We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...patchy internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Recently stayed at the intercontinental for a multiday meeting. Rooms were clean and the staff were very attentive. I was impressed by the food offered from room service and meeting catering.

The only drawback from my stay was that the internet connection was slow and unstable. To add insult to injury, I initially paid nearly $18 a day to the hotel for the premium connection. A discount was offered at checkout for the challenges I had with the connection. If the connection can be improved in the future, this will be a no brainer for future meetings.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedasse_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,597 - 3,603 of 6,486 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Rocio at the valet desk was so attentive and provided excellent service. Made my experience parking in the middle of a busy day on my way to a meeting seamless and I can't say enough about her!! The hotel boasts large, classy rooms conveniently located in the heart of Miami. Rocio and the rest of the service team will make your stay a pleasure!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Jon7771112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I travel often on business and make it point to stay at Intercontinental Hotels, they are always centrally located, have great restaurants, are business friendly and the staff makes you feel at home. While this was my first stay in the Intercontinental Miami, the consistently great experience was the same. A special note of above and beyond service goes to Front Office Asst. Manager Batuhan Or, who kindly print for me some urgent documents and delivered to our table at Toro Toro. He insisted we have dinner while he did that for us. Now that truly makes you feel like an ambassador. My congratulation to the Intercontinental Miami!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the bay.. They are the rooms that number 001 to 010
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iarzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A friend and I had lunch at Blue Water Restaurant this past weekend. The view from the restaurant is nice and relaxing (you can either enjoy the view to the pool or the ocean). Service was great. The Manager Carlos is fantastic. He approached our table and introduced himself. He was pleasant, knowledgeable, funny and gave us a few recommendations for lunch. We tried (based on his recommendation) the shrimp pizza and the churrasco pizza. Both were absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a great hotel. I've been there many times, and this time (this past Thursday night) was no exception. It's got a great location for downtown office buildings, and it's also near Bayside marketplace. The rooms are spacious, and the service is good.

But here's my one problem. This is 2013. Pretty much everyone uses the Internet, right? And free access to the Internet is provided in even budget motels, as well as coffee shops, and many other places. But not at the Interncontinental Miami. They charge what is, in this day and age, an exorbitant amount above the room charge for either wired or wireless internet access. While I enjoy staying there, I would enjoy it more if they joined the 21st century and provided internet access as part of the room rate.

Room Tip: High floors facing the water are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Staten_Islander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite place to stay in Miami. It's upscale and classy. The rooms are huge and very tastefully decorated. Great views! Super comfortable beds and linens. From the valet to the doorman, everyone made us feel at home and greeted us with a smile each time they saw us. The rooms manager, Bathu, was amazingly accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review from my hotel room overlooking the ocean and pool - and I have to say I am very sad to leave!

My partner and I have been staying here since Tuesday and it has been fantastic. From the lobby to the exterior everything about this hotel is classy and upmarket. Our room was always spotless - and requests we made such as extra shampoo etc were delivered instantly and Rodriguez was also particularly amazing.

There was nothing that was too much for the staff here - the food at Tora Tora was also amazing - my other half rated it 10/10 and he is very hard to please! definitely try the restaurant here for dinner one evening!

We are now travelling back to London but will most definitely be returning to this hotel as soon as we can! Also a cab to ocean drive - south beach is approx 15-20 dollars - most days about 16/17 dollars. Definitely a nice place to visit in the evenings!

Warm regards

Reema and Rajan

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKB331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#33 of 127 in Miami
3,818 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#20 of 127 in Miami
3,369 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Price Range: $194 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing