We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Intercon's downtown location is terrific” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #7 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Intercon's downtown location is terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

If you seek a very convenient downtown Miami location for business this is a terrific work hotel with solid staff and business center and perhaps the best range of fitness equipment around. Beds are heavenly and it seems that only the corner rooms have both walk-in showers and separate tubs. Yes, it it not on South Beach but you don't have to drive 15-25 minutes in traffic to get back and forth and if you want to sleep undisturbed the place is silent. Got to be one of the best breakfast and lunch buffets around, though not cheap, and try a burger via room service after midnight. Only wish the pool had more sun... I heard flat screens are not in every room yet but mine was there, large and sweet in my suite.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dog_Cove_on_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,316
    1,414
    395
    167
    98
See reviews for
1,247
1,552
244
1,385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Perfect location, downtown, view of the ocean, park for children close by, mall close by. We felt as king and queen even with the children around :) Our wish was their command. A lot of taxis outside the hotel, starbucks, restaurant, pharmacy near by and of course 10 minutes from the Port. We stayed there before and after our cruise and we never wanted to leave. Even though the room windows wont open, you never smelled anything bad :)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinapd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

We arrived at the hotel after dropping the hire car off at the Hertz garage a couple of blocks away. We dragged our luggage across the road and approached the hotel on foot. Astonishingly the front door staff just stood and watched us haul our cases up the steps outside the hotel. They did at least hold the front door open for us - even if it was the furthest one away!

Once inside more steps and again no offer of help. I suppose we should have been more assertive but then this is meant to be a 5 star hotel. The lesson here I think is "arrive on four wheels" if you want to get any help with your luggage. To make matters worse, we noticed they'd painted out "Hertz Rental" on the lobby notice boards so obviously at one time there was a Hertz rental desk / drop off point at this Intercontinental.

The other thing I'd say about this place is unless you speak Spanish I'm afraid you won't get the best out of the hotel. We found the front desk staff to be well presented and polite but not very enthusiastic or welcoming. Other staff members we spoke to had difficulty understanding English.

The bedrooms are large but not decorated or furnished to a standard you'd find in many 5 Star European hotels. The bathroom (which contained a bath, shower and toilet) was actually quite small and curiously the control for the bath (and even the separate shower) was a lump of turned stone/marble. It reminded me of something out of the Flintstones!

The Club Lounge is comfortable if a little dated and corporate. Service is not the best but the self selection of food and beverage is well above average.

The best bit - for us anyway - was the spa. Fantastic. My massage was superb and the changing/shower/steam facilities excellent . The outside sun deck and pool is also topnotch.

So a bit of a mixed bag at this Intercontinental. Oh and yes, as we departed you'll be pleased to know we left our luggage at the top of the steps and this time asked if someone could bring it down to the taxi. They couldn't have been more obliging but then we were departing on four wheels!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

OK- left over food and alchol in the mini bar from previous guests, 3 calls to the front desk for a wine opener, dirty chairs - not what I expected.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank loriglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul, mn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

The hotel was nice. As reported in other reviews, the lobby is much better than the rooms. The room was ok. The bathroom was beautiful, with marble counters and floors. The room was clean, which is always a relief.

Notably, the bath products such as soap, shampoo and conditioner were trerrible. I always look forward to that little luxury when staying at a "nice" hotel and was disappointed on this trip.

I woke on Friday morning and my bathroom light was blinking on and off. I called the front desk and maintenance was going to be right up! 20 minutes later I could wait no longer and got in the shower. By the time my shower was complete, the lights had gone completely off and I finished up in the dark. It was a unique experience! I think this is likely an anomoly and would not expect this to happen again.

I would definately stay here again and I would recommend it to a friend. It's a little pricey, but really not too bad for Miami on the water.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stpauligirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

The hotel is OK. Located in close proximity of a nice park, directly at a bay, surrounded from two sides by skyscrapers. The bay view is just beautiful, if you have a high floor room. Restaurants are in about 15 min walking distance. CVS one block away. Car rental companies are 2-3 blocks away. Taxi to the Miami Beach is about 20 dollars. Starbucks (open 6.20 AM – 6.00 PM) and a little souvenir shop are in the building. Free tee and coffee are in the lobby before 6.30 AM.
Rooms are nice, sufficiently spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Windows don't open. Internet is about $52 per week or $12 per day. Breakfast is until 11.00 AM, it is not included (about 30 dollars for buffet breakfast) and food is very tasty. Coffee is decent.
The worst part of the hotel is the service. Except the doormen, the guy at the bar and Anna at the front desk, we had very bad experience with the staff. The person at restaurant entrance told us around 10:00 AM, that we can not sit at a table for breakfast, because they already clean the tables for lunch. We could sit at the nearby bar and enter the restaurant just to get food from the buffet. The waitress in the bar was difficult to spot. The worst experience was the concierge. The man was rude and bad-mannered.
Our hotel bill had several extras, which we never used. This included alcohol from the minibar, parking charges (even though we had no car), and other small things, together for over $100. Fortunately, we were able to clarify everything and we paid only for what we really had.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szynka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
932 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed here for one night while in Miami for business. Cost for club floor was $430 plus taxes. The hotel is beautiful and well appointed. The club rooms were of decent size. I felt that bathroom and closet were too small. The club lounge was excellent with decent food and free alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks at tea time and evening time.

Room had panoramic view of the harbor and Miami Beach - which was very nice.

If you have an expense account - I'd recommend staying here. Otherwise, there are very good, but less expensive hotels available

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#1 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing