We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great doorman” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great doorman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Mario the doorman was so helpful and friendly. Ask him anything about Miami, and he'll be able to give you suggestions! He told us about a great place to have breakfast on south beach. Whenever we came in or out of the hotel, he was always there with a smile.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Paula R,

Thank you for the great review. Our staff is great! They are on hand to answer any question you may need. We will make sure to let our entire staff know that they contributed to a magnificent experience. We are glad that you had a chance to experience the sights and sounds of Miami. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,113
    1,353
    379
    159
    92
See reviews for
1,198
1,459
226
1,282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,082)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very clean and well taken care of. The staff is outstanding. Prompt service, a smile, and genuine willingness to help. The Spa is well appointed, and the staff very nice and eager to help. If you're looking to be taken care of, this is a great hotel to stay when you come to Miami.

Room Tip: As for bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear R J,

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad that you had a chance to experience mySpa, it truly is an indulgent experience. Thank you for the compliments on our staff. We agree, they are top notch. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on future trips to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The InterContinental Miami is a sensational hotel. The location is ideal since it's ON beautiful Biscayne Bay. It's a short walk to the Bayside Marketplace with its many restaurants, shops, tour boats, and also the hop on/hop off bus tours. The hotel is lcoated across the street from the MetroMover so it's possible to go almost anywhere in Miami from the hotel. The best reason to stay at the InterContinental Hotel, though, is the staff. They provide superb service !!! Beginning with the doormen and the bellmen and Carlos Garcia's front desk staff, everyone welcomes you as you arrive. Everyone at the hotel is professional and provides excellent service. The best rooms are the ones with a view of Biscayne Bay. It's possible to see spectacular sunrises along with cruise ships arriving and departing from the Port of Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Connie M,

Thank you for the great. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your entire experience at our hotel. It truly is the ideal location for cruise travelers as we are located in close proximity to the Port of Miami. Thank you for the tip about the Metromover. We will make sure to let our entire staff know that they contributed to a magnificent stay. We agree, the best rooms are the ones with a view of Biscayne Bay! We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a cruise. We were able to check in before 10 am and were given a bayfront room with postcard views. The room and bathroom were very large, clean and in new condition. I was impressed that they have Kuerig Coffee Machines in the rooms, although I had to ask for regular coffee since we were only given de-caff. I was not impressed with the weak water pressure in the shower. Overall, this is a great hotel within walking distance of the Bayfront restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear bshub,

Thank you for the nice comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are in close proximity to the Port of Miami, making it the ideal hotel for cruise travelers. It is the perfect way to end any vacation as we offer comfortable and spacious guestrooms and a decadent spa. We will make sure to share your comments about the water pressure with our Engineering department. We look forward to welcoming you back to our home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were there for the ING Miami marathon which we were participating in. Our first impression of the hotel was: "WOW!" The place is majestically clean and beautiful. The staff we dealt with were outstanding: helpful, insightful, and helped solve whatever little issues we encountered. (Our late check out was granted, and my wive's pre-run-Starbucks-meal was delivered to the room thanks to room service!!!) The concierge team was TOP NOTCH. JUAN CARLOS and ILANA were patient, thorough, and incredibly knowledgeable. Everything Juan Carlos advised made sense and was exactly customized for what we desired and needed. He has a true gift for his profession. We wish every hotel we visit has at least one of them. As for the location of this hotel... PERFECTION. Its in the center of everything and not too far from anything.

Room Tip: no way!! ...i need to make sure that room is unoccupied next time I'm there :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabriel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear gabriel c,

Thank you for the exceptional comments. We are so glad that we were able to provide you with a "WOW" experience at our hotel. We will make sure to let the entire team know that they contributed to a memorable stay. Thank you for the compliments on our incredible staff.. Indeed, it's all about location, location, location. Offering an oasis within paradise, it is close to many of the area's top attractions and choice dining and shopping. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on future trips to Miami and do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance in planning a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

In many ways, this is a typical big hotel. They charge for Internet service. The food is expensive and not worth it. But if you ask for a view of the bay as we did, you will get a real treat. We saw dolphins nearly every day of our three night stay here, including a show worthy of sea world with about a dozen dolphins leaping out of the water, three and four at a time. You can also watch the enormous cruise ships going in and out of the bay, as well as tugboats and container ships, etc. It is a fantastic view at sunrise. Also, the hotel concierge is excellent and recommended dinner in Mary Brickell Village, at the 10th Street stop on the Metromover that has a stop one block from the hotel entrance. We ate on the second story patio of Delores Lolita ... Loved the food and had a terrific view of the lit up buildings of downtown Miami.

Room Tip: Request a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudycomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Cloudycomet,

Thank you for your comments. We are so thrilled that you had a chance to experience the sights and sounds of our vibrant city. Indeed, Mary Brickell Village is a great spot for dining, shopping, and people watching. Our concierge team is the best; they truly hold the key to what's hot around town and we are glad that you reaped the benefits. We will make sure to let the concierge team know that they contributed to a positive experience. Additionally, the harbor view guestrooms are great. It is easy to waste the day watching the cruise ships come and go. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

well these are expensive rooms and of course the more you pay the less you get like wi fi etc , breakfast all extra,

altho staff were nice helpful in restaurant, reception always a bit austere, the rooms ok....glad company was paying...just not worth it..altho everything is just fine...

i did not like location so much ...industrial, small shopping mall nothing to write home about..definitley just for business...

would not stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sudeshBunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear sudeshBunger,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please know that we take your comments seriously and that we have addressed them with out staff. At the moment, we do charge a fee for Wi-Fi; but again, we thank you for your comments as we use them to improve the overall guest experience. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Miami and close to some of the area's top attractions and choice dining. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a great InterContinental Miami experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#9 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing