We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #8 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
blackpool ,uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2007

pre cruise stay for one night. we thought the hotel was very clean spacious and comfortable,would have been nice to have a few more nights there although the breakfast prices were very expensive.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank glyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,546
    1,495
    419
    176
    101
See reviews for
1,350
1,662
252
1,473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
so cal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2007

We stayed here pre and post cruise and loved it. We booked through Priceline for $85 each night when the hotels website had the rooms listed at $225. You should never pay full price for a hotel room. Do the research, there is always a better deal out there. In 2003 we stayed at the Hyatt downtown and we liked the InterContinental much more. (although the Hyatt has balconies and the Inter doesn't). At checkin I asked for a port view and was told it would be $20 extra. Well worth it to see the ships pull into port in the morning. The rooms and bathrooms are both oversized. Bedding was terrific. We didn't eat at the hotel but did have pre-dinner and post-dinner drinks in the hotel bar. Very good service, decent priced drinks(for a hotel bar), and I even talked to basketball player Gary Peyton at the bar. Nice guy. Bellman and Front desk were both great. Didn't use the pool, but did sit in the hot tubs the last night. Talk about a view! Starbucks is nice to have in the lobby for a morning treat. There isn't much downtown except bayside marketplace and there are a couple good local restaurants there that should be tried. Would we stay here for a vacation, NO! But for a 1 night stay before a cruise there isn't a better deal in Miami.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cruisedude22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Intercontinental Miami at an ABA conference. We had a nice stay, but if we hadn't been at a conference there I would definitely stay somewhere else.

LOCATION: The hotel was right downtown, which is good and bad. There are no decent restaurants nearby and the downtown area is pretty empty after work hours. There is a mall within walking distance, but the food there is mostly touristy stuff (Bubba Gump, Hard Rock, etc.) nothing decent. I was very happy we had a car, because there is great food to be had in that town -- especially in South Beach.

SERVICE: we thought the room service, concierge and other services were terrific. We stayed in an concierge floor (for more money) so we were able to get a light breakfast and an evening social hour with food and drinks every day. Checkout was eassy, and we did not find any unwarranted charges on our bill as some have complained about. I opened the mini-bar but didnt take anything out, and there was no charge on the bill.

ROOM: I thought the rooms were average, the bathrooms were pretty dated, but the beds were terrific. It looks like they tried to update the hotel, but didnt make it to the bathrooms. Overall I thought the hotel was fine, but I would rather be in South Beach.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2007

The hotel is well-located in downtown Miami amidst a building blitz, near the port and Bayside Mall. I was there for a conference and the conference accomodations were fine. Food was average. The room was comfortable but definitely in need of updating, especially the closet area. No real intereaction with staff, didn't use room service. Nice, small restaurant poolside. Bayside Mall is definitely miss-able, a real tourist type with cheap merchandise.

  • Liked — Location if one wants to be in downtown Miami - not Miami Beach or South Beach, nice lobby
  • Disliked — Dated rooms
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CNPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2007

I'm always very satified when I visit the Intercontinental. The bed is comfortable and the room is well appointed. Now that they've added a Starbucks in the lobby I'm even happier! (I'm addicted to the lemon pound cakes.)

Our most recent stay was for 4 nights prior to leaving for a cruise. Staying downtown provided easy access to all points of interest (we love Coconut Grove & South Beach) and it's minutes from the Port of Miami.

My only complaint is for the valet service as one of the drivers broke something on my gear shift during a previous visit and that claim has been ignored since the day I completed the forms. At $29 per day for parking you should get your car back just as it is given. But not even that small incident will keep me away for the Interconti.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cokosmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2007

We stayed here for three nights pre- cruise at the end of November. We got a GREAT deal at about £70 per night on [--]- in fact I have checked prices since, and this really was a very good rate!

I have read some of the negative reviews of this hotel, but must say that we had a very good experience. The reception staff were polite, the bell men were great and the concierge could not have been more helpful. The location is good, close to Bayside and with the metro mover very close by.

We got a very comfortble room on the 26th floor over looking the bay, which meant we could see the cruise ships in the morning. Big bathroom with separate dressing area and plenty of towels and toiletries.

We never ate in the hotel although we had a few drinks in the bar. For breakfast we simply strolled across to Bayside which has plenty of shops and restaurants to choose from.

If you can get a good rate, I would definitely recommend staying here pre or post cruise.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridgechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2007

Well the purpose of my letter and the reason I am writing to you is to let you know that two of my friends who flew in from Los Angeles, CA and were staying at your hotel and I had quite horrible service at your Indigo restaurant.

I picked up my friends at Miami International Airport on Saturday, January 27th approximately at 5 PM. I drove them to your hotel to check in and then we decided we would like to eat and the concierge told us that Indigo was convenient and located on the premises. My friends and I were seated promptly. The restaurant was not busy. There weren’t many people seating in the dining area. In fact, most of the tables were free. Granted the hotel was crowded with guests arriving for the Atlantis cruise, but most of them were in the bar area and not inside Indigo.

We waited about 20 minutes to be greeted by a waiter. At which time we told him we were ready to order. He told us that he would take the drink order and come back for the rest of the order. We reminded him that we were ready to order and he interrupted us to only say, “I will only take your drink order for now!”

About 15 minutes later our drinks arrived. The waiter then took our order. About 20 minutes passed and our drinks were empty. The waiter was no where in sight. We asked another waiter who was passing by if we could get refills, and he simply glared at us and told us that we needed to tell our server. Alas, our waiter did not return or was even visible for quite some time. Another 20 minutes passed at which time my friend got up and went to the hostess stand to request to see a manager. About 15 minutes later a dark haired man in a blue suit approached our table. We told him that we still did not receive our food or even refills. He said he would take care of things. Another 20 minutes passed at which time a lemonade was delivered to our table but no other drinks. Mind you, I was having lemonade, my friend was drinking Diet Coke, and his friend was having water with lemon. These are not alcoholic drinks from the bar. This is not something that requires this long of a time frame to prepare and deliver to the table.

Another 20 minutes passed. By now we decided we would leave the hotel and go dine elsewhere. As we were leaving I informed a brunette named “Monica” that the service was horrible and that we were left waiting for such a long time. Meanwhile, the table next to us got seated AFTER us and they received their meal AND already had dessert and paid their check and were leaving before us!

Monica merely said she knows and that there was nothing she could do. She didn’t apologize or even sympathize with the situation. Obviously this must be a regular occurrence at Indigo!

To make matters worse, my friend Jeff found out the hotel charged his credit card 4 times for his one night stay. Granted, they offered to upgrade him to a larger room. But this was such a horrible and unacceptable experience I wanted to make sure I informed you of what is going on in your hotel.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank safejourneys2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#7 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing