We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fine hotel in a so-so building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Ranked #41 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fine hotel in a so-so building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Doubletree is located on the water near the cruise port, which is probably very convenient for some. I spent most of my time in South Beach this trip but couldn't afford the sky-high prices. I also wanted to be closer to the airport for a very early morning departure. This was a fine compromise as the causeway over was nearby and the several nearby hotels made cabs readily available. The hotel is actually only a few floors in the mostly condo building. The building has seen better days. Dated public areas and a not very busy retail area. My room faced north toward the bay, but there wasn't much of a view of anything other than a parking lot, a building that appeared vacant, and a bit of water beyond.
The room itself was fine. Very quiet and well layed out. The staff was efficient and courteous, always smiling. I didn't spend much time in my room other than to sleep but it was comfortable. If I wanted somewhere to stay before a cruise or just after, this would be a good, affordable option but it doesn't have a lot of character.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IncurableTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
IncurableTraveler, thank you for your review and for staying with us. The building's association is in the process of looking at design firms to do renovations and also redesign some of the public areas. We're very excited about this and will hopefully get the project up and running within the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    562
    271
    155
    108
See reviews for
513
479
88
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have stayed at this property several times. The staff is wonderful! The location is great...it sits right on Biscayne Bay. The hotel is also 2 blocks away from the bus stop where you can take the bus to South Beach. The hotel has a few bars/restaurants on property so you really don't need to go out (if you don't want to). The hotel is in a huge 40 story building, but the hotel only has 8 floors. The rest of the upper floors are condos (I believe). Very highly recommended hotel! Thanks for the amazing service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Traveler1Nebraska, thank you for being a mutliple stay guest. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and for your kind remarks about our staff. I hope that you'll be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel generally is good, had the luck being upgraded to a condo as well, however, the rooms are very old and parts are rusty... Very spacious room and very nice front desk staff! The gym was okay, but had to walk into the hotel for that as it is located in a different building. Fabulous view from the balcony

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ThiesHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
ThiesHH, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the hotel as well. Thank you for the input as well as we're constantly trying to improve our hotel rooms and condos. I do hope that you'll choose to stay with us again for your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDSUK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a 2 bed condo.. Wow absolutely amazing pure luxury..... Great views of the bay,nice warm pools and jacuzzi,helpful staff and good location for airport and cruise port.....can't wait to return for longer as we were only here on our last night before flying back to UK.....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
ChrisJon, thank you for your review of the hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our condos. Glad to hear that you're planning to stay with us again for your next visit to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabrera, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A hotel completes, the staff is very pleasant and great professional, rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the hotel is good place in Miami. We have pass an excellent stay.Restaurants are varied and the cooking is completed.The warmed swimming pool is an additional asset

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pneri59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
pneri59, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to spend some time at the pool. We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArubaShoeba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is our third stay at this property. The location is lovely, right on the bay across from the cruise ship ports, which also makes it very convenient. The rooms are very comfortable and the roof pool and 4 giant jacuzzis are amazing. The hotel is also connected to a plaza so there's dining, shopping and spa services all offered under one roof. It's one of my favorite Doubletree properties!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArubaShoeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
ArubaShoeba, thank you for your comments and for being a repeat guest. Looking forward to having you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

When coming for a cruise and just being in transit in Miami this hotel is en excellent choice. Great location close to both downtown and Miami port, as well as a reasonable short distance form Miami South Beach. Rooms are spacious with a possibility to sleep 4 plus adults. We stayed here for the second time already, with 3 friends two nights before the cruise and we enjoyed our bay view room with balcony. Service was excellent, rooms clean and neat. Hotel is close to free monorail (public transport) which brings you in no time to downtown and Bayside open air shopping center and a place to enjoy plenty of restaurants with terraces. This hotel is a great value for price.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighMikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
HighMikko, thank you for your review of the hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again and we hope that you'll choose to stay with us again for your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,245 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#47 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Address: 1717 N Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing