We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for the Bayside area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #8 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Essxe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good base for the Bayside area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here before departing for the Keys.
Parking locally is awkward as although you can park on a meter immediately outside, there is a limited total stay which does not cover a full night. Therefore you are forced into taking the valet parking at $36. Unfortunately one of the rear alloys on our hire car was kerbed in two places, but we didn't see the damage until after we had left the hotel. Although it wasn't an issue with the hire company it was very disappointing, particularly when you are paying for the service.

The room was a very good standard with a spacious bathroom and partial sea view. Good quality HD TV. Wifi was chargeable so we didn't use it.

The hotel is a short walk from the very lively Bayside area, which is a great nightspot. We enjoyed a meal at Bubba Gumps. The lighting on all the buildings looks fantastic at night and the hotel itself has dramatic LED lighting effects including an interesting gyrating lady dancer down the whole side of the building!

We did express checkout, but had to chase up an electronic copy of the bill.

In house Starbucks was convenient, plus good staff.

Despite a few niggles this stay was a good start to our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,543
    1,493
    417
    176
    101
See reviews for
1,348
1,659
252
1,472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is one for the books. First off, the lobby is white and contemporary. You instantly feel like youre in Miami, because of the neons juxtaposed against the white aesthetic. Its placed right on the water downtown, so you get a spa like feeling upon arrival. The staff is so friendly...Yessica and Celine were who I dealt with primarily and they were so nice and helpful. The rooms are decked out, very swanky and high end. Spacious marble bathrooms, super comfy beds, with all the nicest amenities. Id stay here again for sure!! P.S. the gym is better than my gym at home!!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

While I was looking at apartments in the Miami area, I decided to stay at the Intercontinental for a couple of nights. I had an amazing view of the city downtown and I took taxi's to Miami Beach for only about 15$ one way. Comparing hotels on Miami Beach and this one, you receive better quality for the price. When you compare hotels on Miami Beach, you pay for higher prices to be right at the beach but your hotel stay is going to be that of a 2-3 star hotel! I rate this a 5 star!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Two friends and I stayed here over the weekend while we were in town for the Justin Timberlake concert. The hotel is beautiful from the moment you walk through the front doors into the lobby. It has a very contemporary, modern, upscale feel to it which I really enjoyed. The front desk lady was very friendly and polite, and she gave us a nice room overlooking the pool and bay area.

The location cannot be beat!! You are right in the heart of downtown Miami, within a short driving distance to South Beach. Also, within walking distance are several good dining options, including the Bayside mall and dining complex. This place was really popular at night.

The room was excellent!! Beds were extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was huge. I really liked the dual shower heads in the bathtub. This place is great, and I would definitely return on my next trip to Miami.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and/or bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atlantacmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is great. Staff was super considerate, and helped even when I thought that I was too specific. Front-desk Celine and concierge was so helpful when we arrived after a long trip that made our day. The location is beautiful and near everything that you search for when in Miami, stores, restaurants, south beach, airport, and so on. The only problem (like everywhere I went in US) is to park your car. We wish cheaper vallet service but if you park for 24 hours on the street, it will be more expensive, specially for your mind, since you got to go to parking meter every 4 hours. The room is big with nice view. Room-service was exactly what you expect of it. Loved it. Will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors got beautiful views on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomaz_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We Arrived at the Intercontinental on Friday the 16th of August and stayed til sunday. The staff was nice. A valet guy named claude took good care of us. he brought our luggages to our room and made sure we had everything throughout our stay. please do ask for him if you happend to go there. excellent customer service. The room was clean, huge bathroom and everything you needed was close by.

Room Tip: we had a city view on the top floor
See more room tips
Green Features: i think its a great thing that they practice that. any thing to make the world better iam for
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I used to stay many times at this Hotel. Today they have improved the rooms, friendly staff and some add ups in restaurants and lobby area. Excellent location and the best views over the bay.
The only bad experience is also as usual the noisy bathroom pipes...so you can hear your neighbor when using bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PECASMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#7 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing