We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Toro Toro Bar is the Best Aspect of the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #7 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Toro Toro Bar is the Best Aspect of the Hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

When in Miami on business, I have been staying at the Intercontinental. I am a seasoned and veteran traveler and know that every pale has its good and bad aspects. Intercontinental's good aspects are its convenient location for business and its comfortable rooms with terrific views. The hotel staff is good, although the delays for check in and check out could be managed better.

The restaurants are not too dazzling. Breakfast is the best meal, but when breakfast is the best meal that should tell you something. Plus, there is a Toro Toro bar. It is common knowledge the best thing to do is to have a drink (or drinks?) at the hotel bar before dining elsewhere and then come back for after dinner drinks before retiring for the evening.

If you are lucky enough to have Alina (I think I have the spelling right) as your server, you are in for a perfectly made cocktail from a mixologist who exudes consummate professionalism. We had a large (and at times loud) party and she acted with grace under pressure. The drinks were great and she even made suggestions for some of the ladies in our party that went over very well.

I highly recommend Toro Toro as the place to start and end the night in Miami!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Brian F,

Thank you for your review of the InterContinental Miami and Toro Toro. Our prime location and beautiful views makes us a top choice among travelers and I'm thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy all that the InterContinental Miami and downtown Miami has to offer.

Thank you for your accolades to the staff at Toro Toro bar who were able to give you and your friends a great start to your evening, I will be sure to share your comments with them. Why not spend your whole evening at Toro Toro?! The drinks are great, the food is amazing and we're now featuring a live DJ every Sunday and Friday night. I highly recommend that you check it out the next time you're in town!

Again, thank you for your feedback and loyalty to our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Hopefully less work and more play this time!

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,848
    1,590
    441
    181
    108
See reviews for
1,468
1,785
268
1,590
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY/Westport/Provence
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have the phrase 'The Intercontinetal Experience' because I am a Platinum/ambassador member for many years and stay at this chain 80% of the time when traveling for work or pleasure. THis was my first time at the Miami IHG and it did not disappoint. From the moment you arrive until you leave…..the staff in all areas are exemplary. The wonderful men who greet you at the entrance, charming and 'can do anything to make your stay perfect' Rodrigo at the Ambassador desk, the people who work by the pool and most…one of the best 'Club Rooms and Club Room Staff' in any of the IHG's in the U.S. The club room served a wonderful breakfast, tea and drinks and appetizers but it was the amazing warmth and professionalism of the staff run by Florangel, a woman who is a TOP representative for IHG and should be running her own IHG hotel at some point. Hert hospitality, warmth, quiet attention to keeping her WONDERFUL staff (Hector, Flavia,Yoni and Boris) on top of every guest's needs was unparalleled by any other manager of a Club Room in all IHG's in the U.S. We were upgraded to a beautiful duplex with a view of the harbor and the room was just lovely and appointed with style with two modern and spacious bathrooms, two giant televisions (one in the siting area and one in the bedroom) , tons of closet space and the room shined from being so clean. Ah…ah..ah…those IHG beds……don't worry about falling asleep when you have the pleasure of sleeping on one of these comfy beds that lull you to sleep. The ambassador reps (besides Rodrigo) were keeping tabs to make sure we were very happy and the hotel truly made you feel cared for in a 5* manner. The lobby is great for a drink or there is the top restaurant 'Toro Toro' for one of the best meals in Miami. The Grill on the 5th floor by the pool is wonderful for lunch and that view. What can I say…..another amazing 'Intercontinental Experience

Room Tip: Join the IHG rewards club !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear LeTerrible,

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful remarks about our hotel and staff. As a valued Ambassador member, I'm pleased and proud to count you among our customers and appreciate your loyalty to the InterContinental Brand. Comments like yours remind me of how lucky I am to work with such wonderful people who take great pride in caring for our guests. It is through their service and genuine hospitality that we are able to set ourselves apart from the competition. It is such an honor for you to name our Club Floor and Club Floor Staff as one of the best in the IHG Family! Our team really goes above and beyond to make our guests feel welcomed and it's evident that they love what they do which makes all of the difference.

Thank you for naming a few of our staff who really stood out and made your stay memorable. I'll be sure to share your kind words with them and thank them for their continued service. It was a pleasure to have had you as our guest and since you had such a great experience, I'm sure it won't be too long before you visit us again!

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a great location with outstanding staff. We travel a lot and can honestly say this hotel is close to faultless. The concierge desk is the most helpful we have ever used. Room was spotless and and the bed very comfortable.Check in and check out also very good, A polite efficient hotel with good food and a nice bar. Cannot recommend it enough next time we are in Miami I know we're we will stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BerlindaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear BerlindaSurrey,

Thank you so much for your wonderful remarks. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests were given a 5-star experience and had a flawless stay. Our concierge team is AMAZING and I'm glad that they were able to make your stay memorable. I will be sure to share your accolades with them.

Thank you again for your great recommendations. In an effort to better serve you, it would be great if you could email me at interconmiami@gmail.com so that I can obtain additional details regarding your stay and offer my assistance with your future bookings.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

it was our first time in Miami and we are so glad that we booked in InterContinental. Every staff member smiles at you and makes sure you are happy with your stay. Very eager to help tourists find their way in Miami. The location of the hotel is really central, an 7-8 mnts walk and you are at bayside with all the restaurants and cocktail bars, free metro few steps away from the hotel, few steps and you reach free bus/trolley that takes you to many places in downtown. The room was spacious and very clean, Just to be precise it was a tiny bit dusty around the bed area. you feel you are in a 4+ star hotel. They have a nice small pool with a bar next to it , although we didn't go in the pool, we had lunch. it is relatively pricey, but the food was good quality, and a great view to the ocean.

Everyone was friendly with us but I wanted to mention Henroy who really went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. From helping with directions, helping with the luggage, helping with bicycle rental. He always helped us with a smile on his face, it is obvious he loves his job and that reflects on the hotel guests.

keep up the good work and please maintain the service quality. Next time we go to Miami we know for sure when we are going to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freetraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear freetraveler2007,

Thank you so much for sharing details of your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear that we truly "wowed" our guests and I'm thrilled that you walked away feeling like you received top-of-the-line service! Our central location puts everything that Miami has to offer at our guests' fingertips and I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the many amenities that are offered by the city and InterContinental Miami.

What I am most proud of is that each and every staff member greeted you with a smile and ensured that all of your needs were met. We have a beautiful facility, great amenities and we are in a great location but it is our staff that really makes us stand out from the crowd. I am grateful to work with such wonderful people who take pride in their work and truly love what they do. I am glad that you were able to experience this type of dedication and hospitality firsthand. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with Henroy and thank him for a job well done!

I am pleased to hear that you plan to return to our hotel in the future. Please email me at interconmiami@gmail.com so that I may obtain additional details regarding your stay and extend my assistance in making your next booking.

Thank you again for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have had you as our guest.

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I had one of the best experiences at this hotel. Eduardo Rosello went above and beyond the call of the duty to ensure that our time was special. The room and room view was outstanding. Also, the pool and food was expectional. I strongly recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Antonio T,

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation for our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and were able to take in the beautiful scenery from the comfort of your room. Our specialty is making each and every one of our guests' stays memorable and I am beyond happy to hear that we were able to do just that for you and your wife! Rosello is the best of the best and I am so proud to have him on my team. His genuine care and hospitality amazes me and every guest he meets walks away feeling like family. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with him and thank him for his service.

In an effort to serve you better I would love for you to email our Customer Relationship Specialist at interconmiami@gmail.com so that we can obtain additional details of your stay.

Again, I appreciate your feedback and hope it wont be too long before you visit us again.

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is an exceptional hotel. Not only is the physical property fun, hip, elegant and has both a luxurious feeling in the public spaces and excellent meeting spaces, it is really the range of staff people I interacted with who really "get" how they can create experiences and human connections with you that make you know you matter and are cared about to the best of their ability. THAT is the secret sauce of this hotel. Go there for biz or leisure. You'll see what I mean!

Great location too for urban Miami -- right along harbor waterfront and close to the beaches if you need that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Ed Q,

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind remarks about our staff and property. I can't thank you enough for taking the time from your busy day to share your thoughts. It is feedback like yours that reminds me of how lucky I am to work in such a beautiful place, with such incredible people and values. The quality of service and genuine hospitality that flows through our staff is truly magnificent, and it seems you were witness to just that.

Our staff is what sets us apart from the competition and brings it to life! They ensure that our guests have a memorable stay and walk away with a once in a lifetime experience. Welcome to the InterContinental Miami family, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Was there for a relaxing weekend and this is exactly what I got, service is great, location is great and the spa is fantastique, thank you to Franklin and Vanessa for there great service. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelSim31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear MelSim31,

Thank you so much for your review of the InterContinental Miami. I am happy to hear that you find our property to be a quiet and peaceful getaway. We are honored to provide you with 5-star service and appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and the InterContinental brand.

I am thrilled to hear that you are planning your return! Please email me at interconmiami@gmail.com so that I can offer my assistance with your booking and ensure we continue to meet and exceed your expectations.

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#15 of 122 in Miami
3,266 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing