We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, but little for your dollar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, but little for your dollar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Near the metro and bayside marketplace. Parking is expensive, internet is expensive, food is expensive, spa is expensive. But guess what, there are much nicer and modern hotels for less. Concierge looked stressed out and charged a lot to collect packages. They charged me 8 usd to collect a package that wasnt even worth that much and they lost another. At least i got a refund form their handling fees for the lost one.

I've stayed there on business every year for 5 years and the standard seems to have dropped.

Sorry, but i've been to too many hotels worldwide not to notice.

Room Tip: Ask for the bayview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinafriendtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Chinafriendtt,

Thank you for reviewing the InterContinental Miami. We are sorry that the inconveniences you experienced led to a less than perfect stay at our hotel. Total guest satisfaction is our top priority. Please know that we take comments like yours seriously as we strive to better the overall guest experience. We charge a fee for parking, but it is comparable to other downtown price points. At the moment, we do charge a fee for Internet and the fitness center. We hope that you will give us another chance to make your stay a memorable one, whether for business or pleasure. Please let us know if we can personally assist you in planning your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,109
    1,352
    378
    159
    92
See reviews for
1,198
1,456
225
1,281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,081)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here on 12 Nov for 2 nights before sailing on a Caribbean Cruise. This was for our honeymoon.

We got a taxi from the airport to hotel and was about $27 dollars. we were met with a porter who took our luggage. Check in was quick and we were given a king room with a view of Port so we could see our ship when it arrived.

The room was large and we could not fault. The staff then brought us champagne and strawberries which was a nice touch.

It was room only so we could not comment on food.

There is a concierge in the hotel which is available for advice on how to get about Miami and were to go.

We had drinks in the lobby bar one evening and they were reasonably priced.

The hotel had a pool which was kept nice and there were comfortable loungers with towels and even suncream for you.

The hotel was in downtown Miami so was about $20 dollars in a taxi to south Beach or you can get a local bus for $2 dollars each way which takes about 20min and is very easy to do.

Nearby the hotel is the Bayside Market place which has shops, bars and restaurants and is walking distance from hotel. There is a Hard Rock Cafe there also.

There is a metro type train right outside hotel (monorail) which is free of charge and will take you all round downtown,

Would recommend hotel especially if cruising but even for a visit to Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear kim23,

Thank you for the fantastic review and the recommendation. We love reading comments like yours. We are thrilled that you chose our hotel to kick off your honeymoon and we hope that we provided a magical experience. Thank you for the transportation recommendation. The Metromover is the easiest (and cheapest) way to move around the city. We are also glad that you were able to experience some of our city before your big trip. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we hope to be your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des12404
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My family and I spent only one night at the hotel on the eve of my Husband's eye surgery at Bascom Palmer.
The suite was very spacious and lovely and we appreciated the half bath that was just off of the foyer. The main bathroom, as reported in prior posts was large and luxurious. The club on the 29th floor left a little to be desired during tea time, as the only refreshments were three cookies. They were good cookies, but we felt a bit greedy to have more than one.
My only disappointment was the limited view. While the water view is lovely when you are close to the window, most of the time your view is of the condo next door. If your only criteria when selecting a Miami hotel is a sweeping view of Biscayne Bay, this is not the hotel for you.
Having said that, the lobby is beautiful and the staff is courteous and professional to the extreme.
The cleanliness of the hotel is unbeatable and the location is perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the 32nd floor on the east (or southeast) side and found that the water view was not avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank des12404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear des12404,

Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Also, thank you for the comments about the Club InterContinental Lounge. Cleanliness and top notch service are our #1 priorities and we are glad that you noticed. We agree, our suites and bathrooms are large and luxurious. We hope to be your hotel of choice when traveling to Miami and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I booked this hotel using last minute travel and got a room for around $155. Turns out it was a good thing I booked so far in advance as they had two events going on the the night we were there.

We arrived around 3 and were asked to come back b/c our room was not available. There were no upgrades available either because the hotel was pretty full. We came back around 4:15 and they have us a room on the 14 floor. Later that night, the "Make a Wish Foundation" was having a benefit in the lobby and I literally walked passed Wayne Newton and said hello.

I had stayed here back in 2006 and fondly remembered how it was the most comfortable bed I had ever been in. My how things have changed. While my stay was still enjoyable, the comfort level was not "wow" like it was years ago. The bed was no where near as comfortable as it was years ago. I did like the electric blinds...although not when they decided to open by themselves at 7 AM :-). The shower was VERY nice, however.

The location of this hotel is great for cruisers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erby2283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear erby2283,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay and that you were able to experience our hotel during the 18th Annual InterContinental Miami Make-A-Wish Ball. We love our showers too! Thank you for noticing. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we hope that you will stay with us again and please let us know if you need any assistance in planning your future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
156 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked 2 nights through Priceline (one night pre-cruise and one post). We got great rates for both night, especially considering how nice the hotel is.

The pros - great rooms, huge bathrooms, nice views. We stayed on the 21st and 22nd floor and the second night, we had wonderful water views. Super awesome comfy beds with nice linens. The location was great, right across from the Metromover and just down from Bayside Marketplace. Hint - walk to Bayside through the Bayside Park. Its a lovely park with adirondack chairs on sand. It was wonderful at twilight and not scary (although I'd hesitate to walk through late at night).

The cons - The fees for EVERYTHING. Internet? Fee Parking? Fee Want to use the refrigerator? $25 to have them clear out the overpriced Coke. Coffee? It sort of says complimentary but then talks about a fee... soo we didn't touch it. Fitness center? Fee

I know that we got a great rate, but had we expected to be able to use the things that you can use at a lower-star (and priced) hotel, we would have been outraged by the final bill. I get that a lot of hotels in Miami might charge for certain things, but I don't understand the fee for internet (heck, even Starbucks offers it for free and you don't even have to buy anything).

We would stay here again if we got it in PL. It was pretty easy to catch the 120 bus to South Beach, so we spent a day walking around down there. We wouldn't however, book it outright because we just don't feel that the price is justified.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear jfultz81,

Thank you for reviewing the InterContinental Miami. We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as the magnificent views. Indeed, Bayfront Park is a fun way to spend an afternoon. Again, thank you for your comments. Please know that we use them to imrpove future guests' experiences. There is a parking fee, but it is comparable to other price points. At the moment, we do charge a fee for Internet and fitness center. Coffee in our guestrooms is always complimentary. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Not up to the standards expected of an Intercontinental. Took 3 staff to find someone who knew where the business center was. Turns out to be 2 slow computers in a lobby corner on the second floor, and printers were out of paper. Check-in person couldn't have been more bored, and without personality. In room wireless for $18 is a crime. Thank goodness we were only there for a night on a layover back from the Caribbean.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Road W,

Thank you for your comments. Our sincerest apologies that the inconveniences you experienced led to a less than perfect stay at our hotel. Please know that we take comments like yours seriously and that the issues have been addressed in the respective departments. Indeed, we are the ideal hotel for cruise travelers as we are situated on Biscayne Bay near the Port of Miami. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with that signature InterContinental experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Located right downtown across from Metro-Rail, this hotel is in a prime Miami location that is easy to get to and close to all attractions. Years ago I lived in Miami and this was a nice after-work happy hour location. Boy has the city changed since then. The lobby is gorgeous with an international flair. The valet staff and bellboys are courteous and funny. The rate can't be beat for a huge, comfy room with a fantastically large bathroom. The elevators are large and clean. The cleaning staff is unobtrusive and efficient. Our room, on the 20th floor, was just off the elevator lobby but we got none of the ambient noise associated with same, thank goodness. Front desk was very helpful. And valet parking, at $36 a day with in-and-out privileges, was actually a good price considering I never had to worry about parking and I never had to wait for the car the valet staff is that efficient. This is a busy hotel but everything ran so smoothly you never really felt cramped and the rooms are quiet!. I highly recommend this place and will stay here again whenever I'm in the area. The Beach is fun but loud, crowded and crazy - this is an oasis near the madness!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Helen2205,

Thank you for the fantastic review and the recommendation! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your entire experience with us. The InterContinental Miami truly is an oasis within paradise. Thank you for noticing! We love our big, comfy rooms too. We will make sure to let the entire staff know that they contributed to a memorable experience. We look forward to being your choice hotel when traveling to Miami and please let us know if we may be of any assistance in planning your future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#9 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing