We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Needs a makeover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Miami to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #43 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is definitely showing its age versus the competition in the neighborhood. everything seems fairly worn out and its generally unstylish. but of course if you are looking to get the best deal possible the rates are fairly reasonable for a downtown hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RTgenX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    908
    641
    301
    125
See reviews for
470
618
139
912
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After your walk from the almost miniature parking garage, the first thing you will notice abput the hotel is the dated and empty convention center that is joined with the hotel at the lobby. The rest of the lobby has been upgraded somewhat and the hotel bar is decent.The floors above and rooms are dated and showing their age.That said, the location is great. The rooms are big. And the price was very right ($63/nt on priceline). I wouldnt use this hotel for personal vacation, but for my work trip by myself it did the job and id use it again

Helpful?
1 Thank GoHatters
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is very dated and in need of better maintenance. The lobby is nice and welcoming as are the staff. Location is great, only 6 blocks to Bayside and a beautiful stroll along the bay. People mover is also convenient to us with tired feet. We liked watching the draw bridge go up and down for the boat traffic on the Miami River. Now the problems, as soon as we got off the elevator we were hit with a horrible order of mildew and old cigarette smoke. The halls and rooms were even worse. The carpet was loose and very matted from use. The furniture was dated and scratched. The small sofa table they use as a desk did not even hold our laptop and paperwork along with the coffee pot and coffee & tea caddy. What appeared to be a balcony was actually two glass doors turned into large windows and sealed shut...no fresh air at all. The bed was very comfortable and fresh new linens were used. We checked for bed bugs and there we not any, a good thing. The bathroom was again very dated with a small water closet and tub. The tub had mold all along the caulking and wall tiles. Lighting in the bath area was very dim. If we were paying for this room we would be looking for another hotel. As it is the company paid as we were attending the Trade Show. My husband was not happy with the business center. They advertise that they have Fed EX available but they did not. The business center is outsourced so the Hyatt would not claim any responsibility for their services. This could be a great hotel with its location and friendly staff. Remodel the rooms and tear out the old smelly walls, carpet, and bathrooms. Put in new modern furniture and we will be back.

Room Tip: For a good room book another hotel for now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

we attended a conference at this hotel. we stayed at a Miami Suite. the room was apparently renovated, but it did not feel like it. the bed was comfortable and there was a flat screen tv. apart from that the bathroom is very strange as it is part of the room with the toilet and the shower apart. all in all did the room feel very dark and not very clean. we arrived on a saturday and there was no laundry service until Monday.
the common areas of the hotel are very basic and the conference suffered due to the fact that everythign in this hotel is dark and basic. besides a loud sports bar there is no Bar to entertain. the restaurant feels like a Mexican joint with plastic like chairs.
the pool is a joke, small and with non comfortable lounge chairs. due to the location there is no sun in the afternoon.
this is one of the most basic hotels in Miami. if you dont have to stay there go someweher else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumbaiDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit worried from some of the reviews online regarding this hotel. The hotel was excellent. Service was great, I called them before I arrived to remove feathers from my room and they did (most hotels don't do that except when I arrive). Rooms were clean and spacious (a bit dated). The breakfast buffet was excellent on
terms of both food and service.

Notes:
You can walk to the people mover without even going outdoors which is nice.
There is a parking structure exactly next to the hotel so no need to do the valet parking

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hyatt Regency is a great property in downtown Miami. Site easily holds a small self contained conference. We were around 600, had the place to ourselves and all events were close to each other. Nice lobby for gathering areas and an outside patio on the river, careful the doors lock after 9 and it can be hard to get back in.
Walking distance from the Riverwalk
Walking distance from the AA arena, some members went to the Heat game.
Walking distance to several good restaurants
Parking is limited with valet at the hotel at $35 although there is a public garage just across the street for $19/day and less on the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is extremely dated and the bathrooms are tiny. The one bright point is the staff is fantastic and try to make the best of a sub standard property. The hotel is also located in a very noisy area - there is a lift bridge that reverberates through he hotel when it opens there is also a new building under construction across the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#45 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Property: Hyatt Regency Miami
Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing