We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Property With Friendly People” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Miami
Ranked #49 of 121 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Nice Property With Friendly People”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm in the hotel business and recently had the opportunity of visiting the Hyatt Regency during a convention that was being held at the property. The facilities were nice but the associates were great. Very friendly, everyone greeted you throughout the hotel no matter what time of day and they always had a smile on their faces.

The rooms were well equipped and had everything I needed. My only issue with the room is that they have closed off all of the balcony doors. My room had two balconies and both doors were sealed off keeping you from getting out onto the balconies.

I had lunch in their lobby bar and their Cuban sandwich was fantastic and was made the way a Cuban should be made.

Overall it was a good experience and I would stay there again if on business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    1,089
    738
    350
    154
See reviews for
582
729
168
1,162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A large, generic American hotel. We had a "Miami Suite"-catagory room (No 638) which had a nice view onto Brickell Bridge and the Miami River but, alas, was fairly noisy because of the traffic crossing the metal grid on the bridge and music from passing party-boats. The room is triangular in shape but large and comfortable. The furniture and general interior are kept in beige and brown tones and look quite tired but everything is reasonably clean and functional. Bed and mattress good. Room service reliable. Certain cosmetic items (toothpaste, vanity kit etc.) are complimentary but have to be requested. Bath ok but also has a used look and feel.
Flat-screen LG Television, choice of channels not impressive. Furniture: desk and chair, couch, armchair and coffee-table, chest of drawers, large closet in wall, king-size bed, five pillows: nice.

Convention facilities are vast and functional. Bring your jacket, like in so many other places around here everything is air-conditioned down to around freezing point.

Breakfast service is very friendly, everybody speaks English and Spanish. The breakfast buffet carries a good variety of warm and cold food, including smoked salmon, fresh fruit and a daily special of egg benedict. Marmalade, jams and honey are imported from Switzerland (the miniature "Hero" glass jars). I am Swiss and I like our products but surely it does not make sense to ship these heavily packaged goods across the Atlantic when there MUST be some good Floridian orange marmalade?

The gym is fairly small but during our stay there was never any congestion. ATM machine, pool, terrace, sports bar, souvenir shop, health spa all in the main building. There is a business centre too, but internet use is USD 10 for 15 minutes even for hotel guests which is, frankly, ridiculous. Wireless LAN in your room also expensive (1 hour USD 3.95, 1 day USD 10). WiFi should be free in EVERY hotel, but particularly in a business venue like the Mimai Hyatt.

Guests: Many of business people but also lots of VERY casual holiday makers.

Bus stop for buses to Miami Beach nearby on 2nd St., have two dollars in exact change ready. Posh downtown restaurants (Zuma, Capital Grille, Truluck's) within walking distance. A nice restaurant and bar area on 10th St. is just a five-block, or 10 minute walk down Brickell Ave. across the bridge. Miami-Dade cultural centre also just a ten minute walk, watch out, though, the Art Museum will move to its new location at the end of 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms higher than the 10th floor are probably quieter than the ones lower down who are closer to bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is in dire need of room renovation. No amount of cleaning will bring this hotel up to the level of its competitors. The carpet is old, the walls are dirty, the decor screams 1980! I think my mom had the same artwork in our house back in 1985. You would think that the amount of reviewers that call attention to this fact would have turned on some alarm bells to the hotel that it's time for some capital investment in their product. The staff was fantastic and I give them a ton of credit for having a less than stellar product to sell.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Surprised that Hyatt was not more upscale. The room was a semi-suite type with a funky design. For example, partial petitions were everywhere with no flow to the space. Few outlets were available. The bathtub had hair in the tub. The amenities were shockingly poor for what I thought was an upscale chain. Employee service was good and staff was friendly, but I will not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The service was great, but the carpet in my room was dirty and worn. Even the walls were dirty in my room. Beds were comfortable and clean. Room service was timely - but the food was not very good. I was here for a conference, but am a passport member that often stays with Hyatt on vacation but this is the third one I have ran into in a year that needs renovation. Heck I would be happy with them just painting the walls and cleaning the carpet!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halterp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The five day conference stay in this hotle has been a largely disappointing experiece: rooms urgentily require modernization and upgrading, notaby bathrooms and floors, interior look all but inspiring. Breakfast was not a great thing either, too much of unhealthy items as used to be common 10 or 20 years back but nowadays? The best part of our stay was the 'nameless' staff members who work for USD 10 an hour and were always very helpful, hence for the Hyatt group this 612 bedroom hotel must be a true 'cash cow' for its owners - at the cost of clients' wellbeing and not least social responsibility (salaries bieng inadequately low). Hotel is definitely not to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel, and it did not disappoint!
Even though it is busy, the valet, & check-in was prompt and courteous.
We were on the concierge level, and our room was spotless, comfortable, very quiet, and had a very restful bed.
The snacks were delicious and plentiful. Every employee I came in contact with was very helpful and were not satisfied until I was. Great service!!!!!
Don't let the downtown location scare you, it was convenient to everything, fine restaurants, bayside mall, Miami Beach,
and anywhere you want to go.
This is MY hotel whenever my travels take me to Miami.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andiamo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#18 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#12 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,144 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Property: Hyatt Regency Miami
Address: 400 South East Second Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Miami
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing