We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice option for business travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #5 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice option for business travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Comfortable rooms and bed. On 23rd floor, and it was nice and quiet. While I didn't get to spend any time by the pool, there was a nice one overlooking the ocean with plenty of chairs. A restaurant and bar were there as well.

They charge a room cleaning fee per day, kind of silly given the room rates already. Also, had breakfast with a colleague in Ole, she had yogurt and fruit, I had eggs. Total bill was $50 before tip. So I agree with other reviews it was kind of expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenFlodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear JenFlodin,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay at the InterContinental Miami. Please know that we take your comments seriously and we have shared them with the respective departments in an effort to continually improve the overall guest experience. We hope that you enjoyed your meeting at our hotel as we are one of the area's top business destinations. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great service experience. And please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning a future stay, whether for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,931
    1,292
    367
    152
    86
See reviews for
1,124
1,382
216
1,202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,036)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We waited until the last minute to find a hotel for the Boat Show in February. Each year we think there will be some great deal at the last minute--but there has never been! So when we do start calling, we know it will be a high-end hotel and pricey--but this year it was Valentines Day! So when we couldn't get in the Holiday Inn on Biscayne Bay, they referred us to their property a short stroll away--the InterContinental. We had a gorgeous room on the 22nd floor with wall-to-wall windows looking at the condos across the way and the Bay out the front of the hotel. A large bath with lots of storage and great robes. The lobby bar was busy and had delicious small plates on the bar menu. Breakfast in the dining room was very Central/South American and very good. We were a short stroll through a park to the Strictly Sail Miami marina with beautiful views of Biscayne Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear kysailor,

We are so glad that you had the opportunity to stay at the InterContinental Miami. Miami is buzzing with many fun activities between the months of January and April and the hotel is located in the middle of it all. Indeed, the guestrooms views are fantastic and the views can't be beat. It's easy to waste the day away watching the cruise ships pull into the port. We strive to provide the very best to all of our guests and we are glad to have surpassed your expectations. We look forward to being your choice hotel on future trips to Miami and please let us know if we may ever be of any assistance in planning a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Prior to a Christmas cruise from Port Miami my husband and I had the pleasure of spending one night at the Intercontinental Hotel in Miami. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by friendly bellmen willing to help. The check-in was easy and our room was wonderful outfitted with everything we could need. We ordered room service for dinner, which was prompt and beautifully prepared. I had the most incredible Caesar salad I have ever eaten. The next morning we had breakfast in a beautiful room and with every option available. Everything about this hotel was superb. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo2NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Leo2NewYork,

Thank you for the top notch review and recommendation. We are so glad that you enjoyed your entire experience at the InterContinental Miami. The hotel is the best option for cruise travelers as we are located on Biscayne Bay, in close proximity to the Port of Miami. A one night stay at our hotel is a great way to kick off or wind down any vacation. You had breakfast at Ole, our exclusive breakfast restaurant. Offering an endless variety of breakfast favorites, it's the best way to power up for a long day of leisure or business. We hope to that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed with a buddy of mine for 2 nights in late Feb. I usually come to miami for a break 2-3 times per year so was definitely over the south beach experience. I actually prefer staying in the downtown area because its less chaotic plus it provides better access for me to move around the rest of So. Florida. The hotel is nice, location is great, staff are courteuous. Only issue I had was that I booked a reservation for 2 nights but for some reason their system had me only for a night (found out after checking in when I couldn't get into my room). I found out the hard way when the keys to my room didn't work at 4pm the next day when I tried to get back in. The staff cleared up the issue but I felt that there was a disconnect in communication of some sort between staff members/management. The hotel itself is really nice though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Amit K,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that inconveniences you experienced did not negatively affect your stay at our hotel and that we were able to quickly resolve the issue. We can assure you that your comments have been addressed with our staff. Indeed, the location is great. Located in the heart of downtown Miami, the hotel offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of city life, but it is still close to ample transportation and the area's top attractions. Again, we thank you for your comments on the look to our hotel and courteous staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It is a 5 star hotel and of course there is not much to complain about except for pricing. It's just a great hotel with exceptional view but on the too expensive side for me to choose for a normal vacation. Now we got a special deal due to a conference that was held in the same hotel. The breakfast was also excellent but too expensive. I've never gotten the American style to charge extra for breakfast. For this room price it just should be included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STILoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear STILoo,

Thank you for the 5 star review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, but we are also disappointed that it did not completely meet your expectations. Please know that we take comments like yours seriously and have addressed them with the respective deparments, as we are continually updating our standard policies to improve the overall guest experience. Indeed, Ole is a great breakfast restaurant, offering the very best for those on the go or for a power business breakfast. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a top notch experience on your next trip to Miami, whether for business or leisure. And please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was attending a Charity Ball at the Hotel InterContinental Miami and decided as a treat to spend that Saturday and Sunday staying as a guest. Even though I live less than 20 minutes away I felt like I was on vacation based on the service and treatment we received at the Hotel, from the arrival at valet to the check out at noon the next day. I have to especially thank Eduardo Rosello, as the chef concierge he was one of the main reasons the overnight stay felt like a vacation away. I brought along my son to spend time together and to celebrate his birthday. Eduardo had cake and champagne deliver to the room and we toasted to a great year while looking out at the amazing view of Miami.
This weekend was a great example of not needing to go far to be able to feel pampered and important and that even if you just have time for one night you can feel refreshed and invigorated .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear J T,

Indeed, staycations are the best, especially at the InterContinental Miami! The hotel is an oasis with in paradise. There are so many great on-property amenities to enjoy and we are close to many of the area's top attractions. We continually encourage all Miami residents to take part in staycations. There is no such thing as too short a vacation. We will make sure to share your comments with Rosello. We look forward to hosting another memorable staycation and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was recently refurbished, though corners were cut. No water pressure. Cheap furnishings. No turndown service either night I stayed. $15 to use the gym! No one told me about that charge until I got the bill. Restaurant (Toro Toro) was average. My reaction is that I will never stay at an Intercontinental again. I'll stick to Starwood properties.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear vikingal,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations as we strive to provide the very best experience to all of our guests. Please know that we take all of your comments seriously and they have been addressed in the respective departments. At the moment we do charge a fee for access to the fitness facilities, but we are continually evaluating our policies to better fit the needs of our guests. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide with a fantastic experience. The InterContinental brand is one of the best in the world. And please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning a future trip to Miami. Furthermore, we encourage you to reach out to us directly if you would like to further discuss any of the inconveniences you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing