We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't have free Internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Ranked #40 of 120 Hotels in Miami
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Don't have free Internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Is unbelievable that this kind of hotel don't offer free internet service to their guests when even cheap hotels does. You have to pay about $30 per night for parking as the only option is Valet parking...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    552
    267
    154
    103
See reviews for
497
468
86
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee, wi., U.S. Virgin Islands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

A/C not working on arrival; when "fixed", room smelled of musty/moldy. Plug in bathroom defective; hair dryer would "shut off"; hair dryer replaced x2 as I was told that was the issue; it was plug. Room situated near loud, noisy group of teenagers. Bidet leaded all over bathroom floor. Finally, moved to another room. No compensation for uncomfortable 6/7 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Martin L, I'm sorry to hear of the issues you had during your stay with us. I do apologize for the a/c not working in the room when you first checked in as well as the hair dryer not functioning properly as well. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Miami despite these issues you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the Doubletree Hotel for three nights on a recent trip to Miami. We reserved a one bedroom suite, and the entire experience exceeded our expectations. The suite was huge - a full bedroom with balcony, a living room/dining area with a sleep sofa, fully applianced kitchen (with a washer/dryer), 1 full bathroom (with a separate shower and tub) and a spacious half bath.
The view from the large furnished balcony was stunning. It overlooked both Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. We enjoyed our morning coffee and evening cocktails outside in comfort.
There is a large shopping center on the first floor of the property and we were able to pick up groceries, snacks, wine, baked goods and sundries without getting into our car. Very convenient, albeit pricey.
As noted in other reviews, this hotel is located near the Port of Miami. You will need to take a taxi (or your car) to get to other Miami Beach attractions, such as South Beach, downtown businesses, etc.
But, for us, it was a perfect stay at a beautiful property.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a suite/condo rather than a standard hotel room...it's worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed at this resort for one night and from the time I arrived everyone had their hand out for a tip. As a diamond member with Hilton I was upgraded to a Grand Suite. It was nice but it was the air conditioner didn't work and as the sun came up the room heated up. I spoke with a front desk person at the front desk and there was nothing they could for us that night. It was a bit warm in the room that night.

We had dinner at the bar and the service was so poor and so slow we almost left but since we drove down from Orlando we were hungry and just wanted to eat. The other thing that chaps my butt is when the tip is added to a bill. I've always thought a tip is not an "automatic", but rather earned. The other thing that happened is when I asked to bill my the server said no problem. When I received the new bill the tip went from 15% to 20%. When I asked why, I was told "it for the extra service we provide to get paid from the hotel since the bar is not owned by the hotel. The food was poor at best and the service was poor yet I paid near 40.00 for dinner. Beware of the automatic tips...

Parking... this is crazy... 30.00 a day valet only and you better tip the valet guy big.

Room Tip: If you have to book here make sure you book a bay front room. I would think the city rooms are look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1EricMenken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
1EricMenken, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for being a Hilton Diamond member. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do apologize for your a/c malfunctioning in your room. I also apologize for the lack of service at the restaurant. Its true the restaurants are not managed by the hotel but thats not an excuse to provide bad service. I will inform my GM to speak with the restuarant manager regarding the issues you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night prior to our July 4 cruise. It is a beautiful hotel with breath taking views. Decent size rooms for families. The local area has a bus depot, banks and cafes a short distance away. Its also a short cab ride to the port. We love warm cookies! Definitely will stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vhanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel the night before our cruise. We were able to leave our car with valet the entire time we were on our cruise. This provided us peace of mind that our car would be in good hands. The hotel was clean and the staff was professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed only one night at the hotel. Overall a great experience, nice view from my room :), good quality of the place. Only the valet parking requirement I did not like to much, I was coming back from a trip from Cuba, where I spend every penny, so I did not carry any cash only my credit card; I would've prefer to park my own car in the hotel parking, because I felt uncomfortable not having cash to give to the valet parking people, but I did not have that option. Then my husband told me that the valet parking was included in the hotel price rent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,187 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#45 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Address: 1717 N Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing