We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe this is a Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Miami
Ranked #48 of 122 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Can't believe this is a Hyatt”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I think the only folks who would give this a top rating don't travel often or haven't stayed at many Hyatt's.

We travel quite a bit and have about 6 - 8 hotel stays a year. We usually love Hyatt and the rooms are usually great.

I'm surprised that Hyatt has their name on this facility. The rooms are deplorable. The carpet is filthy, the lighting dismal and the beds uncomfortable. Add to that there is no refrigerator a very small, dark and basic bathroom dirty windows and it feels more like an outdated low price hotel.

When we booked the room, they told us it would be two queen beds but it's two fulls. That means my husband and I have to sleep in separate beds and I am sleeping with our 3 year old, who kicks me throughout the night, leaving me tired and sleepless. We requested another bed in the room, but they said since there are two beds, the fire code restricts them from adding one. The hotel is too full for us to change rooms.

I was a bit frustrated that they insisted these are queen size beds, as though I am some sort of bed novice or not that smart.

When we checked in, we tipped the bellman thinking he was bringing our bags up only to find they sent another bellman up (expecting another tip). We requested a refrigerator due to the fact that my daughter can't have dairy and we have to bring Almond milk with us.

They delivered the refrigerator which is haphazardly placed under our bathroom sink, taking up one of the only 2 outlets there. The guy who delivered the refrigerator literally stood in our foyer waiting for yet another tip.

The breakfast buffet is a shocking $24.99 a person and doesn't even have an omelet chef. The food was mediocre - more like a $10.00 buffet than a $24.99 one. We don't mind paying if it is premium and includes an omelet chef. It was also freezing in the dining room.

The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. However, it felt more like a Holiday Inn than a Hyatt. At over $250++ a night, it certainly isn't a moderate or higher end hotel.

On the bright side, the staff in the restaurant were excellent and welcoming. We appreciated how they treated us and our daughter.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harleyfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    1,146
    775
    364
    162
See reviews for
619
762
177
1,246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were actually booked into this property twice earlier this month. First for two nights prior to our cruise and then another night after the cruise. On the plus side the hotel is well located close to the port of Miami, the public areas - foyer, restaurant, bar etc are worthy of the Hyatt name and finally, the staff are extremely helpful, friendly and obliging. Unfortunately the rooms are diabolical. Extremely tired and dated. Dirty stained carpets, grimy dirty windows and mud colored paint work which doesn't help the overall ambience. I was literally horrified when I walked into the room. I would not recommend this property which for $350US per night pre paid should have been much better. Definitely not worthy of the Hyatt name. I expected much better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami hotels

Padua, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel is in a central position downtown Miami . All personell very polite and efficient, and, above any rate, the restaurant employees have been very helpful in accommodating our requests which were out of the menu.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Alessandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I pricelined the hotel and my rate was $100.00 (the average rate is $270), It was a short taxi ride from the airport ($24.00) and another short ride to the port ($24.00) From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we were given the royal treatment! The Valet, Bellman, and Check-in Clerk were happy and welcoming. When the Bellman delivered our suitcases, he gave us several recommendations for dinner and shopping. We ate at the hotel restaurant and were very pleasantly surprised by the great selection and wonderful meals. The Waiter (Carlos) introduced us to Mojitos and Chimichurri Steak. Both were fantastic. He brought us a couple of extra sides so that we could taste all of the Cuban dishes. The Plantains were great! When we received the check, we were very surprised to see that the Mojitos were comp'd. Our room was modern and extremely clean. The beds were not too hard and not too soft. And did I say clean??!! When it was time to leave for the port in the morning, our Bellman was prompt and the Valet had arranged for a Taxi to pick us up. From the beginning to the end, we could not have asked for more! We will definitely stay here again when cruising from Miami port.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DENISE1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

It was very mediocre. The rooms look dated, the balcony was locked and ive never paid that much for a room where breakfast was not complimentary. Stay at the airport Hilton. Atleast the room was Worth what I paid.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

To set the stage fairly, there was a large conference (I am told 1400 people - families with children of all ages) when we stayed there. The infratructure (elevators, lounging areas, wi-fi, and staff) were stretched quite thin.

This hotel is in a great location and within walking distance or a short taxi ride to numerous restaurants. You can easily walk to the Bayfront, and the hotel is a couple of streets away from the traffic of Bayshore Boulevard. There is also a people-mover stop close to the hotel and it is right off a major highway. However, this is an older hotel in severe need of some freshening up.

On check-in we were told that the only room available for our family of four was one which had a wall bed, pull-out couch and a roll-in bed. The check-in desk was generous enough to offer us free breakfast (nothing spectacular) and internet (fair at best). The room turned out to be roomy and comfortable, but housekeeping was extremely slow and late. Inspite of the heavy rush the staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karunkrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a good hotel, in a great location, the staff is very good and helpful. We've stayed before, but this time we had so many inconveniences with the valet parking people, that we moved to another hotel. The wait for our car was ALWAYS a half hour, one night the lady in charge of the booth threw the keys on the counter, when my husband complained of the wait, and on top of that, you pay $35.00 plus tips, for that kind of service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#23 of 122 in Miami
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#14 of 122 in Miami
3,263 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 122 in Miami
2,630 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#39 of 122 in Miami
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Property: Hyatt Regency Miami
Address: 400 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Miami
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing