We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Financial Security Compromised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #8 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Financial Security Compromised”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Future guests:

Don't use wireless Internet services at the Hotel InterContinental unless you want to give hackers access to your banking accounts.

Within hours of using the hotel's secured, wi-fi network for online banking services via my laptop, bank representatives from two different banks with whom I have accounts called me to question unusual charges on my debit cards. One bank denied the charges while the other approved the transaction. Representatives from the latter bank tell me they will correct the error, however.

I reported the incident to hotel representatives, who will investigate the matter. I reported the incident to the Miami police department as well.

Needless to say, the experience was unsettling. It's likely I will not stay at an Intercontinental hotel or property in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwm698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_MIA, Director of Hotel Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear rwm698:

First and foremost, please know we are also troubled by your situation and are handling the matter very seriously as we do with all matters that affect the overall experience and perception of our guests. I have personally attempted to get in contact with you through the telephone number we have in our files and left you a message, in hopes we could get in contact as soon as possible since, I really wanted to have the opportunity to explain you all the steps we have taken to guarantee and demonstrate that we do have the ability to protect our valuable guests with a secure HSIA Gateway. We have been carefully researching the matter as well as tested our system, in order to make sure that it is indeed a secure gateway. In doing so, we have reached out and involved the top executives at our WI-FI provider, Superclick networks; we have asked them for their formal explanation and justification, in addition to a valid security certificate which was obtained and is available for you upon request. I am sorry that this situation occurred to you as you mentioned, but we have investigated and the police department is also assisting on that through the detailed information you provided in your report, I just want you to continue counting on us to assist you in anything that we can, so your case can successfully be resolved. Furthermore, we would love to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel and it would be my pleasure to personally assist you; I will assure you that your perception will change and you will agree that this case was just an unfortunate and isolated case out of our control. I look forward to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Arminio Rivero
Director of Hotel Operations
InterContinental Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,791
    1,578
    436
    181
    108
See reviews for
1,442
1,763
262
1,578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Booked this hotel for a weekend n Miami. Service was very good and very attentive from the moment we pulled up. I'm an Intercontinental Ambassador and got an upgrade to a suite that was huge! Rooms are a little dated but the service is great, the beds are super comfotable, and the hotel is very clean and nice. It is a really large place but the service is nice and everyone there offered help to us. Loved the location by the water and the Bayside park. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioChowhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The Hotel was in a perfect location and friendly from the moment I arrived. It was a great place to stay while visiting Miami.

Room Tip: NE View is great. All rooms seemed quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNCOMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel while hosting some veterans. The hotel proudly flew the Marine Corps Flag upon arrival and kindly met us all outside. From the time we stepped foot on the grounds we felt like family. the rooms were perfect, the views of the bay were as well. The service was excellent. Would highly recommend to anyone, especially my brothers and sisters in uniform

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrantRocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We were thrilled by our stay at this hotel from 5/19-5/23/11 with my daughter.
Everything about this hotel is first class; the rooms, the staff and the restaurants.
We had an incredible suite with beautiful view of Downtown Miami. We dined at every restaurant on the property and were never disappointed.

Our room was always beautifully cleaned and restocked.
The staff at club lounge, Recepcion, Restaurants, Bellman, Doorman were fabulous.

The waiters at the restaurants, bar, the staff at the gym and the spa were all attentive and polite, trying very hard to get you exactly what you want.

InterContinental Miami is a beautiful hotel with excellent staff and is an experience I would repeat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vespinoza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the InterContinental Miami, the staff of the hotel was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a great location with many restaurants and shopping located within walking distance from the hotel, this was important as we didn't rent a car and this kept cab rides to a minimum. Although we ate out most of the time we did eat at the hotel twice and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I visited the hotel on occasion of a business lunch and the food was amazing! the service provided was great. The staff is very graceful and helpful and set up the room really nice for our group. I really recommend this hotel; my colleagues were very much satisfied with the services provided an the food is so fresh and excellent! I cannot describe....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie4444_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#13 of 122 in Miami
3,234 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing