We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shooting at Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Ranked #48 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Shooting at Miami”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

It was a movie shooting which took us to Miami. We were staying at the Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, which is a waterfront luxury full-service condo-hotel in the heart of downtown Miami, Florida. The hotel comes with condominiums each having fully furnished 2-3 bedrooms, kitchen and living room. There is a health club and spa too.

The kitchenette was excellent, and both the kids were well fed up by my wife. THe elder one, who was actually shooting, enjoyed the pool and the breaks in between. Love this place.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SBawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    622
    292
    169
    129
See reviews for
571
536
96
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

Well, Here on business so not worried about a lot of extras..

1. Not close to beach...
2. $ 9.00 for internet a night...what? Motel six has free internet..
3. $25.00 to park
4. No cont. Breakfast

Maybe just picky, but could and have done better on business and if for pleasure would not consider...

Was clean and I did feel safe...About 15-20 minutes to SBeach rest.

  • Liked — Not really anything
  • Disliked — 9 dollars a night to read your email
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

The hotel looks like it needs a complete makeover. The corridors are worn and the hotel has a sad feel about it. Not dirty just worn.

Rooms are clean and functional nothing elaborate. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which had a seperate annex for the Bed. Strangely there was only a wardrobe but nowhere to put socks etc

Although we were on the 9th floor- which is the highest floor for the hotel proper we heard alot of road and delivery traffic.

The piece that is really disappointing is the Breakfast. You receive a voucher for $7 which can be used at one of two places in the Shopping Mall. It is impossible to eat for this price and often works out more expensive than if you ate somewhere else.

Parking at $29 is also excessive.

There is nothing much in the vicinity of the hotel so you really need a car if you want to go to South Beach.

Pool area is smaller than I had been led to believe from other reviews. Fine for a day or two but not a resort.

For one night before a Cruise this hotel would be fine at the right price but there are much nicer hotels to stay.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Dated worn out feel
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luischable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel with my family for one night. I am a Hilton Gold member, so I have stayed at many Doubletrees and other Hilton family chains, and have always been pleased. This was one of the worst hotel stays. The quality of the hotel itself is nice, but the maintenance is not. During our stay we encountered these problems:
Wireless Internet did not work
Elevators were broken. I got stuck in one for 5 minutes. At other times we could not get the elevator from our floor, and had to walk part of the way down to get an elevator from another floor because the stairs did not go all the way down.
We never received a bill under our door for express check out.
Half of the outlets in the room did not work
The lights would turn on and off if you moved slightly in the bed, so the only way to get stable lighting was to open the curtains during the day.
The coffee pot in the room was broken, and someone in our party got burned.
The business center is not connected to the hotel, so you cannot charge things from the business center to your room.
We requested a rollaway, first they brought a crib, then brought the actual bed. It was the most uncomfortable bed, it made a V shape. We took the mattress off the bed and put it on the floor.

I spoke to 3 different people at the hotel about this problem, but they did not seem to care that much. I would not stay at this hotel again. However, it was clean and I always felt safe there (except for when stuck in the elevator)

  • Liked — It looked nice
  • Disliked — Service Issues
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NomadicBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

THE GRAND was big and BEAUTIFUL ,Its like a small city,four ,restaurants,shops,drug and liquor stores etc, don't need a car everything is a short cab ride or short walk ,South Beach or art district . stayed in a large one bedroom condo new kitchen ,living and dining room. The views from the large terrace were of the bay and city ,our condo 3244 was outstanding the staff was great,We are making plans to stay in the same unit feb. I recommend the slightly higher price of the condo it was big and beautiful

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank jimmyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

I had selected this hotel as a reconnaissance stay for a future group stay.

As a Diamond member:
Breakfast was a bagel and coffee (cream cheese was extra)
No Upgrade

Parking is a silly $40.00
No Laundry Bag
Plastic Ashtray in a Grand Hotel
Hair in Bathroom (clumps)
Stained Ceiling tiles
Stained furniture
Restaurants are independent of the hotel. (No room charges)

HHonors Diamond contacted the hotel, they wrote back four days later with no subject in the email and did not even mention the hotel by name.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2008

My wife and I were in Miami for personal business and booked the Double Tree because it was it great rate on Hilton's website. When we arrived I asked if an upgrade was available, and received a 1 bedroom suite in the residential condo building. Lots of space, great view! The suite was obviously someone's 1 bedroom condo as the furnishings were unusual; and the tv was hard to figure out, but this was more than made up for by the size and comfort. Check in staff were very helpful, and when we needed help with the tv it came quickly. The hotel is connected to a shopping arcade with an interesting collection of shops & a few restaurants. One of the restaurants acts as the hotel's breakfast restaurant.

Overall, it was certainly not what we expected and might not be for everyone (ie. if you are used to a "standard" business hotel), but was very enjoyable.

  • Liked — Size & view from the upgraded 1 bedroom suite.
  • Disliked — Breakfast restaurant in adjoining shopping arcade is a little inconvenient.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#39 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,521 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#55 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing