We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for business as well as pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #9 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great for business as well as pleasure”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I've been going to the InterContinental Miami for seven years now. My company holds an annual conference there. We've been extremely happy with the staff and the facilities. It's rare that you find a hotel with meeting space that is spread out--so the rooms are not all adjoining. Those air walls that normally separate meeting rooms do not always provide enough sound buffer. At this hotel, there are lots of meeting rooms that do not share any walls with the next room nearby. So you don't have to worry about the sound.

The food is always very good, and the decor around the lobby and public spaces is very stylish.

The adjacent Bayside Park and Bayside Market Place gives an open, resort-like feel to the property, which you wouldn't find at the other downtown hotels.

The spa has recently been renovated, and it's gorgeous. The pool area is very nice too.

The regular guest rooms are spacious and well furnished. The parlor suites are just like the regular guest rooms on one side, but there is also a very large living room and dining table on the other side.

All in all, this is a great property. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,702
    1,550
    428
    179
    105
See reviews for
1,404
1,732
259
1,537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I was able to book this hotel through one of the booking sites where you do not know the hotel name until it is booked. This was the hotel I was wanting! We parked at the hotel on a 1 day visit last Thanksgiving and loved the proximity. We knew we were going to be using the Gray Line buses at the Bayfront Park and this was the perfect place to stay. We were in town for the first night of the NBA finals and it was neat to be right there at the arena where we could walk around and watch. The hotel room was large, the view was out of this world and the bathroon was magnificient! We did not eat at any of the hotel restuarants so I can't comment on that. The pool and grounds were beautiful even though we had no time for relaxation. The parking was expensive but we expected it and the valets were quick & friendly the few times we needed the car while we were there.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jw1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here for 11 days on a part business, part leisure trip with my wife. The hotel lobby is large, attractive and inviting. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. President Obama stayed here for one day while we were here, so it is upscale but not quite a Ritz or W hotel.

The room size was about average and no frills, but it was nice enough. The view of Biscayne Bay was outstanding. Room service food was okay but I wouldn't recommend it. The pool was a little plain, and we were shocked to learn there was no jacuzzi. Bummer. Also, the pool design was very poor. There is a bar and villa area that blocks the entire view of the ocean from the pool. I mean seriously what were they thinking there? Could have been spectacular but instead it is quite boring.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right in the middle of the Bayside area downtown Miami. It is a quick walk next door to the Bayside Marketplace where there are TONS of shops, bars, restaurants and live music. Walk a little further and you are at the American Airlines Arena where the Miami Heat play. If South Beach is your destination it is just across the bridge, about a 5 minute drive.

Beware if you have a car, like most places in Miami parking is expensive. This hotel is Valet only at 34 bucks per night. There is metered parking which is great for temporary parking but not feasible for an entire trip.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Kingsize rooms are nicer. Ask for a bayside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineStateGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I booked this hotel for a business trip and I am globally not satisfied with the service for the following reasons:

- It's more or less a rip-off: everything (and I MEAN it) is chargeable - Fitness? Pay! Wi-fi? Pay! Using the mini bar fridge to put your OWN stuff? Pay! Every single charge is of course "four" star... so beware!

- The personnel is not friendly: this hotel is just a machine that lives for seminars and big events... when you check out they are actually very happy so that they can quickly put another fool in your room.

- Inconsistency: As money is key here they heavily delegated part of the premises to third parties without controling anything ... so what do you get? Inconsistent message from the hotel employees and the employees of the third party contractor. Try for "fun" to understand the Fitness Club rate rules ;)

- Disgusting Food: Worst ever for me at least - at a very high price of course... cocktails: they are OK - average and pricey (but that's the bassis here so I am not complaining)

- Outdated: everything is old so when they provide you with a printer.... welll... it HAS NO USB Connection... of course right!

- the location sucks if you have no car - if you do please pay 34 USD per day thx.

Ok so what are the good stuffs?

- the VIEW - I got a huge "intercontinental club" room in from of the Bay. Fantasti view to say the least.

- the Wifi is fast - that's a real business hotel.

- Rooms are big.

If you get a good discount then go here - this hotel has no soul and is undergoing major refurbishment to remain on track with the competition so they might have some good offers.

Funny enough they provide Wedding package... and here I am very serious: if you want to get married here plz reconsider... ;)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Dear Doberri,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

I am glad to hear you did enjoy a large room with a great view, and our fast internet.
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the other aspects of your stay.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda Johnson
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Future guests:

Don't use wireless Internet services at the Hotel InterContinental unless you want to give hackers access to your banking accounts.

Within hours of using the hotel's secured, wi-fi network for online banking services via my laptop, bank representatives from two different banks with whom I have accounts called me to question unusual charges on my debit cards. One bank denied the charges while the other approved the transaction. Representatives from the latter bank tell me they will correct the error, however.

I reported the incident to hotel representatives, who will investigate the matter. I reported the incident to the Miami police department as well.

Needless to say, the experience was unsettling. It's likely I will not stay at an Intercontinental hotel or property in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwm698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_MIA, Director of Hotel Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear rwm698:

First and foremost, please know we are also troubled by your situation and are handling the matter very seriously as we do with all matters that affect the overall experience and perception of our guests. I have personally attempted to get in contact with you through the telephone number we have in our files and left you a message, in hopes we could get in contact as soon as possible since, I really wanted to have the opportunity to explain you all the steps we have taken to guarantee and demonstrate that we do have the ability to protect our valuable guests with a secure HSIA Gateway. We have been carefully researching the matter as well as tested our system, in order to make sure that it is indeed a secure gateway. In doing so, we have reached out and involved the top executives at our WI-FI provider, Superclick networks; we have asked them for their formal explanation and justification, in addition to a valid security certificate which was obtained and is available for you upon request. I am sorry that this situation occurred to you as you mentioned, but we have investigated and the police department is also assisting on that through the detailed information you provided in your report, I just want you to continue counting on us to assist you in anything that we can, so your case can successfully be resolved. Furthermore, we would love to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel and it would be my pleasure to personally assist you; I will assure you that your perception will change and you will agree that this case was just an unfortunate and isolated case out of our control. I look forward to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Arminio Rivero
Director of Hotel Operations
InterContinental Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Booked this hotel for a weekend n Miami. Service was very good and very attentive from the moment we pulled up. I'm an Intercontinental Ambassador and got an upgrade to a suite that was huge! Rooms are a little dated but the service is great, the beds are super comfotable, and the hotel is very clean and nice. It is a really large place but the service is nice and everyone there offered help to us. Loved the location by the water and the Bayside park. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioChowhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The Hotel was in a perfect location and friendly from the moment I arrived. It was a great place to stay while visiting Miami.

Room Tip: NE View is great. All rooms seemed quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNCOMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing