We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment for a Hyatt!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Miami
Ranked #50 of 122 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A disappointment for a Hyatt!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The last reviewer wrote "immaculately clean" or similar.... I can't believe we're talking about the same hotel...
This place definitely needs a makeover/update. Furniture is ok, a bit worn in places, carpet seems dirty and not well vacuumed, the whole room could use a dusting, old fashioned and not very practical arrangement in the room, making everything a bit snug. Room Has a balcony but patio door is sealed shut. A/c smells a bit funky. Another guest checking in at the same time asked how many stars the hotel has, and when told "5 stars", walked away, and murmured "i can't believe this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel!"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank cbcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    1,118
    756
    357
    161
See reviews for
599
743
169
1,208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel was immaculately clean. The price was surprisingly very affordable. We had a great view, 22nd floor. Great service at the front desk as well as the servers, overall, very impressed. Very easy to find and central to the area. Will return on our next trip to Miami.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brananward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

big, clean , comfortable room , Excellent, helpful staf, great location, not far from bayside and dawntown
rates are fairly for this hotel
only thing that is very noisy , i think because it was the American independance day and also , final basket match between Miami and indiana

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank experiences9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is definitely showing its age versus the competition in the neighborhood. everything seems fairly worn out and its generally unstylish. but of course if you are looking to get the best deal possible the rates are fairly reasonable for a downtown hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

After your walk from the almost miniature parking garage, the first thing you will notice abput the hotel is the dated and empty convention center that is joined with the hotel at the lobby. The rest of the lobby has been upgraded somewhat and the hotel bar is decent.The floors above and rooms are dated and showing their age.That said, the location is great. The rooms are big. And the price was very right ($63/nt on priceline). I wouldnt use this hotel for personal vacation, but for my work trip by myself it did the job and id use it again

Helpful?
1 Thank GoHatters
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is very dated and in need of better maintenance. The lobby is nice and welcoming as are the staff. Location is great, only 6 blocks to Bayside and a beautiful stroll along the bay. People mover is also convenient to us with tired feet. We liked watching the draw bridge go up and down for the boat traffic on the Miami River. Now the problems, as soon as we got off the elevator we were hit with a horrible order of mildew and old cigarette smoke. The halls and rooms were even worse. The carpet was loose and very matted from use. The furniture was dated and scratched. The small sofa table they use as a desk did not even hold our laptop and paperwork along with the coffee pot and coffee & tea caddy. What appeared to be a balcony was actually two glass doors turned into large windows and sealed shut...no fresh air at all. The bed was very comfortable and fresh new linens were used. We checked for bed bugs and there we not any, a good thing. The bathroom was again very dated with a small water closet and tub. The tub had mold all along the caulking and wall tiles. Lighting in the bath area was very dim. If we were paying for this room we would be looking for another hotel. As it is the company paid as we were attending the Trade Show. My husband was not happy with the business center. They advertise that they have Fed EX available but they did not. The business center is outsourced so the Hyatt would not claim any responsibility for their services. This could be a great hotel with its location and friendly staff. Remodel the rooms and tear out the old smelly walls, carpet, and bathrooms. Put in new modern furniture and we will be back.

Room Tip: For a good room book another hotel for now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

we attended a conference at this hotel. we stayed at a Miami Suite. the room was apparently renovated, but it did not feel like it. the bed was comfortable and there was a flat screen tv. apart from that the bathroom is very strange as it is part of the room with the toilet and the shower apart. all in all did the room feel very dark and not very clean. we arrived on a saturday and there was no laundry service until Monday.
the common areas of the hotel are very basic and the conference suffered due to the fact that everythign in this hotel is dark and basic. besides a loud sports bar there is no Bar to entertain. the restaurant feels like a Mexican joint with plastic like chairs.
the pool is a joke, small and with non comfortable lounge chairs. due to the location there is no sun in the afternoon.
this is one of the most basic hotels in Miami. if you dont have to stay there go someweher else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumbaiDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#16 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#55 of 122 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#12 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Property: Hyatt Regency Miami
Address: 400 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Miami
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing