We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mix Reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mix Reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This Marriott location was ideal for getting around in Miami (downtown, South Beach, etc.). Their lobby was beautiful but their rooms were just average. We were originally assigned a room with a slanted wall that made the room look half the size. They kindly accommodated our request for a full size room with a view. The rooms do not have a refridgerator or microwave, which is bummer -- especially if you're a person who like to wrap your left-overs and enjoy them the next day.

The pool area was not the best. It's situated between the hotel and a high-rise condo development, which also has a pool a few feet away. You can actually see clothes hanging out to dry from their balconies. It was not a pleasant sight.

Our accommodations included complimentary breakfast held in the "Catch" restaurant. The food was great, but can be a little pricey if you are paying daily. We opt to do the buffet, since you pretty much can get whatever you want.

The concierge attendants were very pleasant and very helpful. The response to service calls were pretty slow. Also, room service didn't clean our tub one day of our stay.

I'm sure by now you can see why I had mixed reviews about this hotel. There were as many pros as they were cons. There's definitely room for improvement.

Room Tip: Request a full size room. Not one with the slanted walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dellis0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMiami, Manager at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Greetings!

We want to sincerely thank you for your thorough and detailed feedback. As a senior contriburot I know you provide frequent feedback to the TA site and it is clear through your input that you provide this information fairly and objectively. I will be sharing this feedback with the appropriate department leaders.

As it relates to our pool we are presently working hard to re-define this area. As a downtown hotel, our pool area needs to have its own "personality" of sorts and our focus is to provide you with an experience that would grab your attention from the balconies of our neighboring buildings!

I will also be speaking with our restaurant leadership to make them aware of your pricing concerns. We constantly sample the market to ensure that we remain competitive while providing superior product. Catch is currently gearing up for Miami Spice which will also provide affordable samplings of our culinary staff's genius.

Again we appreciate all that you shared with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    898
    334
    96
    54
See reviews for
592
602
103
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had not stayed here for over 12 years . I am glad to say it has had a refurbishment since my
Last visit. There is not much to do in the immediate vicinity however it is only a few minutes by road to South Beach and the hotel run a free shuttle daily . The pool area is fairly small considering the size of the hotel but it is a welcome relief from the heat . The outside bar/ decking area overlooking the water is a lovely place to sit on the comfortable sofas and listen to the live music (. Which wasn't so loud it became intrusive ) and watch the sun go down . The front desk staff are very well organised which is great as the lobby gets very busy at times .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

There seems to be a number of mixed reviews about this hotel. However from my personal perspective, my stay was stress free. The front desk and concierge service were excellent and were always willing to help and provide a good service. The beds and pillows are to die for and I have never had such a restful sleep in a hotel in my life. This alone made this hotel a winner. The pool isnt large, but towels and a beach bar is provided. Catch Restaurant within the hotel also looked nice and they provided daily deals. The views overlook Biscayne Bay and about 5 mins away from the cruise terminals. We asked for 2 queens with a balcony and we had views over the pool and Biscayne. The room was extremely large (921) with coffee making facilities in the room. Although the bathroom was small, it was clean. The hotel is adjacent to a small shopping complex with a couple of restuarants/deli and small supermarket, where you can pick up your daily items and is a 5 mins walk away from Publix supermarket. The hotel is located south of SOBE about 10 mins in a cab (15 bucks) or 15 - 20 mins on public transport. The hotel is a stone throw away from OMNI bus terminal where there is access to a multitude of GOOD public transportation. The 120 bus is a limited stop which takes you directly to SOBE, Washington Drive 5th//9th/13th (2 bucks) or alternatively the C bus, but this takes slightly longer and the trolley provides easy access to Bayside. There is also a monorail which provides access to various areas within downtown miami.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balcony's, but request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for pre cruise. Hotel was very clean,and had a beautiful view on 28 th floor of the bay,and miami. Pool was okay,but kind of small for the amount of rooms they have. I thought it was nice that they had water in a container for you to drink by the pool,suntan lotion (2 different spf's),and aloe Vera. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamarie1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

So I arrive to the hotel July 5 around 2am. I understand its late but nobody showed up at the desk for 15 min so I was just standing there waiting. Finally got my room key and it was the smallest room on earth the bed was so big it took up all the walking space in the room. If you can avoid getting a corner room please do I think there all very small. The bathroom was so small it felt uncomfortable to shower while my boyfriend brushed his teeth. The room was clean just really small because its a corner room. Now to the parking situation it's $30 for valet or $26 for self parking PER DAY with unlimited in and out privileges. Be ready to park in the ramp lane and handicap space if you get back in late at night. The location is great a 10 min drive to Miami South Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noch90s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

No ones ever there at the guest services desk. The lobby was crazy valet service was very mismanaged. Have stayed with Marriott's all over the world this was one of the worst experience as a platinum card holder. Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pallavichandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First off, let me start by saying I don't give out five star ratings too often. Hotels and their staff must go above and beyond in order for me to do so. Upon arrival our large group was quickly greeted by the bellhop who enthusiastically took our bags in for us and waited while we checked in. The line was minimal and we were being helped within just a few minutes. Check in was a breeze; made even better by the staff genuinely caring and smiling throughout the process. When we got up to our room on the 29th floor, we had a great view of downtown and the cruise port. Our bags were delivered promptly along with a pack n play for our little one. The room was fresh and modern with everything in good working order. The beds were just ok; they would suffice for the one night. We made it downstairs to the pool by 7pm and the outdoor bar was closing which I have mixed feelings about. The pool and surrounding area were quite nice and again in working order. We didn't eat at the hotel, however we ate next door at two of the restaurants inside the Doubletree which left a lot to be desired. Consider dining out elsewhere if you're up for walking. Checking out was typical, however again the friendly staff made the difference here with the positive interactions with our children and giving them free beach balls while we waited for transportation. All in all we had a fantastic stay and would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Get a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsgopro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,187 reviews
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Property: Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Address: 1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1215
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#8 Family Hotel in Miami
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing