We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, Michigan
1 review
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights before a cruise in February, 2013. We did not have to use our car at all everything was so close. All off the hotel employees treated us like we were very special guests. The hotel is super luxurious yet very comfortable. Whole family loved this hotel. Location was great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 48813Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear 48813Family,

Your review is much appreciated. I am so glad to hear that your stay with us was excellent. You mentioned that you enjoyed our close proximity to all that Miami has to offer, and thus you were able to walk everywhere. While this is one of the beauties of Miami, we welcome you to try our electric bicycles the next time you choose to visit us. These bicycles make for a fun and unique family experience and lets you cover more ground in less time; kids especially love them! Look forward to seeing the whole family again soon, thank you again for your review.

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,119
    1,355
    379
    159
    92
See reviews for
1,199
1,461
228
1,284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,083)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I want to comment on the great service I received from attendees of Intercontinetal Hotel valet parking. They were very friendly and guided me in my visit to Miami, especially Rocio attendees and Jean Carlo.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnriqueManyari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear EnriqueManyari,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I appreciate you naming the valet attendees who helped to make your experience with us a pleasant and memorable one. I will be sure to highlight these employees for their outstanding service. We hope the rest of your visit with us was just as friendly and memorable. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

So i have never paid full price for my stas in this hotel, instead i've always booked online via one of those 'won't tell you the name of hotel' websites and always got it for a bout 1/3 of the advertised price

Great place to stay, especially if you want to go for a run by the water's edge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Denise P,

Thank you for joining us this past weekend at the InterContinental Miami Hotel. It seems that you are a regular here, having mentioned above that you always find a great rate through a third-party site. We are happy to have hosted you again and thank you for your continued loyalty. If you haven't already, you should check out our IHG Rewards loyalty program where you can redeem special offers just for you and earn points each time you stay towards free travel, merchandise and more at any of our 4,600 locations worldwide!

We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for your loyalty and feedback.

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed for a week long meeting. Room was spacious, bedding was very comfortable, and the view was outstanding. The property is right next to a park with easy walking access to shops and restaurants. The staff is what sets this hotel apart. For being such a busy property, the staff was always friendly and very helpful and accommodating. This would be a perfect spot to stay while in town for any function at the American Airlines center or pre/post cruise as the Miami terminal can be seen just across the bridge from the hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing the park. Room 2426 is two doubles and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler216_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Traveler216_fl,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and for this kind review. I am delighted to hear your stay was great, as we strive to provide exceptional service to each and every one of our guests. We pride ourselves on having one of the best teams in town and are happy to hear you were welcomed in true InterContinental style. I will be sure to share this feedback with our guest services team.

You mentioned that you enjoyed the view from room 2426 and I would like to make this your preferred room should you decide to join us again. As a preference it is not guaranteed unfortunately, however noting this on your account will allow us to try an accommodate you with this room each time you come. When you are ready, feel free to ask for me so I may do this for you. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

For the second year in a row I have run a marathon to celebrate my birthday.
This year staying in the same hotel even same room as last year.
I love the location of this hotel because of the staring line and finish line of the Marathon.
The room view is just perfect, it allows me to be filled with excitement about the accomplishment I'm about to fulfill.
This time tho, I stayed some extra days to enjoy miami and some surrounding restaurants.
Theres lots more positive things to say than negative, the staff like Guillermo (bellboy)
Monique (Floor manager) Angelica (guest services supervisor) Diane (housekeeping manager)
Martin(concierge) are all just wonderful.
its really not even worth mentioning the negatives because they were all taken care of in a millisecond and with a fantastic smile.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina12873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear nina12873,

Happy belated birthday from the entire InterContinental Miami team! I am so glad you chose to stay with us for your special day, and thank you for your loyalty. We commend you for your participation in the Miami Marathon and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back next year. When you are ready to plan your visit, please email miami@interconti.com and mention this conversation so we can ensure your birthday is EXTRA special next year.

Additionally, I would like to thank you for calling out the team members who made your visit that much more special. We have such a genuine and caring team here and appreciate your comments. I will be sure to share this with our team to ensure they are recognized for their exceptional service. Thank you again!

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed at the Intercontinental recently for a business trip. The hotel itself is nice but the staff needs a crash course in customer service.
Upon arrival, went though check-in process very quickly however unfortunately was told that they were unable to make keys to room. Not what I wanted to hear after long flight. Was told to go to room and wait for security to let me in... And then go back to the front desk if I wanted to leave the room. I did so and was given a key about an hour later (after calling front desk).
Room itself was nice but I was put into a double queen even though I wanted a a single king.
Went down to restaurant lobby to take a look at menu for dinner. Hostess stayed on the the phone for at least 5 minutes before looking up to acknowledge me.
Also, on last day, asked to check my bags until my flight later in day and was told that they charge per bag. Price was very low however this seems strange for a nice hotel.
Hotel is in a good location for business (not so much for leisure) however the entire staff (except the room service team) needs a lesson in customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank map1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear map1977,

We are delighted to have hosted you during your recent business trip in Miami and thank you for your feedback. It is through this type of interaction that we learn and grow as individuals and an overall company as well.

I truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room keys during check-in and would like to assure you this is not a common issue in our hotel. Unfortunately during your visit we experienced a slight glitch, however all has been attended to and fixed. Thank you for your patience during that time. I would also like to thank you for the suggestion of additional customer service training. Our guests satisfaction is our number one priority, and thus we take this very seriously.

Thank you again for your comments and suggestions. We truly appreciate you visiting us and hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at this property at the end of January. It is a nice hotel in a good location. Our room was nice and clean. My primary complaint was the daily charge for the fitness center. With room rates like this, I think it is way out of line to charge for the fitness facility.
Our room faced the water and the hotel is close to the Bayside area which is nice.
Other nice things about this property is the fact that it has a car rental agency in the lobby. I believe it is Alamo. The gentleman that helped us was very professional and gracious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear BRJEC,

First I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to share your feedback with us. While it seems you had an overall nice time at the property, you did raise concern about the fitness center fee. While this fee is currently in place because we do not charge an overall resort fee, we are looking into other options to delight our guests in the future. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to understand our guests needs and desires and work to reach them.

I am glad you were provided with exceptional service through our on-property rental car agency, and will be sure to pass on the praise to the team. Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Arminio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#9 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing