We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Ranked #47 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed for one night and I enjoyed my time there. The staff was great and it was in a great location. There is also a nice sushi restaurant in the hotel. The breakfast was great as well and nicely priced. I didn't get to check out the gym and pool area but my friends said it was great as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catrice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Catrice J, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you'll choose to stay with us again for your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    582
    278
    160
    116
See reviews for
530
498
90
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a truly horrendous experience with this hotel, staff pretty much either totally ignore everything you say or deny you even told them there was an issue, even though there are 3 of you there as witnesses! Terrible clean in the bathroom and the furniture in the bedroom looked banged up, dilapidated and we all said (there were 3 of us staying in two rooms) that it almost felt like the upkeep just hadn't been bothered with and that the place had just been let go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Rich T, I'm sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are in the process of making major changes to the hotel rooms & interior hallways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

So, while on vacation in Florida we decided to take a road trip down to Miami having never been before. After a little search on TA and previous experience of the DoubleTree brand from Hilton, we decided it would be a safe bet. Unfortunately, it wasn't great and we left feeling quite unhappy.

Location:
Let's start on a positive - it is right in the bay and literally takes just 20mins (by cab costing about $15-20) to reach Ocean Drive. not much in the immediate area - a lot of construction work, but we were assured it is because they are redeveloping the area - fine as our needs were mainly South Beach.

Rooms:
Seemed perfectly pleasant upon first glance, TV - coffee - bay view and a balcony all great features. Then you start to notice the general upkeep isn't necessarily that great including some tired looking furniture and peeling wallpaper.

Air conditioning:
Odd thing to highlight but we had to turn it off totally just to get some sleep - either it was broken or the oldest unit - making a horrible noise. Even after complaining, nothing was done to even attempt fixing it.

Service:
Another thing that let the hotel down was the level of service that was provided - it seemed that generally anything beyond a simple greeting and performing checking in duties seemed a big ask. These bad experiences included a general 'not-my-problem' attitude and even hanging up on us during a phone conversation, about an issue with the room next door having a party.

Altogether - we would not stay here again - as convenient in location as it is, there are plenty of hotels in the same area to choose from. That said, the beds were VERY comfortable indeed.

Room Tip: Things to look out for... - Valet parking always a convenience - but at $30 a day be sure to budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Marcus L, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us however I do hope that you enjoyed your time in Miami. We're always in the process of trying to improve our hotel and are working on improving the rooms as well as other areas of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel is typical Doubletree with the arrival cookie. Most staff were helpful. Rooms are nice. Shares building with condo development so lots of traffic. Parking as in any city is high$29/day. Great pool AC was very noisy and difficult to control

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling4fun18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
travelling4fun18, thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your DoubleTree welcome cookie as well as your stay with us. I hope that you choose to stay with us again for your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, room was clean and bedding was comfortable as well. I liked that the shower and sink areas were separate and very nice looking. Only complaint was the a/c was loud and it blew right on to you as you lay on the bed, and obviously I don't know if all the rooms were like that. There was no way to redirect the air flow but other than that it was all good. The lobby area was very nice and has shops, restaurants, a deli good for breakfast and some fast food, bar areas and spirits. If you never went outside you would have everything you needed right within. There is a Publix Supermarket a block away which adds to convenience We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14vickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Late review, but my husband and I stayed there on the tail end of our honeymoon last April. We were returning from a Norwegian cruise and decided to stay an extra night and have some fun in Miami. The hotel was easy to get to, check-in was a breeze. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. I like the location because I wanted to be near the beach without paying those prices or dealing with the hassle. A cab over to South Beach was about $15-$20 and the driver gave us some tips about where to go and where to avoid. We were only there one night, but the room was beautiful, clean, and had a great view of the bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingButterfly37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

from check-in to check-out; everything was top notch. we had a very pleasant brief stay; we attended a wedding at the hotel and each and every one of our experiences was 1st class. We would recommend staying here if you need to be near the beach but also want to be downtown without the hassle of the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brettg501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#40 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,351 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#50 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Address: 1717 N Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing