We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Xmas 2012 trip to Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #39 of 119 Hotels in Miami
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Xmas 2012 trip to Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went with my husband and 2 boys (3, 6). The room was decent size and nicely laid out. Hotel had a washing machine and dryer which was extremely handy for us as we spent a week at the hotel and then joined a cruise from Miami for a week.
Hotel was in a perfect location, very close to transport links including the free shuttle link. There's also a shuttle bus that comes everyday to take you to Dolphin Bay for $10 per person round trip -really great value!
The other end of the hotel was on Biscayne Bay so you could see the yachts etc.
There was a shop and a few restaurants on site and as we stayed over Christmas this was really handy as lots of places closed early or were closed. please note that the prices in the shops was the same as european prices so not cheap, overall we found food more expensive in Biscayne Bay.
I would definitely visit this hotel again but this time ask for a bigger suite with a kitchenette.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h3tna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
h3tna, thank you for spending the holidays with us in Miami. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of some of the amenities within the building. Next time if you're looking for a larger room type we do offer 1 and 2 bedroom condos which each have a full kitchen as well as washer and dryer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    544
    261
    152
    102
See reviews for
483
458
85
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Location is really good. Rooms were big and clean. The view was overall great. Iy was close to american airlines arena. Local bus was free and it went just other side of the street. Loation seemed safe and half of the employs were friendly and kind. People at the desk were rude

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Juuliaeve1, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your comments regarding the staff. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the view from you room and were able to take advantage of some of the local transportation. I hope that you choose to stay with us for your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was my first trip to Miami to attend a conference at the Marriott Biscayne Bay. The room block there was full so I made my reservation at the Doubletree which is right next door. What a stroke of luck! When I first opened the door to my room, I was blown away! A large plate glass window revealed a beautiful view of Biscayne Bay and the marina directly below my room. There was a sliding glass door and a private balcony. The room was on the 9th floor and had a commanding view. The room was spacious, and had a small couch, great easy chair, and comfortable bed. There was also a coffee maker and small fridge. Everything was perfect: such as the level of security with a room key required to activiate the elevator to guest level floors, the adjacent corridor with convenient shops and small restaurants, and a connection to the Marriott hotel. A small grocery store sold wine and liquor and snacks. Right across the street was a stop for the free trolly that went to the Bayside waterfront complex with waterfront bistros and shops. The same trolley went to the Mary Bricknell village with even more dining choices! The room was clean and the front desk staff were attentive and welcoming. I invited colleagues to share a drink on my balcony one evening and they all agreed that my room was much better than theirs at the Marriott and theirs cost $40 more per night! I arrived the day before the blizzard and was hoping that flights would be cancelled so I could spend an extra day or two, but flights were back to normal by Sunday, my departure date. The only cure for my disappointment will be to return there some time!

Special thanks to Rachel, the front desk clerk who gave me the room with the great view! I know from the hotel's configuration that some rooms do not have the spectacular waterfront view.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room, on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelswithlabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Travelswithlabs, thank you for your great review of the hotel and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding Rachel one of our front desk agents, I'll be sure to pass the comments along to our front office manager. Thank you again and we hope that you'll be back soon to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great views of the bay and a large room. Seems a bit older but overall a good place to stay. Attended a conference at the Hilton that can be accessed by a sky bridge that links the hotels. Also plenty of places to eat in attached retail space.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Bill R, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the conference you were in town attending. We appreciate that you took the time to review the hotel and do hope that you'll choose to stay with us again next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice property with clean rooms and nice entry and lobby area. Has shopping area on main floor with stores, doggie spa, restaurants and mini deli/convenience store. Stayed in 2 bedroom condo with wall of windows, beautiful view and nice amenities. Housekeeping was perfect. Fast elevators. Like location, was close to public and free transportation across the street (trolley) and a couple blocks away (people mover). Easy to get around. Recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEDebK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
NEDebK, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy some of the amenities in the building. We hope that you'll stay with us again next time you're in Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Useful stop before/after a cruise .Location is excellent for port and for airport so widely used by people for short stops. Bus depot is round the corner (for those with no car), so easy to get to the shops and sights of South Beach for a stroll along the beach and beach cafes...(wide choice).
Service is excellent, rooms are OK ..probably need a refurbishment soon, so don't pay top dollars.
Breakfast a bit hit or miss depending on the number of conventions staying at any one time. Hot food IS on order though they don't seem to advertise it...pushing you to the buffet and some tired offerings...Pool setting and location is good but an upgrade is now needed...
It does the job, but it is not Miami Beach...

Room Tip: Forget the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wemyss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
wemyss1, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the excellent service you received and also regarding our need for room improvements. We have finished one project and will begin working on another upgrading of the rooms project very soon. We hope that you'll come back and see us again after our next renovation project is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The furnishings are "falling apart" - this hotel is in a bad need of refurbishing. Room service arrived late - only 1/2 order was sent. I traveled on business and expected to get a good night sleep before my next day of full day meeting, not in this hotel. There was a party going on in a private room from about 12:30 - 2:30+ AM, no amount of banging on the wall was going to quiet the party.

Room Tip: My double queen was a nice size and had a sofa bed; however the room was a bit dirty and badly "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Frequent T, sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. I apologize for the room service issues, they are an outsourced operation and we have spoken with them about making sure the service time improves greatly. We are also in the process of beginning renovations in hotel rooms to replace soft goods and some of the furnishings as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,125 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing