We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Miami
Ranked #47 of 124 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Hyatt has typically not been at the top of my list, but this stay certainly changed that perception. It's without a doubt a great location in Miami, and perhaps that skews the judgement a bit. But without a doubt the service here is really, really good.
Great reception at check in which was swift and efficient; impeccable wait staff at the restaurants; (ask for Amy at Pure Verde); and a good catering service that doesn't quit until you're 100% satisfied.
Clean rooms with good Wifi signal that doesn't crash so you can get the work done fast and get to the party.
A comfortable bed to sleep well on; a bit firm for me, but to each their own, right?
No downside, but a high scale restaurant would have put this wonderful spot over the top.
A great place for a conference, and no doubt a good base location if vacationing in the vacinity. I definitely recommend the Hyatt Regency Miami!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelinSteve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,409)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Miami
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,819 - 1,825 of 3,409 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nothing more than a big average conference hotel,everything about this hotel is average or below ,rooms are comfortable but the layout is just weird ,pool is small next to a swing bridge and busy road and get limited sun , gym is tiny and so limited why bother ,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good location downtown.

Check-in process easy; no problems. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room was clean, however there were stains on the bedding and the carpet. Carpets need to be steam cleaned or redone. The decor was a bit dated, the hotel could do with a face lift.

I personally did not like the balcony doors not being able to be opened. It would have been nice to have access to the balcony.

My major peeve is that you had to pay for wifi for every gadget you had. With computer and iPad the cost does add up per day.

Valet service was quite efficient. Less than 5 minutes wait for a taxi.

Room service was good. How ever I found the room service menu a bit limited.

Dinning at the restaurant was good, service was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashele_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The positives:
Staff was friendly and helpful.
Room was clean, although not immaculate.
Premises were clean, overall.
Location is very central.

My complaints:
The carpeting is damp.
The balcony has fixed glass doors that cannot be opened, therefore you don't have access to the balcony - such a shame.
The bathrooms and vanity were not as clean as I expected from a Hyatt property.
The menu for room service was very limited in variety.
The food from room service was very salty.

I would try other hotels in the area before staying at this hotel again. If no better options were available, then I would be ok with staying here again. I didn't hate it, but I didn't love it either.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Location.
Located in downtown just at the beginning of the bridge for Brickell Avenue.
You can easily walk to downtown area and shop very easily although there is not much there and is very quiet at night.
From Airport it is about 20 minute drive- if you are driving yourself, Sat navs get quite confused of the location but you will eventually find it.
For parking - valet is $31 for 24 hours- it somewhat takes time for the staff to get your car though 10-15 minutes- so ring down in advance rather than turn up in a hurry.
For South beach, taxis are $20 and to drive about 15-20 minutes. It's quite easy across the bridge.
For conferences and exhibition centre- perfect as in building. If you are planning on going to south beach everyday and sleeping quietly at night then this is ok location but taxis will add up.
Room
Room was a suite type on the 14th floor- it had hugh king size bed- very comfortable, a living room with some comfortable couches and chairs and a working desk. There is a bathroom with shower/bath combi with generally good amenities individual shampoo, mouth wash and tooth paste as well as body wash and moisturiser by some famous US dermatologist. The room is fairly spacious and has two balconies but are useless because the hotel has removed the door handles so one cannot go out- however nice view of the city from the windows. There is also a large flat screen TV and movable so one can watch in bed or in the living room as it moves round- its offer cable channels and worked well. AC also worked very well and is digital. Overall the decor feels quite conservative and dated but comfortable- its no sexy boutique white walls and artistic furniture that you'll find in south beach but still is comfortable and in good condition. The room was very clean as well and spacious for single traveller or couple.
Facilities
Car Valet- if you hire a car it is $31 a night for 24 hours- take it as much out as you want or you can park across the road which is $10 less but once you take it out you will have to pay again- i couldn't be bothered with the hassle so used valet service.
WIFI - is chargable and costs around $9.99 for 24 hours but works fast.
There is a swimming pool- quite small and bland, a gym but didnt see those facilities. In the lobby there is a bar and restaurant - quite bland and dull for miami- general nothing special hotel standard. Menu very american foods only but all areas are clean and acceptable for Hyatt standards- it just feels dated and not a cool place to stay.
Room service is 24 hours and food is generally quite nice. It comes quite quickly.
Staff
Staffs were actually very nice for Miami, usually service (in MIA) is the worst in America but checkin/out was quick at reception. Staff are welcoming. The Car valet staff take their time (like to flirt with girls rather than hurry and get your car)- some of them have attitude. Bar staff were ok but limited dialogue when sat at the bar. Room service and housekeeping though were helpful and nice.
Overall hotel is a business hotel only that is great for one that needs to be close to downtown Miami. The decor and atmosphere is quite boring and one could be in a dull mid western city when inside. There is nothing very special about the hotel but it was comfortable, clean and staff were in general really nice and helpful
Generally its a good place for saving money as alot cheaper than a ropey south beach hotel but bear in mind taxis are $20 each way + tip. For downtown only its perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for a corporate meeting. Overall the hotel is clean and well maintained, however you could see some age in the room bathrooms and meeting spaces. The aging was mostly in the furniture and fixtures, however the shower in my room did have black mold growing in the grout lines. The staff was very friendly and available to help at the Front Desk, but that was not the case in the resturant and lounge. I felt like it took a very long time to get waited on and have requests during my dining experinces fullfilled. The location was decent and within walking distance to many additional resturants. I guess you could say that I was satisifed but not WOW'ed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hapytrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The front desk staff were great, but the rooms are nasty, old and the worst is the carpet sticks to your feet and have stains all over not what i expected at the Hyatt, rooms smelt like smoke, gross. They need to gut out the rooms and start over.I asked the housekeeper for more towels because i did not want service and she gave me towels from another room which had dirt stuck on them and was taken the dirt of as she gave me them i told her i want clean towels off her cart nasty, nasty. They did try by moving me but still it was no better and i tried to move to another hotel but could not get one close because everyone was sold out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWDICKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#30 of 124 in Miami
269 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#19 of 124 in Miami
3,307 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#35 of 124 in Miami
3,714 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 124 in Miami
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Address: 400 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Miami
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $123 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing