We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Overall very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle
Ranked #71 of 119 Hotels in Miami
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My fiance and I took advantage of the Winter Escapes package for a few much-needed days of vacation in Miami earlier this month. Overall we had a good experience at the Grove Isle Hotel and Spa. The hotel is located just off the coast of Coconut Grove on a small island. Our room was airy and spacious, if not completely up-to-date (we had some stuck taps on the sink/tub). We enjoyed waking up in the mornings and sitting on our balcony overlooking the palm trees and water. There is a nice walking path around the island and you can either work out at the Fitness Center or run to a nearby outdoor gym. The pool area was clean and had a good mix of shady and sun-exposed places to lounge. I enjoyed a massage at the Spa, and we both had a chance to go in the Watsu pool (jacuzzi with massaging waterfall) one afternoon.

My only two negative comments about the hotel are these: first, the elevators showed inspection certificates that expired in 2010. They were quite creaky and one elevator actually dropped 6 inches below ground level when we were about to get on it. We reported the incident to the staff, but after that we mostly took the stairs. Second, the restaurant is quite pricey, even for lunch-type items at the pool. We chose to eat off-site as a result; there are many nice restaurants less than 3 miles away in Coconut Grove that offer better value. Still, it would be nice if the property had a more casual/low cost cafe option for breakfast and lunch.

Overall I had a very relaxing and restorative stay at Grove Isle Hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank km l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    87
    56
    37
    45
See reviews for
82
137
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, MA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a beautiful resort with beautiful views. The hotel was very clean. Like most hotels food and drinks at the pool were VERY Expensive.....but too be expected. But with that said, love the wonderful pool service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

When you need somewhere to retire to after all the hectic activities, nightlife (and traffic) of Miami, this is the ideal place in Coconut Grove. Neither too far from anywhere nor too close to be affected by any of it, the Grove Isle is a mini island paradise with superb views, great service, blissfully cool and comfortable rooms and a great bar/restaurant. Can't say enough good things bout our 3-night stay here as it really was idyllic after working for much of the day at a South Beach convention. A really unusual location and wonderful, calm retreat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Last week, my company had a meeting at Grove Isle for almost a week. The service was excellent: the wait staff knew my name, food and beverage preferences by heart after the first night and the event coordinator Megan was a joy to work with, very accommodating and exceptional with her willingness. Above all, the location is phenomenal. It's not often you get to wake up with a warm southern breeze blowing in through the balcony door while overlooking an ocean view. I also enjoyed an amazing deep tissue massage at the adjoining spa where, again, the staff was wonderful and attentive. Last but not least, my favorite aspect of the hotel and surrounding area is the .67 mile loop that goes around the property. I got to get my jog in each day without fearing for my life and while also enjoying a beautiful view.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

a nightmare with my personal credit card, they charged an amount they were not supposed to, one week of lies telling they had solved straight away, explanation like "we can't send international faxes!!!" they pretend to be professional but they are not, I had to argue with acc. office, other bunch of lies, unbelievable...at the end I had to solve myself the issue, a place to avoid a total nightmare! besides everyone in my group had issues with bills, invoices...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rinobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGroveisle, General Manager at Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed that your visit with us was not as pleasant as we all would have liked. Your feedback is vital for us to address our shortfalls as well as perfecting our service going forward. I do hope that you return in the future and give us the opportunity to impress you with the service and regain your confidence in the Grove Isle Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Have booked 4 out of 6 days of my Miami vacation at this place. It is a nice and calm place.
It is like a tropical retreat in Miami. Nice laid back look and feel to it. It is set into the back of the bay and so is quiet and so also no beach action. Nice water front walkway and a really nice view from the restaurant. The camp fire is also a popular place with the guests.

I haven't seen young families with kids here. It is a smaller establishment of approx 50 rooms. If you are looking for action at your door step this is not your hotel. Most of the balcony rooms have trees partially obstructing the view. The restaurant has limited choice on the menu

It is close to attractions. This is a place to stay when you have your own ride. The valet is quick and efficient. Looks like it is a popular place with locals for their events....... Anniversaries, marriages, etc

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationerFromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

It was my pleasure to stay at The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa last week during a getaway to Miami. The premises are extremely well kept and the views of the island are spectacular. There is a walking trail around the entire premises which is well worth the time. The staff (from the valet staff who welcome you by name) to the helpful personnel at the front desk made the trip enjoyable. The outdoor pool and restaurant staff are also great. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#13 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#63 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coral Way
Hotel Urbano
Hotel Urbano
#45 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle

Property: Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle
Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Miami, FL 33133-4125 (Formerly The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
Grove Isle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing