We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but very expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Ranked #47 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location, but very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed there in Dec. 2011 for two nights.
The room we very clean, but had trouble with the inter-net, very, very slow!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Hello jharris017, thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are in the process of upgrading our internet equipment to help improve our guest experience. We hope to have you back in the future so you may experience it yourself. Thank you again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    611
    287
    168
    122
See reviews for
558
526
96
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed in this hotel bookending our Caribbean cruise on the Norweigan Epic. On the night before our cruise, they booked us into a bay view room, but around 9 PM that night, a loud dance party broke out at the bar four floors below us. We called the front desk and they told us that they had no control over the establishment and the noise ordinace didn't go into effect until midnight. A few minutes later the desk called back and offered to move us to an upgraded room and sent a valet to help us. Problem solved. On the return trip, we checked in early and were welcomed back with a full upgrade to a condominium suite with a kitchen, and laundry so we were able to get a jump on the post vacation chores. The location wasn't great, as you needed a cab to reach the beach or downtown, but the amenities at the hotel were quite nice. Great health club at no cost. And a very good Asian/fusion/sushi bar in the promenade. All together a great experience. If you're cruising out of Miami, it's a great place to start out from or spend and extra day before returning home.

Room Tip: bay view suites on the south side of the hotel too close to noise from the outdoor bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Hi Ron W, thank you for staying with us and the review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive feedback and do apologize for the noise you heard from the restaurant located within the building. Our management has spoken with the restaurant management about this and working to come up with a solution to prevent our guests from being disturbed in the future. Thank you again and hope to have you back down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We began our week trip at the hotel prior to our cruise. It wasn't too close to south beach but it wasn't too far. Cab ride was about $15 to $20 to get to south beach. The location was great. Thank you Priscilla (front office supervisor) for giving us a great room with a great view of the bay. We work in the industry for a 4 star property and appreciate the kindness we expect from Staff at the hotel.
There were lots of stores at the hotel, which we were unaware of until we began to explore the hotel. The room was fairly a decent large size. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again. We may see each other very soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Hello travelgirl713, thank you for staying with us and for your review of the hotel. We're very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and appreciate the kind words for Priscilla, one of our front office supervisors. I've told our front office manager about the review. Thank you again for the great review and looking forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed there in Dec 2011.

Positive:
Our room: We had a junior suite - very big, comfortable and clean, with everything in, incl. huge TV set, spacious balcony, furnished sitting-room area and spacious bathroom incl. separate bathub and toilet (very convenient).

OK: Location - it took us a good 20 min. to go to Ocean Drive/South Beach by car, which was OK. Bayside harbour and Miami port are within easy reach of the hotel. So, if you take a cruise, this may be a place to stay prior or after your cruise.

Negative:
1: The hotel itself doesn't feature any breakfast room. If you want to have a bite to eat and drink in the morning, be prepared to go sit in some sports bar in the mall-type/retail-store area connected to the hotel. For dinner, you'll either be left with junk food from the sports bar or some sandwiches from the totally overpriced deli shop in the retail-store area.
Or, you'll decide to walk, or even better, take a 5-10 min. car ride to reach a decent restaurant.

2. Wifi is complimentary in the lobby. However, in-room Wi-Fi is outrageous. We paid 9.95 USD PER DEVICE!! So, if you have a netbook and an Iphone which you want to use in your room, you need to pay double, which we found really annoying.

3. Parking - Valet parking is 29 USD per night!!

All in all - we had expected much more for the price we paid. All those little extra costs added up. Fairly poor price-performance ratio all in all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariagerd1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Hello mariagerd1943, thanks for the response on TripAdvisor and more importantly for staying with us. We really appreciate taking the time to respond and I want to apologize for any misinformation you may have received or not received. We actually have two restaurants and a deli which serve breakfast. Regarding dinner options, there are a total of 4 restaurants which offer dinner as well as the deli. Regarding the internet and valet parking prices, we do hear that complaint often. However, compared to our closest competitors located next door and across the street as well as the downtown Miami hotels, we're very much inline with the pricing. All in all, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our larger Junior Suites during your stay and thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

This hotel was in a building approximately 40 stories high. The hotel lobby is on the same floor as the residence concierge. This hotel occupies floors 6,7,8,&9. It shares the pool and hot tub with the residential owners. It was a good facility for cruising the next day from the Port of Miami, but I would not recommend it for staying in Miami for more than one night. It was clean and on par with the Doubletree standard. I actually did laundry in the hotel that night. The machines were $3 each but the hotel provided free detergent if you called housekeeping.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Balcony. It cost more but is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed 3 nights at the Doubletree on business and in a very comfortable junior suite. Price was just shy of $200 (pre-tax) for AAA rate. Great big TV and comfortable bed. Nice work desk and sofa for relaxing. AC a bit noisy, but it was not so warm that I could not just turn it off at night. Nice view of the water too. Walked about 1 mile to Bayside Market Place for shopping and dining. Area supposedly 'sketchy', but I did not feel unsafe walkiing. The steak restaurant (Los Gauchitos)within the hotel plaza had very good filet for only $25 and a custom made Sangria to boot. Nice stay overall.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peejay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Hello Peejay10, thank you for your TripAdvisor response. We appreciate you staying with us as well as taking the time to respond. We are in the process of replacing some of the older a/c units within the hotel but we do apologize for the noise caused by the a/c unit in your hotel room. We hope you will stay with us in the future to experience the changes we are in the process of making to our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

If you can't stay on South Beach, go to the Doubletree Grand. This location is predominantly a condo building, and it has an adjacent (cheesy) retail area. And yes, it's next door to the Marriott. But once you get past all the location issues, the hotel is a fantastic value.

First, the rooms are remodeled nicely. Second, the service is excellent. And third, the views of Biscayne Bay are breathtaking. This hotel is home to my most favorite suite in the county (and I stay in hotels 200+ nights a year) and the largest hot tub I've ever been in.

The corner suite I request, Room 751, has a balcony on both sides (south and east) and overlooks the marina and two causeways to Miami Beach. The pictures tell the story below. I had a lovely king size bed with the wonderful Hilton sheets, a sitting area, a dining room table, AND a working area. The bathroom features marble floors, a separate glass shower, a bidet (who needs that?), and a jacuzzi tub. Awesome.

The room service is excellent and timely. I think you should save a small fortune and stay at the Doubletree. Skip the Omni and and Marriott-- even avoid the snotty Miami Beach scene-- and try this favorite of mine!

If the hotel wants improvement suggestions, I think the hallways are too dark.

Room Tip: Suite 751 -- ask for it. Or one like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SNoon4056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Hi SNoon4056, I want to thank you for being a loyal guest and for the kind review on TripAdvisor. Very happy to hear that you were able to get your favorite room type and that you enjoyed your stay with us again. We are working on improving the lighting in the hallways and hope to have it taken care of sooner than later. Thank you again and hope to have you back with us again soon, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#40 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Address: 1717 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing