We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not to sound like a broken record but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Miami
Ranked #45 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not to sound like a broken record but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is in dire need of room renovation. No amount of cleaning will bring this hotel up to the level of its competitors. The carpet is old, the walls are dirty, the decor screams 1980! I think my mom had the same artwork in our house back in 1985. You would think that the amount of reviewers that call attention to this fact would have turned on some alarm bells to the hotel that it's time for some capital investment in their product. The staff was fantastic and I give them a ton of credit for having a less than stellar product to sell.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    1,022
    680
    320
    141
See reviews for
527
681
156
1,054
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Surprised that Hyatt was not more upscale. The room was a semi-suite type with a funky design. For example, partial petitions were everywhere with no flow to the space. Few outlets were available. The bathtub had hair in the tub. The amenities were shockingly poor for what I thought was an upscale chain. Employee service was good and staff was friendly, but I will not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The service was great, but the carpet in my room was dirty and worn. Even the walls were dirty in my room. Beds were comfortable and clean. Room service was timely - but the food was not very good. I was here for a conference, but am a passport member that often stays with Hyatt on vacation but this is the third one I have ran into in a year that needs renovation. Heck I would be happy with them just painting the walls and cleaning the carpet!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halterp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The five day conference stay in this hotle has been a largely disappointing experiece: rooms urgentily require modernization and upgrading, notaby bathrooms and floors, interior look all but inspiring. Breakfast was not a great thing either, too much of unhealthy items as used to be common 10 or 20 years back but nowadays? The best part of our stay was the 'nameless' staff members who work for USD 10 an hour and were always very helpful, hence for the Hyatt group this 612 bedroom hotel must be a true 'cash cow' for its owners - at the cost of clients' wellbeing and not least social responsibility (salaries bieng inadequately low). Hotel is definitely not to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel, and it did not disappoint!
Even though it is busy, the valet, & check-in was prompt and courteous.
We were on the concierge level, and our room was spotless, comfortable, very quiet, and had a very restful bed.
The snacks were delicious and plentiful. Every employee I came in contact with was very helpful and were not satisfied until I was. Great service!!!!!
Don't let the downtown location scare you, it was convenient to everything, fine restaurants, bayside mall, Miami Beach,
and anywhere you want to go.
This is MY hotel whenever my travels take me to Miami.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andiamo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on business, which was taking place at the convention centre (reason for picking the hotel in the first place). Walking into the lobby, we got a great first impression and quick check in service. Unfortunately, the rooms were another story - they are dark, with windows that don't open and carpets that felt dirty (I didn't want to walk around barefoot). The room overall felt damp no matter what we changed the temperature/fan setting to (to the point that our bathing suits never dried). The bed was comfortable. The bathroom fixtures were very outdated. The rooms definitely need a facelift...hardwood floors would be a nice first step.

The breakfast buffet had a lot of nice options, although the eggs benedict were terrible (the english muffins hard as a rock). The pool is flanked by a busy road, and you can hear all the traffic, although it was a nice place to escape to during the day for some sunshine especially since the room got so little light. The gym was standard, nothing special. The service at the hotel was good.

The location was convenient for business, but all the shops and restaurants are in South beach which is a $20 cab ride (one way) and about 10-15 mins away depending on traffic.

I would not stay here again. I would definitely stay in South beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelgal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt Miami for only one night pre cruise. Check in for quick and they gave us a nice higher floor room. The room was large (king bedroom), but it really does need uodating. Popcorn ceiling, dated and dirty carpet, small bathroom, etc. The room was fine, but could be much much better if they upgraded. We would stay here again for a one night pre cruise stay, but only if we got another great deal like we did this time ( we won the hotel on Priceline).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maja651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#24 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#51 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Miami

Property: Hyatt Regency Miami
Address: 400 SE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33131-2140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hyatt Regency Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Miami
Hyatt Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing