We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll pay a price if you're by the lured by the price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport
Ranked #77 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You'll pay a price if you're by the lured by the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This Red Roof Inn is the lowest-cost alternative by far near to the airport. As always, you get what you pay for, which in this case isn't much. Checked in late after a long travel day. Got to the room and found a large puddle near the HVAC unit. We didn't bother changing rooms because a) it was late, b) the front desk didn't answer the phone anyway, and c) we could simply avoid that part of the room for one night.

Generally, the place is worn and dingy. The hallways and our room had a musty, damp-basement smell to them. When the doors to other rooms close they close with a loud clank that reverberates up and down the hallway like the doors in a cellblock.

The door to the bathroom bound on the floor as it opened and closed, no doubt because the laminate floor was swelling with moisture. (Note to management and contractor: you can't put laminate flooring in a shower area. Doesn't work. Even Harry Homeowner knows that.)

The "continental" breakfast choices consisted of: white bread, white bread bagels, muffins, or an apple. That's it.

If you don't mind low-rent lodging for a low-rent price, this place might be OK. But you do indeed get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for the review on your stay with us. We apologize for the issue with your AC, the temperature dropped the previous night to 54 degrees (unusual for Miami) hence the reason for freezing up. We do offer a basic continental breakfast in order to keep our rates lower than our competitors. Our expert staff at the desk would have loved the opportunity to assist you with connecting to our Wifi. Hope to see you again on your next trip to Miami.
Thank you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    832
    747
    267
    222
See reviews for
931
627
174
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The look and comfort of the hotel were just wonderful. The bed was very comfy, but here's the problems I had. The water in the shower kept going from luke warm to hot, wouldn't stay constant. Wifi was almost impossible to connect, I just gave up and used my data plan to get online. The breakfast was ok but offered virtually nothing for diabetics which my husband is. He ended having to buy his breakfast every morning. If those issues were fixed I'd give this hotel a couple more stars. One thing that was very good to see a guest of a guest lost her key card and the front desk wouldn't give her another one because she wasn't the registered room holder. Kudos for the front desk worker that stood her ground.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for submitting a review on our hotel. Sorry to hear about the water situation in your room, we will have one of our engineers look at it. We will aslo look at adding other breakfast items that would be more suitable to your needs. We are delighted about the cooments on our front desk staff, we do take the security of our guest very seriously.
Thanks again and hope to see you on your next visit to the area.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We flew in on a late flight to Miami to catch a cruise the next day. We chose this hotel because of the complimentary transportation from the airport and to the port. Our delayed flight meant that we were a little too late to take advantage of the airport shuttle, we simply grabbed a taxi, and $11 bucks and less than 5 minutes later were checking in at the front desk. The rates were fair, the rooms were adequate. We had a good nights sleep, and for a hotel directly below a runway flight path noise was not an issue. Those complaining, please remember that you are not at home in a quite cul-de-sac in Denver, you are at an airport hotel with an international airport across the street. If light sleep is a problem for you perhaps you should take a cab to a hotel away from the airport. I'm sure that the management of the Red Roof Inn have very little say on when flights come and go from the airport.

From what we saw the continental breakfast was good, although when we got there it was a lobby full of scavengers hiding away enough food in their luggage to feed their family for a week, leaving us with an apple to share. We are of course late risers, so the continental breakfast ending at 9:30am is a bummer for us at all hotels and not unique to this hotel. The shuttle to port in the morning was a great service. It left at 1pm and the front desk was gracious enough to let us stay in the room until the shuttle left. We were dropped off right in front of the boat with no trouble at all. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for submitting a review on our hotel. We are delighted that our airport and one-way shuttle to the cruise port met your needs. We also appreciate your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel, we take great pride in maintaining our new rooms and lobby. Thanks for expressing your appreciation for our breakfast. We offer a basic continental breakfast so that we may extend better rates than neighboring hotels. I can see this was good price value for your group.

We hope that you will think of us on your next trip to the Miami area.

Thanks again.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked a 2 day stay prior to our cruise with a small travel group. The staff was very friendly to me and my husband, even though we had several issues. We had booked a king room for one night but several weeks before our stay we added an extra night. We arrived and found ourselves in a very warm, double room. We tried to adjust the air conditioning but it would only blow hot air. We were moved to the room next door which was cooler. The room was clean enough but more attention could be paid to the floor and shower. The bottoms of my white socks were almost black.

After returning from dinner we found that our keys would not work. There was a mix-up when they moved us, no big deal. The staff fixed it with a smile and apology. We noticed that the back corridor door would not open from inside. The front corridor door from the pool did the same thing. It took someone from outside with a key to let us out. We advised the desk.

Some time during the night, our air froze up. It wasn't even on high. When it froze up, we had to completely turn it off which enhanced the sound of the planes flying over.

The next day we found the breakfast to be a little disappointing so we went sightseeing. When we returned, our keys wouldn't work again. We had our arms full of purchases and the housekeeper tried to help but we couldn't get in. Down to the desk once again where we find that we have been checked out. Unfortunately our reservation was placed with the wrong group and they had checked out. Thankfully, although they were full, we were allowed to keep our room that night, unfortunately they would have to place a second hold on our credit card.

Again, our air froze up after just a short time. The back corridor door wasn't repaired but rather propped open with a cement block. The pool was clean as were the grounds.

The air conditioning never cooled the room properly but at least we could get in our room.
The next day, we learned that all the preparations for our tour group breakfast had been thrown away, even though the room had been reserved.

All in all I doubt we'd stay here on our own unless there was no other option.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building so you can be closer to guest services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review on our hotel. . We are also delighted that you found our staff friendly and accommodating. I would also like to apologize for your key and Airconditioning issue. Sometimes when the temperature drops outside, it gets very cold on the inside. Our we also offer specific room types that come with In-Room Coffee Service, Microwave and Micro-refrigerators. We trust that we have addressed your concerns and hope to see you on your next visit to Miami.
Thank you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is close to the Airport. Too Close.
From 23:30 - 08:30 planes can be heard throughout (every 30 seconds as mentioned in a previous review is likely correct)
There is little noise heard between the rooms however.
The rooms have been updated, sloppy workmanship but nothing unexpected. Laminate flooring throughout room.
There was no sign of any bed bugs (room on third floor)
The facility however is still in need of further repair. The elevators and stairwells were extremely sketchy. And the light fixtures in the room above the bed were in terrible condition. Stained or something??
Biggest complaints (other than planes which didn't actually bother me):
-Wifi Connection was terrible
-Breakfast was plastic wrapped bagels and muffins (as though they came from a vending machine) and both were from frozen, barely thawed.
-Pool wasn't heated
-Although close to MIA neighbourhood is run down. Closed/boarded up restaurants etc. Nowhere decent within walking distance.
-Charged for safe rental even after saying upfront I didn't want/need it. (its only $1.50/day but still)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sign_guyonvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thanks for submitting a review on our hotel. We do appreciate your comments on the low noise factors in our rooms, the windows are doubled to filter noise. Concerning our renovation we opted for beautiful laminate floors instead of carpet, spa inspired bathrooms and Serta Comfort mattress. To complete the renovation process we have just finished upgrading our elevators. I am sorry you missed the opportunity to experience the Bennigans Restaurant adjacent to the hotel or use of our free shuttle to other locations nearby. We hope you think of us on your next visit to Miami.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Probably the cheapest airport hotel in Miami. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff friendly. Breakfast was a bit lacking, even by continental hotel standards. Not a big deal. Shuttle bus runs every 30 minutes starting very early, 5 AM I think.

You might hear a plane or two from time to time, but it's airport hotel. That's to be expected. Didn't bother me at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MusikAnimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for your comments on our newly renovated hotel and customer service. We go the extra mile to ensure guest satisfaction. I see that you have recognized our price value. We do maintain a fair competitive value even though we are almost brand new. Glad you liked our Serta Comfort Mattress and bathroom amenities. Maybe on yoru next visit you get a chance to expereince our free shuttle service to some sepciality restaurants that are close to the hotel.
Thanks again.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

if you are looking for a quick stay while you wait to get on your cruise, then this is a good enough hotel for that. the rooms were clean and upgraded so that was nice. the bathroom was very small but at least the sink was not in there just the shower and the toilet. if you are staying because they offer a free breakfast then you should reconsider. the breakfast was only breads and pasteries and not much else... it was very crowded in there as well with only limited tables. the pool area was very nice and looks like they keep it well maintained. there a lots of planes flying over so conversations by the pool are interupted a lot. overall it was a good enough place to stay for one night prior to a cruise!

Room Tip: you could not hear the planes from the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjietrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We do appreciate your comments and very delighted that you liked our newly renovated accommodations with Serta Comfort Mattress, new lobby, complimentary amenities such as free Wifi, long distance calls and complimentary shuttle to the Port of Miami. Hope you had a wonderful cruise.
Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Miami.
Thank you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Miami Airport
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East
1.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#37 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs/Miami International Airport
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport

Property: Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport
Address: 3401 NW Lejeune Road, Miami, FL 33134-7106
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing