if you are catching a flight in or out the next day. The shuttle to the airport is free and runs every 30 mins. Although we waited awhile at the airport for the shuttle to come, it was very easy to flag down and it only took a few minutes to get to the hotel. If I would have booked this hotel for a week long vacation, I would have been very disappointed. The pictures on the website make it look a lot nicer than it really is. In my opinion, this hotel is overpriced for the quality of the rooms. I don't think I would return to the Regency Hotel again. I will also be sure to take the opinions from the reviews much more seriously in the future. The biggest plus for this hotel is its close proximity to the airport.

Room Tip: Request a room looking out towards the pool because it will be quieter than a room facing out toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndcherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrSammyMiami, Public Relations Manager at Regency Hotel Miami, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Ndcherman,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the location, the ease of use of our shuttle service and our lobby. Did you know we also offer shuttle service directly to the port of Miami?

We use feedback both positive and negative to make changes to the hotel. We are addressing all of the issues you identified but I believe that I could still benefit from speaking to you directly. It would also give me a chance to apologize directly and give you an update on all of the improvements we have or are making.

Thank you again for the feedback and I wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had great lunch .....although didn't stay , I could tell that they pride themself, specially the front desk (Miguel), which was very helpful and polite enough to direct me to the restaurant.too close to airport though, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSosua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseMiguul, Front Office Manager at Regency Hotel Miami, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Sosua, Thanks for your great comments.
We appreciate you taking the time to let us and the comunity of travelers know how happy you are with The Regency Hotel and our service. Please let me know the next time you stay so I can again help you out and say thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was there last month and the front desk people were amazing with me and my family. Is a very nice area and good services for the price. I didn't use the spa or any restaurant in side the Hotel, but there's plaint of places to go around there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertsoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrSammyMiami, Public Relations Manager at Regency Hotel Miami, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Robertsoto,

As a boutique hotel we strive to create a home away from home for our guests and I am glad you found one while you are in Miami. We appreciate you taking the time to let folks know how happy you are with The Regency Hotel and our service. Please ask for me the next time you stay so I can say thank you again but this time in person.

Sam Trotter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had a wonderful time in this hotel!!!! rooms was very clean, the customer service was great, the front desk was pleasant, the manager was there and was very helpful with all our needs and special request for my child... I stay for 3 nights and the restaurant, the bell man, the room service was very nice. I really had a great time. Thanks! hope to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: pool view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate1104142923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was in the Miami area looking for a place for a one night stay before heading into the Keys. I found this hotel on Kayak and the photos looked decent and the price was $160. I booked the room and had a bad feeling from the moment I stepped beyond the lobby area. The staff spoke very little English and was actually a bit rude I believe mainly because of the lack of understanding my basic questions. The hallways smelled like old musty motel. Once I stepped into the room I immediately noticed the light fixture was half hanging out of the ceiling. The toilet in the room would not flush so I called the front desk asking to be moved to another room. They said they would send maintenance instead. About 15 minutes later an older gentlemen that couldn't speak a word of English showed up at my door with plumbing tools. He snaked the toilet which worked but left left a mess of water which he did not clean up. I cleaned it myself still feeling weary about the cleanliness of the room I decided I just needed to relax by the pool.

The pool looked dirty and when I went to sit in one of the only 6 poolside loungers the plastic was all busted so the only thing you could do was lay flat. For some reason that was the final straw for me. It was something simple but after all of the other issues in my first 30 minutes of being on the property I decided to ask for a refund. The one thing that at least as of now seemed smooth was getting a refund on my card and getting out of the place.

Another thing that you notice as soon as you enter the room is the noise from the airport. In the 20 minutes I was in the room I heard multiple planes overhead that seemed very loud. I am not sure if I would have even been able to sleep.

I found Sofitel 2 miles away for the same price and have been very happy with my decision to move. I would honestly say the Sofitel room in my opinion is worth more than the price I paid. The Sofitel is also located close to the airport but I have barely noticed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Broc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrSammyMiami, Public Relations Manager at Regency Hotel Miami, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Broc C,

I read your review and although difficult to read we appreciate you taking the time to express your thoughts regarding your experience. We use all feedback as tool to educate our team whether it is positive or critical. We are addressing all of the issues you identified but I believe that I could still benefit from speaking to you directly. It would also give me a chance to apologize directly and give you an update on all of the improvements we have or are making. For example, we have already purchased new doors which will be installed in the coming weeks to reduce sound and are anxiously awaiting its arrival. In the meantime, I happy to hear that the front desk demonstrated to you our commitment to guest satisfaction. If your travels bring you back to Miami, I would like to personally take care of your stay and to show you the new Regency.
Sam Trotter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, NewBrunswick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived at noon and we checked in early great shower, close to a nice restaurant seafood. The bar is nicely located next to the pool and the bar staff ( Ferdinadez ?) was great. I rented a car for the day and went to Key West great service. 2013 Honda . Great start to our cruise shuttle service pick up at the airport and delivery to the Miami port. Can't please every traveller , but we were pleased.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Proud_Canadian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Miami International Airport Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Miami Airport
Courtyard Miami Airport
#33 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.4 mi away
Element Miami International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Hotel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel Miami

Property: Regency Hotel Miami
Address: 1000 NW 42nd Ave, 1000 NW (42nd Ave), Miami, FL 33126-3645 (Formerly Airport Regency Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Hotel Miami 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel features 174 spacious guest rooms on 6 floors. Having recently undergone a half-million dollar renovation, the property features two deluxe suites, thirty six Regency Club rooms, thirty four premium Regency rooms, and one hundred standard rooms each with private balcony.With a distinctive boutique ambiance, the Regency is a leading choice amongst Miami hotels. Our personalize service; attention to detail, fine dining and independent mind set differentiate us from our competitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Regency Hotel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing