We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the ocean breeze from your balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Ranked #15 of 123 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoy the ocean breeze from your balcony”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Like having a balcony that overlooks the ocean? I do! But I also like internet access...

Let's start with the positive: I attended a conference at Miami's Marriott Biscayne Bay in February. It is a beautiful hotel with nice staff, comfy beds, Bath and Body Works products, and an Illy coffee bar and separate restaurant. But my favorite amenity was the accessibly balcony from my room with a decent view of the bay. When I had to work, it was a luxury to get to do so while enjoying the ocean breeze.

Sine I rarely left the hotel on this visit, I experienced most of what they have to offer. The conference rooms were nice, and the catered food was decent. I ate at the restaurant "Catch" once for dinner and once for bfast. Breakfast was great - a tasty egg white omelet with avocado and fruit (I appreciated the fruit substitution for hash browns). A bfast buffet was available, but I didn't want that much food. 

And now the less-than-positive: My dinner experience at "Catch" was average. The service that night was awful, cigar smoke overpowered the deck, and the chef refused any substitutions for my friend who drove an hour to Miami to see me. That said, my salmon was good. (For dinner, walk around the block for sushi at Nove instead of eating at " Catch.")

In addition to my not- so-great dinner experience, my only other complaint is the horrible ( and I mean horrible) Internet and cell phone coverage at this hotel.during the conference, I rarely even had a 3G/cellular signal to get text messages, much less Internet access. For a working mom on a business trip, this was frustrating. Even in the lobby, where wifi was "free," I had to use my 3G access because the signal was so slow. In the rooms, Internet access is extra. 

Marriott, it's time to catch up!

All of this is to say, one deep breath from my balcony with the ocean view is all it took for my "Catch" and wifi troubles to just melt away.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoltefrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    1,074
    396
    116
    63
See reviews for
756
769
130
847
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I have stayed here several times before taking a cruise out of Miami. The cruise port is less than 10 minutes away. There are some dining options close by. The hotel was nicely updated in late 2010 and made the place even more enjoyable to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scherzva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

great location for the boat show! Very centrally located

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We chose this hotel in order to be right at the pulse of the Miami Boat Show. At $400/night we were disappointed to say the least. While they were kind and friendly, the expediency of our requests were slow and lacking. The ice machine was not operating on our floor and at the request of ice and glasses each night (maid did not leave glasses two nights in a row), they took forever to respond. The did compensate us w/ a mini fridge during our stay, however, at that price...why wasn't there one in the room to begin with? We've decided that we will stay at the Doubletree next door, or on Miami Beach next time we visit the show.

Room Tip: The higher the better for more quiet accomodations and a better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMiami, Manager at Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Good Day!

I am terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your most recent stay with us. Please know that your feedback will enable us to better serve our guests as we will share it with the appropriate departments. We focus a great deal of our training on how to provide excellent guest service and, based on the reviews here, we are seeing success. We will be sure to reinforce the equal importance of rapid response to guest requests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We wanted to spend the day prior to our cruise in a nice hotel on Biscayne Bay and that's exactly what we got. Our room had a wonderful view which we enjoyed during the day and at night with all the city and bay lights. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The front office was extremely helpful when we asked for directions to a local city center that had wonderful choices of food for dinner and even watched the Super Bowl at the Hard Rock Cafe. Also, the hotel recommended using the Metro to the center which was free and very direct to several locations. All in all we had a fun one day stay and really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view.....you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsparis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Marriott is normally great place to stay. Mixed review of this experience. Asked for an early ck in, on arrival told not quite ready but would call shortly ( 12:30p, finally we had to approach at 4:30. Breakfast we were asked which type toast to bring with oureggs then found extra charges for toast on the bill? Just minor annoyances with no justification. Nice lobby friendlystaff. On the bay, could do better in customer service.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TabuJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Book this hotel fairly last minute via Priceline for one night prior to embarking on a cruise vacation. As with all downtown Miami hotels, parking is overpriced ($26-30 a night), I was going to be moving my car to an off site lot ($4.50 a night) after check in for the duration of my cruise. The Valets let me park my car off to the side out of the way while I checked in.

I arrived at 5pm to a busy hotel, but check in was friendly, quick and efficient. I thought with my Priceline reservation I’d end up with the dregs of room location, but had a lovely marina view from the 23rd floor.

The room was nicely appointed. The bed very comfortable though they had to have some of the smallest bed pillows I’ve seen in a long while. The toiletries were Bath and Body Works Ginger Orange – a nice touch. The only negative to my room was the sliding glass door whistled when it was closed completely. I slept with it cracked open ever so slightly to stop the whistle.

A couple things were easy to miss: the safe is located in the desk drawer, and a coffee maker was on the top shelf of the closet.

Free Wi-Fi was available in the lobby. Attached to the hotel is a small mall-like area with shops and places to eat. In the morning a receipt for my stay was slipped under my door, check out via the TV was quick and painless.

It was a $10 cab ride to the port in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#36 of 123 in Miami
3,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 123 in Miami
2,669 reviews
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Property: Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Address: 1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Miami
#8 Family Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing