We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isn't it time that internet access is free in a high-end hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #8 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
479 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Isn't it time that internet access is free in a high-end hotel?”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a great hotel. I've been there many times, and this time (this past Thursday night) was no exception. It's got a great location for downtown office buildings, and it's also near Bayside marketplace. The rooms are spacious, and the service is good.

But here's my one problem. This is 2013. Pretty much everyone uses the Internet, right? And free access to the Internet is provided in even budget motels, as well as coffee shops, and many other places. But not at the Interncontinental Miami. They charge what is, in this day and age, an exorbitant amount above the room charge for either wired or wireless internet access. While I enjoy staying there, I would enjoy it more if they joined the 21st century and provided internet access as part of the room rate.

Room Tip: High floors facing the water are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Staten_Islander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,709
    1,552
    428
    179
    105
See reviews for
1,408
1,733
259
1,540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite place to stay in Miami. It's upscale and classy. The rooms are huge and very tastefully decorated. Great views! Super comfortable beds and linens. From the valet to the doorman, everyone made us feel at home and greeted us with a smile each time they saw us. The rooms manager, Bathu, was amazingly accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review from my hotel room overlooking the ocean and pool - and I have to say I am very sad to leave!

My partner and I have been staying here since Tuesday and it has been fantastic. From the lobby to the exterior everything about this hotel is classy and upmarket. Our room was always spotless - and requests we made such as extra shampoo etc were delivered instantly and Rodriguez was also particularly amazing.

There was nothing that was too much for the staff here - the food at Tora Tora was also amazing - my other half rated it 10/10 and he is very hard to please! definitely try the restaurant here for dinner one evening!

We are now travelling back to London but will most definitely be returning to this hotel as soon as we can! Also a cab to ocean drive - south beach is approx 15-20 dollars - most days about 16/17 dollars. Definitely a nice place to visit in the evenings!

Warm regards

Reema and Rajan

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKB331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

First I want to start by expressing how great my pool experience was, Mr. Carlos Garcia's service was excellent!
Also, at the Club Intercontinental , as always, EXCELLENT service! Mrs. Ingrid Poole amazed me at her consistent service, she truly takes care of you. 'Viva España!'
I cant leave out Mr. Boris wonderful service.

One thing I can't leave out is the hard time front desk always gives you, but I guarantee if you pass the front desk check in you'll be glad you stayed at this amazing hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGEL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

$36 for parking a day should be free . They charge for Internet that should be free . Hotel is pretty and close to bayside market . They have pool . The guy that checked us in was very helpful . Almo car rental there girl was not there when suppose to be . Next day she was there but renting from Avis was cheaper also . Plus Avis was open more days and times .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice lobby and spacious rooms, good service, nice linens, but valet parking is $36.00 ( you don't have any other good options around, since the only parking lot around is $2.00 per hour, from 12am to 7 am is "free" but you have to be there at 7 am in the morning to buy extra hours, so you are almost obligated to do the valet option... The other parking lots are not that close...
Not a nice area to walk, but it is not far to other areas by car.
You get a 15%discount in room service and restaurants if you are a member of IHG rewards program.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anam01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ararat, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

One of the first hotels we stayed in on our recent visit to Miami and it sure set the bar high for the rest of the trip. From the moment you step inside this beautiful hotel, it just gets better. We had a beautiful view over the adjacent park. The bathroom was spacious and the room was presented so well. We didn't want to leave!

Absolutely recommend this hotel to everyone wanting a little luxury in downtown Miami, away from the craziness of South Beach. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samandon1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing