We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Miami
Ranked #51 of 122 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights with my family because last christmas i spent a week at Hyatt regency Anaheim, and i have enjoyed this stay.
Trusting the Hyatt brand, i booked 3 nights at Miami but it didn't worth it.
The hotel is old and the rooms need to be renovated. The carpet inside the room is dirty. The bathroom is small.
And worst of all. There was an Islamic conference taking place at Hyatt, and the hotel was crowded. I had to wait sometimes for 15 minutes for the elevator, standing in a line, even with 5 elevators. The conference participants were all over the hotel and i have seen 6 people sharing the same room. There was too much noise and sometimes i had to open my room door and ask if there was something going on.
The breakfast is simple but above average. Staff is ok.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorfernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    1,138
    766
    360
    162
See reviews for
609
753
175
1,232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency before and after a cruise departing from Miami. This was once a premier property. Today it is showing some wear around the edges. The pool (outside) was in the shade of taller buildings surrounding the hotel and cutting off the sunlight. The water temp was cool even though the hotel bills the pool as "heated". The rooms are clean but the windows are dirty and sealed shut. Ask for a room higher up in the hotel if you want a view. Our first room was on the 9th floor and the view was of the back of the convention center wall. Our second room was on the 22nd floor and we had a good view of downtown. The vending machine on our floor was empty on our second night so I could not get a diet coke. Overall, for what we paid the hotel is over priced. There are newer choices in the area for the price like the Intercontinental or even the Marriott next door. The onsite restaurant is expensive but good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank straitsdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro
Level Contributor
181 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

There are a few negatives for this hotel. It needs to be renovated, a little outdated and the pool is practically sitting on the road and a drawbridge is right there. So noisy to sit outside with planes going overhead and traffic, but you cannot dispute that the service in this hotel. This place is top of the line. Every person we encountered from the valet, the waiter in the river walk to the front desk and security was outstanding. Service is at the top of their priority list and they all measured up. The gym could be much bigger and there could be better ventilation in the bathrooms but the people make this place. They should be very proud. It is also very clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REDCAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night before our cruise. Staff were friendly and restaurant was excellent, however the room was only suitable for single travellers and not a couple. Limited room, only one recliner type chair and bathroom was so small the sink was outside the bathroom with light right over the bed. Hard for one person to shave and not disturb the other!
When we requested ear plugs as our room faced a busy street, the desk clerk pulled out four loose ear plugs from the drawer. They were not in any packaging of any sort and therefore they was absolutely no way they could be sanitary. Would probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not choose any room facing the river as the noise from traffic is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is the second stay, always friendly, good atmosphere! Friendly staff welcoming. Good restaurants around. It is worth staying. Good value for money. Why don't you try one night? It would be good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHOWBUKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
379 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed one night before a cruise. Front desk staff was friendly, but we had to wait for our room. Clerk said check-in was at 4:00, although our reservation said 3:00. We waited in the lounge. We had a junior suite with a nice view. Spacious and clean, although an update might be in order. Concierge service was excellent. Location was within walking distance to many nice restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cb628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were with a group of family prior to going on a cruise and everyone else stayed at the Intercontinental and we stayed at the Hyatt because we got a deal through hotwire for much less. The staff were extremely friendly and the the hotel was very nice. It was within walking distance to many different areas and we felt safe walking around the city. The room was very large for my husband and I and our 4 year and 12 year old. I loved that our room had a very large closet in it which allowed us to store all of our luggage. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We figured out how to use the metromover which was free transportation to take us to the Intercontinental and Bayside Market. It was less than 10.00 for us to take a cab the day of our cruise to the cruise terminal for a Carnival Cruise. I would recommend this hotel. We did not try any of bars or restaurants within the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kswagner2636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#20 of 122 in Miami
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 122 in Miami
2,600 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#14 of 122 in Miami
3,232 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Property: Hyatt Regency Miami
Address: 400 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Miami
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing