We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“GREAT VACATION” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle
Ranked #81 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Bellport, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“GREAT VACATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

I don't believe that we were just fortunate that our 4 night stay (5/22 - 5/26) was a great vacation at Grove Isle. I honestly feel that any negatives I could mention in this review were merely things beyond the staff's control.
Everything was as advertised and we had exactly the room that we reserved. The location is great. The staff was friendly and attentive. We did not have any real complaints to test the staff's ability to handle unhappy customers and did not witness any disgruntled guests.
The one problem we did have was that we were not able to receive an internet signal in our room for the last 2 days of our stay. Oddly enough, we could get a signal down at the pool just not in our room. We called the front desk and they said that the internet was working and no one else had complained of this. I do believe that if we had pressed the issue they would have done whatever they could to try to help us with our problem.
The time we were there is their off season and found the hotel very quite and empty. Had the pool all to ourselves most of the time. A short drive away we were able to find all the people, noise, and activity you could want from downtown Miami. Eventhough we were there during two NBA games and there was some light construction it was only 10 - 15 minutes to Downtown or South Beach.

Room Tip: try to get above third floor for unobstructed view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpkai65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear you had a fabulous stay with us! The hotel was almost at full occupancy during your stay and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful, serene atmosphere of our resort. Thank you for the beautiful pictures you added and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Grove Isle Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    92
    58
    37
    47
See reviews for
86
142
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fantasyland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stayed 5 days and 4 nites May 18-22, 2011...Beautiful place to stay..can't find nothing bad to say...food was great...Richard at the Tiki Bar was a real treat...all the staff was amazing..the manager was so gracious to us....loved all the personal touches...will definately stay there everytime I am in Miami.

Room Tip: Book early and save. Fourth day stay was free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Latonia421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

We value such great feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Grove Isle Hotel and Spa! Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next stay as we are always pleased to serve you the best way we can!

Sincerely,
The Grove Isle Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

Grove Isle is a great place to stay, the hotel grounds are really lovely and attentively looked after and the waterfront location is superb from an early morning jog right through to a relaxing drink by the fire late in the evening.

Pros: Large rooms, nice decor, individuality of the place, food at Gibraltar, security offered by private gated complex, plenty of pool beds available especially in the week, the running track around the island

Cons: Food and drink are a bit pricey (although that could be that my £'s are still worth rather less than they used to be), it's a drive to go anywhere else and cabs aren't always easy to come by

Be aware: The resort facilities are shared with condo residents and the self park (if you want to avoid $25 a day just to park your car) is right at the other end of the island.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree that going for a morning walk or jog on our pathway that circle's the island is a great way to start the morning. Our fire pit is an extra touch in the evening that look's right out to the ocean and is quite relaxing for anyone to sit back and unwind from their everday lifestyle. We are currently working with some new local transportation companies in the area to ensure a quicker response for our guests. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
The Grove Isle Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

My wife and I are busy bee's. On Saturdays she works and I attend an executive MBA program. It is difficult for us to travel for multiple nights but we live in Miami and I decided to surprise her for our first wedding anniversary with a one night stay, dinner at the Gibraltar (the hotel restaurant), and the cherry on top a romantic spa session.

I checked in on Saturday and the rooms were a bit old but clean and a nice view. The restaurant, Gibraltar was great. The hotel and restaurant knew we were celebrating a special occasion and the host gave us the table alongside the bay. It was a beautiful and amazing view.

The next day I had planned a 1:30pm spa session for us both and reserved the "Watsu" pool for 45 minutes after. They called it the "romance" package and I reserved it a week in advance. When we arrived we were escorted to the relaxation room and left to wait for about 15 minutes. Next we were told by the spa receptionist that we had to choose which one of us two were going to get the massage because they only had one therapist??? I immediately replied it was unacceptable considering I had called a week in advance and I specifically told them it was my first wedding anniversary. She then told me I could always just reschedule. This is my first marriage and I am not that experienced in this field but I do know rescheduling a wedding anniversary is not a good idea or feasible. I then walked out and immediately went to the lobby and asked for the hotel manager. I was expecting a more sensitive, understanding, and helpful individual. Instead I dealt with a manager who told me they had no control over not having sufficient therapist. I was disgusted as there was a lack of compassion and above all a resolution to please a client. What can you expect from a staff that is lead by this type of individual?

Overall I will NEVER go there again. I couldn't believe they ruined my first wedding anniversary. Fortunately, I have a loving wife and she was just pleased with my attempt to make it a memorable time. However I am not pleased with the hotel spa's lack of customer service oriented individuals. Its not like they are charging Motel 6 prices. I wouldn't recommend staying here, but I wouldn't discourage anyone from having dinner at Gibraltar.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avidales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear guest,

We apologize profusely for your disappointment here at the Grove Isle Hotel and Spa on your one year anniversary. One of your scheduled therapists was in a slip and fall accident just minutes before your appointment and was rushed to the hospital. Unfortunately your reservation could not be re-scheduled as all other therapists were engaged in services as previously discussed that day. We sincerely apologize that your services were beyond our control and hope that you give us the oppurtunity to show you the type of customer service we strive to offer here at the Grove Isle Hotel and Spa.

Sincerely,
The Grove Isle Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

I made a reservation at this hotel for one night to attend a friend weeding. The customer service is great from the guys at the valet parking to the front desk counter. I was help by an employee by the name of Aura at the front counter she was very pleasant and helpful. Room services were also great. The room air conditioner was a little bit noise but once you fall asleep you will be fine. The waiters at the wedding were so nice and helpful. They should be more careful with the dance floor because it was slippery and I felt no big deal but if an elderly person falls is not going to be funny and the hotel could find them in a big lawsuit. Other than that the brunch was delicious and the service was super good. This is a place I can recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chichita710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear guest,

We are so pleased to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us here at the Grove Isle Hotel and Spa. Thank you for such kind words on our staff, we are delighted to hear feedback such as yours. It let's us know that we are meeting our customer service goals and proud to provide our guests with exceptional service. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
The Grove Isle Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I recently had a long weekend stay - it was our 2nd or 3rd time at the Grove. Perfect spot if you love to play tennis (we don't) and wonderful walking trail around the water/property if you like to walk (we do). We arrived at noon on Friday and our room was ready. The room itself is quite large by hotel standards, and we had a lovely balcony as well. Bar area by the pool, terrific bar inside, very large restaurant and nice fitness room - all of which overlook the water- great views! The location is secluded, so it is nice to have a car - we were minutes away from downtown Coconut Grove and not much further to go to South Beach. Go for the relaxation and beautiful location, enjoy drinks at the bar and take advantage of the firepit / tiki lights at night,
while enjoying the water view. Be sure to go to Bouchon du Grove - a french restaurant in Coconut Grove where the waitors are also french and the food is excellent (we had a french couple dining beside us so you know the place is good). Make reservations.
We plan to return to the Grove Isle next time we are in the area - can't imagine anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbieay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

I had a really good time on my trip to Miami, and especially at Grove Isle. It was my first time there and I've traveled all over the US, I can't believe I've been missing out this long. The hotel is on an island and has incredible views, and the staff is incredible too, especially Jose at the front desk. He assisted me in the hotel, gave me tips on where to go and where to eat other than the restaurant on site which is great. I would definitely return to Grove Isle with my wife next time, I think she'd love it just as much as I did. I just hope that Jose is still at the property when I come back, what a big difference a good staff makes! This place is great for people who come to see The Sony Erickson since it's only 10 minutes away. Thanks again, see you guys soon!!

Room Tip: Call directly to the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newtravels43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#20 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#45 of 124 in Miami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle

Property: Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle
Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Miami, FL 33133-4125 (Formerly The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Palmeiras Beach Club at Grove Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
Grove Isle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing