We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect place to stay before a cruise out of Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #39 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
327 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay before a cruise out of Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We chose to stay here after reading many reviews, like we always do before we go anywhere. We are a family of four with mom/dad (40s) and two boys (8 and 13).

LOCATION:
* For a pre-cruise hotel, this was amazing. We were right on the bay and could watch the cruise ships coming in in the morning and leaving in the afternoon. We arrived early afternoon, so our boys were able to see some ships pulling out, which got them excited for our ship to come in the next day.
* When we went to walk around and explore, it was not so amazing for us. The city shuttle (nothing to do with the hotel) that was supposed to come every 15 minutes did not come for half an hour and then was too full and told us we had to wait for the next one. In their defense, the National Red Bull Flugtag was going on, which is what we were trying to get to, down in Bayfront Park, and we just ran out of time to go explore that with all the waiting. However, we did find a Publix close by that had a buffet in the store that was not too bad for the price. We were able to pick up snacks, drinks, etc., for the room from there too. We walked for a while and then decided to just come back to our hotel to swim and just hang out there until we left in the morning, which this place is great for. We stayed on South Beach after coming back from our cruise, and that was a much more interesting area for sightseeing. We would suggest spending your time in this area at the pool area here. :)

HOTEL/CONDO:
* Okay, so the building is part hotel and part condo. There are people just spending the night or a few nights and there are people who live here. There are a few sections that are only able to be accessed by the people who live here, but we were able to get around to where we wanted to go with no problem. We actually loved the mixture. My youngest son spent a good part of the night in the pool with a little boy his age who lives there and they had a blast. His mother was talking to us about all the interesting people they meet. Very cool!
* The hotel front desk staff members were wonderful. We all loved the warm delicious chocolate chip cookies we received when we got there.

ROOFTOP: Everyone has access to the pool, hot tub area, and bar area on the rooftop.
* The pool was clean and refreshing. I know there was a shallower end and a deeper end, but I don't remember exactly how deep the deep end was.
* The hot tub was in an area by itself and was very nice. It was a large clover-shaped tub with four sections.
* The bar area was great. It was nice to go up and order a drink without having to run back to your room. The price was a little expensive but not bad for the area. It was definitely way less than on South Beach.
* We saw people with snacks and drinks, and no one said anything, so I think this was okay. I would think if you just used common sense and didn't bring glass or what not, it would be okay.

ROOM:
* Two comfy beds. Clean, white, soft sheets and blankets. Comfy pillows.
* Small sofa and table, mini fridge, room safe. Not overly crowded.
* Amazing balcony facing the bay. You can watch the private boats below you on the docks or the big cruise ships coming and going from here. It is kind of a narrow balcony but is pretty long and has two chairs and a small table.
* Very nice bathroom with large tub, toilet, and bidet.
* There is also a sink and counter area outside the bathroom to help with space and privacy for more than one to get ready at a time.

FINAL THOUGHTS: If we were just needing a place to stay before a cruise, I would definitely recommend this hotel. The roof top is amazing without having to go anywhere else if you don't want to. You could spend some time on your balcony and then leave for your cruise that you actually watched come in that morning. If you have a few days, think about throwing South Beach into the mix too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawni_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    543
    261
    152
    102
See reviews for
483
457
85
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

From the time we drove into the covered entry until we left, we experienced first class service and accommodations. Our room was nicely appointed, and the hotel offered many dining and shopping opportunities. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Doubletree in December. It was okay, nothing great. The room was pretty clean, but the beds and pillows were so uncomfortable a good night's sleep was out of the question. The first room we were given had a view of a ping pong table on the roof of the adjoining hotel. Seeing that the majority of the rooms had balconies, we requested to be moved to one of those. This was only granted after asking to speak to a manager. There was also no fre wi-fi, the elevator to the pool was broken the whole week, and no outside seating at any of the restaurants located in the hotel.

Room Tip: There is a beautiful view of the bay - make sure to request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wkdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for a night prior to our Christmas cruise. The hotel was clean, very pleasant, and there was lots of choices for dining, etc. within the building. I came down with an illness while visiting and found out there was a medical clinic in the building. It was closed (since it was Saturday) but the doctor would have made a house call! We had a great room (with a balcony!) with a great view. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jenifer900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceirros, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

It was amazing when we first entered into the room, a bayside view with large rest area. From balcony, we saw Miami bay views, a wonderful experience with such fair price paid. All of our friends' members were so happy to choose this hotel for our first trip to Miami.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Yun Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed there just for one night the other day. It wasn't a bad room... clean, modern (had a bidet which was nice). Balcony was a plus.


I paid 160ish for the room which seemed fair. I checked online because I wanted to stay again, but the same room was now 300+. This hotel is absolutely NOT worth $300+ a night. No No No.

Also, valet was very slow. Be prepared to request your car at least 15 minutes ahead of time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
william7219, thank you for your review of the hotel. I'm sorry that we did not live up toy your expectations and apologize for the slowness of valet. We've been having a very busy month. I wish you safe travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. the hotel is connected to a Marriott hotel by a small strip mall and directly at the bay, it was a great place as you have the city, the bay, restaurants, bars, small convenience store, and other shops right on location.
i will definitely stay there again when in Miami

Room Tip: make sure you get a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wesajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,123 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing