We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Out Dated..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle
Ranked #80 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out Dated..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and travel extensivly.I visited Grove Isle in 1987 for a high school function nice place.My wife and I visited Grove Isle for our anniversary in July 2013, looks like it did back then, not in a good way. Upon arrival, no one in valet, we unloaded all of our luggage walked in up to the front desk with no one even noticing. Alot of "we are so sorry" Our room smelled old. Furniture "WAS" old. Couches, old, saggy. There in one a/c for two rooms, so the bedroom
was always too hot. You couldn't sleep in the living room because the couch were too nasty. To top it off they charged us $17 for a pay-per view movie on a very old analog style T/V. It was almost funny, until we received the final bill. Then it wasn't funny at all. After complaining basically they said"we are so sorry" but we're booked and your stuck in THAT room. Grove Isle ask us to fill our a survey, like they were very concerned. AGAIN, " we are so sorry". I never heard from them again. For the high price, definitely not worth the money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank eriestrada42014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    92
    58
    37
    47
See reviews for
86
142
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carolinas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I’ve heard that the hotel will be torn down this summer to make room for another high-rise condo, so this review may be superfluous. But here goes anyway. The hotel is located on a private island. There are water views all around. The grounds are beautiful with a path all the way around. However, the hotel itself is in need of renovation. In our first room, the AC was so loud that it kept waking us when it went on. We tried to turn it off, but it kept coming back to life. The bathroom sink was missing its stopper mechanism (both my wife and I wear contact lenses, so a sink stopper is a necessity), and the cold water valve was installed backwards. There were too few hangers and towels, although the used towels were replaced twice a day. We moved to another room where the AC was quieter. But it was quiet because it didn’t work. Running the AC all day produced no reduction in temperature. We complained, but nothing was done. The first room had a shaving mirror; the second did not. We were part of a group and from talking to our friends, it was clear that amenities differed from room to room. The pool area is beautiful, but many of the chairs were torn, some with the stuffing falling out. Our only meal there was breakfast which was pricy, but very good. Service was fine except we had to track down our waiter to get the check. The Sunday brunch looked very nice. If you bring a car, valet parking is mandatory and retrieving our car was slow in the morning. It’s a long walk from the hotel to any other restaurant. The elevators creaked, moaned and jerked. The health club was very nice. Beware of the quoted room rate. It does not include a mandatory “resort fee” and valet parking. All in all, a beautiful setting but a hotel that seems to have given up on maintenance.

Room Tip: We were warned that rooms overlooking the fire pit can sometimes be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OscarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here on my 3rd visit to Miami. The fact that the hotel is located on an island is amazing! The amenities are great, I love the pool area that has an great view of the city. The brunch at the restaurant is pretty good too. Highly recommended!! The only down side is the hotel rooms are a little dated, they could use some renovation. And there's no fridge in the room!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jingwangny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Everything about this place was wonderful.

The service the food and being right by the water. My husband's Company arranged for music which just made it all the more fun. We were greeted with Mohitos and there was a full bar for those who didn't want one.

What a fabulous evening. Everyone enjoyed themselves.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This past weekend my girlfriends and I spend a wonderful girls-only evening at the Grove Isle & Spa in honor of my birthday. Upon arrival the valet attendant – Harrison – was very warm and welcoming. At the front desk we were greeting with warm smiles – Becky quickly had us all set! She was also our check out! After quickly checking into the bayfront room we decided to take a dip in the pool. We were concerned that it was a bit cold but were pleasantly surprised that the water was nice and warm. We were able to swim around for about an hour in the middle of winter overlooking the bay! WONDERFUL! The pool area has a private bar where drinks were brought to us by Felipe – I had a delicious ginger margarita and my friend had the strawberry muddled margarita. She said she could do w/all the little extra pieces going up her straw but otherwise it was delicious! Back in our room we had two comfy queen size beds and our French doors opened up to a private walkway straight to the bay! Beautifully romantic for a couples weekend and refreshing for a girls getaway! There was a hint of humidity smell in the air but nothing that can’t be fixed by letting the room air out a bit –this is South Florida after all and humidity is a factor. After a restful night (and no noise level whatsoever!) we got ready to head to Gibraltar. The manager Rodolfo was very social and accommodating – we couldn’t make up our minds inside or outside. After being settled outside we decided to go back inside – too humid! Go figure…Jose, our waiter, was attentive and outgoing but as the restaurant filled up his attention quickly fizzled out a bit – it was made up by offering us some desert and coffee on the house. Thankfully the view was amazing and the atmosphere was light and refreshing! I ordered the Tuna Tostadas – AMAZING! Then I had the street tacos – the tuna was the best hands down! Warm bread and butter was also at the table. My friend had the Blackened Mahi Tuna w/truffle fries – she said it was perfectly spicy and the truffle fries were just BUTTERY DELICIOUS! The mimosas were just what we needed for our brunch and had a few of them before calling it a day! We walked around for a bit and enjoyed the scenery! To have such a gorgeous day in the middle of winter is a total blessing! Grove Isle is a hidden little vintage gem in a very secluded area of Coconut Grove. Don’t judge it for the “modern” luxuries it lacks but love it for the romantic and charming vibe it gives! One night made me feel rejuvenated, focus and centered!

The only cons – we ordered ice and the bucket never arrived. We did a second callback and finally we had ice! Also, we were in need of water but it was way late in the night – after 10pm according to a gentleman at the hotel there is no room service or any type of vending machine to get some water. We were in dire need of some water but managed to get our hands on some can sodas. Nothing to deter our nice getaway but something to keep in mind for next time if you will need these items!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simba9960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

A beautiful location but the service is terrible and there seems to be no one in charge. We ordered two drinks for dinner and the waitress without asking had them made with premium liquor, charging $13 each. next they automatically added a 20% service charge. The "breakfast package" which supposedly is a full breakfast includes only one item on the menu. There was only one robe in the room, the bidet did not work, there was no HDTV, and the thermostat didn't work. Additionally, the maids had not cleaned the room by 4 PM the next day. $273, plus $66 in taxes, and $24 a day for parking. They have seen the last of us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Recently stayed at this small hotel, whilst the rooms are slightly dated the hotel is set in an amazing location, stunning views and an easy drive into downtown Miami. Food is great, even had my hair done on site…. would definitely go back for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#44 of 124 in Miami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle

Property: Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle
Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Miami, FL 33133-4125 (Formerly The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
Grove Isle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing