We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel in the heart of Miami” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Miami
Ranked #44 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the heart of Miami”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Used Hotwire and got a great deal on the night before our cruise.

PROS: Location right in downtown Miami, with great views of the city (from my room). We were ~10 minutes from South Beach, the 95 exit and the Cruise terminal. The rooms were clean and the architecture inside were a little more reminiscent of a boutique property than a Hyatt. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. We checked out and they let us sit in the bar area and eat the food we had bought there in a patio overlooking the Miami river.

CONS: Parking situation is really messed up. You could pay a fortune for valet, and on Saturday night the front was a madhouse the massive driveway was filled with cars coming or going. A lot of people waiting. You can also walk to a garage and self park. This is maybe 80 feet away, but the garage is very, very confusing plenty of walking up ramps and in the street (no sidewalks). Really bad. Still I was (dangerously) in my car and away before the valet people.

That would be all of my Cons, except Checkout was 11, our cruise boarded at 1, they let us buy lunch and sit there and held our checked bags. Staff were all lovely with tis, including the Waitstaff. Except the valet who, on the way out took our ticket for our parked badges , saw another family checking in, left us standing there, handed our tickets to a girl on the phone and raced to help the other family. Really made me mad.

Overall - I recommend it depending on the price you get. Know parking is an "issue".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 119Kevin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    940
    653
    304
    126
See reviews for
490
628
143
931
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband's company put us up at this hotel as part of a relocation --- we were moving from Miami to another city and they wanted us to be comfortable since we have two small children and all of our stuff was boxed up. The bottom line: the hotel is best suited for accommodating business travelers and conventions/meetings. It's not the place to go for leisure, especially not for a family vacation.

While the hotel itself was just okay, the staff was exceptional, especially the valet and bellhops. Housekeeping was also very good --- we requested a crib/pack 'n play for our son. When they brought it up, they placed inside linens for him to use as well as his own bath amenities, which included Johnson & Johnson baby shampoo, wash and powder. this was a nice, unexpected touch.

Here are some specific details from our visit:

The room we stayed in was large; however, the appointments in the room weren't glamorous. The bathroom area was in need of a drastic update (looked like an airport hotel bathroom) and the carpet seemed filthy. Moreover, each time you entered the room it smelled of smoke. While smoking was not permitted, someone clearly broke the rules and lit up either inside the room or outside on the balcony (the balcony overlooked concrete --- highways and buildings). We tried to eliminate the smell with Febreze and while it temporarily masked the odor, we couldn't eradicate it fully.

The location pf the hotel is pretty central in downtown Miami, but it isn't the easiest to get to since it is located on a one-way road that literally connects with the Brickell Bridge --- a drawbridge that creates major congestion when raised.

The food at the hotel was mediocre. We ordered macaroni and cheese for my son and it was served with spaghetti noodles --- a little misleading and a bit of a challenge since my son prefers the real deal macaroni elbow noodles. We also ordered a quesadilla and flatbread and it was just okay --- definitely not worth the inflated price we paid for our meal.

Last, our neighbors in the adjoining room were pretty low-rent. Around noon, my son fussed getting to sleep and cried for a few minutes. We did our best to soothe him, but my neighbors weren't very understanding. They proceeded to scream at us from across the wall and bang on our door. Luckily, we were checking out that day, otherwise I would have requested a room change since I didn't feel very safe. This speaks to the caliber of hotel guests this property attracts --- not very refined.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawkito20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Hyatt Regency Miami is a nice choice in the heart of Miami. It is located in downtown Miami.

The good:
- the rooms are nice and clean
- front desk is nice
- valet is prompt
- plentiful food choices at reasonable prices
- Enterprise car rental on-site
- great location

The not so good
- valet $31 (typical for area)
- a good distance from beaches
- mediocre fitness room
- always seems crowded
- even though there are many elevators, they seem slow.

A decent choice for downtown Miami

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I took a cruise from Miami to the Bahamas and needed a place to stay for a couple days leading up to the departure from port. I chose the Hyatt Regency Miami via a deal on priceline.com and LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. Now let me start by saying the price that I received was AMAZING! You can't beat $77/night, it was the fact that I checked out the hotel online and was extremely pleased by the pictures. I arrived to the hotel and was pleasantly greeted by the doorman, shared a joke or two with the front desk, saw the bar area and schemed a plot for the evening, then I head to my room. Talk about let down, my view was the back of a building, my room was tight, I didn't have a clean iron (rust stains on the bottom) and the biggest pet peeve: the shower was awkward to operate. I guess in the end I got what I paid for, but one thing I commend them for was the bed, it was MAGICAL! Not the greatest stay I've ever had but in the end it got the job done, it was inexpensive, located in a great area, and I still got to see the sites in Miami.

Room Tip: Make sure you're high up, that's what everyone told me upon checking out. Wish I'd known...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DexJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

First impression is what makes a good start, front desk staff Emily apologized for a short time to check in. Greeted us with a smile and warmth welcome. Valet drivers never let us waited too long whenever we needed their service! Rooms are clean, spacious, and accessible to restaurants and nearby attractions. We will definitely come back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zee34521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Greetings to you!

I will start by stating two positive observations: 1. The staff here are warm and caring and I genuinely appreciated that and 2. The location of the hotel is rather good if you need quick access to downtown businesses (corporate travelers) and the airport.

That said, there are plenty of superb hotels in downtown Miami that are dramatically better options than the Hyatt Regency. This hotel would have been current and relatively "hip" in 1993 - maybe. It is terribly out of date on so many levels that it stands in stark contrast to some of the newer hotels that are right outside the door. From popcorn ceilings to awful artwork, to overly designed carpets to the wrong choice of cleaning-agent aroma in the lobby areas....I could go on and on. Elevators often did not work, walls in the room were scuffed. All access to balconies were shut down (at least in my room the sliding door was sealed shut).

If the Hyatt had funds and just today (8/7/2013) I read in USA Today that they "surprised Wall Street" with good Q2 income, they should shut this hotel down for a year and completely re-do it. It would be money well spent.

Stay at the Epic, a Kimpton property right across the street. You'll be dramatically happier and more comfortable. My company must have a corporate rate with Hyatt and my room cost $109.00 per night, without tax. Not a bad $ amount and one has to be respectful of spending corporate resources. But, I will tell all my friends and colleagues who visit Miami never to stay at this hotel, unless not-so-sexy "retro" trips to 1993 are their thing. I will also suggest to our booking professional at the company to avoid booking people here.

Not a very good experience, overall. If "poor" is too harsh a rating, I might begrudgingly rate it "average", at the very best.

Bottom line: You have much, much, much better choices. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: IF you MUST stay here (and I advise against it) choose a higher floor, away from vending machines, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZestfulLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have stayed at quite a number of Hyatt Hotels over the years but this one unfortunately did not meet our expectation. Paper thin walls, uncomfortable beds and smelly. This hotel needs updating desparately. Location was good and room was clean but thats it.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room near ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicoleL353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
No photo provided
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#53 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,187 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#45 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,993 reviews
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Property: Hyatt Regency Miami
Address: 400 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing