We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Overnight Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport
Ranked #77 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing Overnight Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We picked this hotel because we had an overnight layover in Miami, and the positive posts on Trip advisor. We were given room 340 in the second building, the room was cold as ice when we entered. Found all the a/c knobs broken off or removed, that left us with one option, off/on.

To flush the toilet you have to hold the handle down the entire time or the process stops. The very loud sounds coming from the elevator mechanical room gave no comfort to riding the unit, this was especially loud on the third floor.

Coffee is advertised 24/7, don't count on it, none as we came down for the 5 AM airport shuttle, Lobby had used coffee cups sitting around and used/wet napkin on the floor. Staff was oblivious to it. We missed the shuttle because the room clock was set to the wrong time. We'll pick another hotel the next time we layover in Miami.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review on our hotel. We do appreciate your comments and would like to apologize for your experience. We take your review seriously and will ensure that additional training is conducted to avoid a future occurrence. Thanks for choosing our hotel and hope to see you the next time you visit Miami.
Thank you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    831
    744
    266
    222
See reviews for
928
625
174
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The team member Ben Stephenson from the Red Roof Hotel # 249 on Fort Lauderdale, FL, help us a lot, because I couldn't sleep the first night I was there due to the AC noise, and as he couldn't repair it, he offered to exchange from other. With high concern and worry for our situation, he dismounted one from another room, and put it in ours. He really merritt a recognizement, not only for his disposition to fix the problem, but also for his amiability, respectful and nice treatment.

Room Tip: The best rooms are with king bed, as these are the only ones with refrigerator and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MONKENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for your comments on our 'sister' pproperty in Ft. Lauderdale. I will pass on your sentiments. Glad to know that they resolved your issues expeditiously. We do take care of our customers.
Thanks again.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Well, I stayed at this hotel when I stopped at Miami for a couple of days on my way to Mexico. So, take into account that this has been a short stay. The price was very good and I wasn't expecting luxury.

That trip to Miami turned out into a shopping trip. So my room was only used at night (I was alone) to sleep and to storage all my purchases.

I even bought from Amazon.com and the hotel handled the packages without problems.

There was a very basic breakfast included, and for a solo traveler was enough. It consisted in coffee and bagels with cream cheese.

The hotel also had a pool (which I did not use) but saw lots of guests hanging around the pool.

I also had to ask for shower soap and shampoo, because they were not in my room, but that didn't bother me.

There´s also free parking. They have an automated gate and seems pretty safe.

Finally, the proximity to the Airport. I had to catch a flight really early, so it took me a couple of minutes to get to the rental car return, which made all the difference to me.

On a side note, it is true that if you are outside the room, you can hear the sounds of the planes, but I didn't feel them while at the room.

For me, for the price, it was the best option. I fully recommend this hotel for travelers spending a short amount of time in Miami, who need simple accomodations and being close to the airport.

The beds were also very comfortable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MX1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you very much for submitting a review on our hotel.
We are happy that you found our newly renovated property accommodating and our location ideal for your business needs. We are located conveniently to all shopping and major highways. Regarding the breakfast, we offer a basic continental so we can keep our rates low.
Please think of us again on your next trip to Miami.
Thanks.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked this hotel through the Drive,Sleep,Fly program and were happy with the results. The price is reasonable, the shuttle reliable, the free parking up to 14 days a good bargain and we found little or no jet noise at night. The hotel has been recently updated which added to the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BurtonH60814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for submitting a review on our hotel. We are delighted that our airport and one-way shuttle to the cruise port met your needs. We also appreciate your comments on the price value and cleanliness of the hotel, we take great pride in maintaining our new rooms and lobby. We hope that you will think of us on your next trip to the Miami area.
Thanks again.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slocomb, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you love the sounds of jet engines this hotel is for you!!! The hotel sits at the end of 1 of the runways at the Miami airport. so every 2 minutes you will hear jets taxiing, reveing for take-off or landing over hotel. I would advise people to stay on a lower floor ( it may be quiter, but I am not sure). Even with ear plugs I heard jets all night. For the price I thought the rooms would be quieter, have softer beds and more room in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveinSlocomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review on our hotel. I am sorry that the sound of the aeroplanes affected your stay. We have sound proofed double windows that minimize sounds in all our rooms. The other postive aspect of the airport is that most flights land/take off before midnight.
Again, we are sorry that you were affected by the airport and hope you will visit us the next time you are in Miami.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is very near to the airport and has free shuttle service every 30 min... something very good to save on taxis....
anyway is too far from things so renting a car is almost necessary.. never knew how to use public transportation....
the hotel room was ok.. good space, TV. BUT not Refrigeretor.. or microwave as other inns...no way to cook or keeP food inside the room.... the bathroom was kept clean but smelled moldy and has no ventilation more than opening thte door to the room, breakfast was poor, good POol area...... front desk guys were very nice.. specially sergio.. dind't have time to say goodbye so thanks for everything....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review on our hotel. Just to let you know we offer specific room types that come with In-Room Coffee Service, Microwave and Micro-refrigerators. We provide a basic breakfast to keep your room rates lower than our competitors. Thanks for your observation on the airplanes our double windows are very effective in minimizing sounds. We trust that we have addressed your concerns and hope to see you on your next visit to Miami.
Thank you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Finding a nice,affordable, and a place where you can feel pleasant nowadays with not a lot of money it's a big deal. I found this hotel while searching online. I thought that may be i will get less for the amount of money that i paid, but i was wrong. The only negative aspect of my stay was the Wi-Fi, it is not the best. Breakfast was okay, for one night i was able to live with it. Staff was very friendly and professional. Specially the staff that works front desk. A very handsome guy at night Yoan, and a polite lady in the morning. Overall, i will recommend Red Roof Inn for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for submitting a review of your experience with our hotel. As you have noted, our new rooms do offer good price value. Sorry about the slowness of our Wifi, might have been peek time.Yoan will be delighted to read your comments, our staff go the extra mile to provide guest satisfaction. We hope you will visit us again when you are next in the area.
Thanks again.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Miami Airport
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#35 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs/Miami International Airport
5.4 mi away
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport

Property: Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport
Address: 3401 NW Lejeune Road, Miami, FL 33134-7106
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing