We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UGH!”
Review of Hotel Chateaubleau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chateaubleau
Ranked #96 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is one of those places that United Airlines puts you up in when they screw up your flight. They tell you it's a great place, but it is an absolute hole. Do not stay here. The rooms are dirty, the locks on the doors do not work properly, there are tiles missing from the bathroom, mirrors are broken, lights don't work...and United puts you up there!! And this is after they sell your seats to people on stand-by because your flight (another united flight) gets to the airport late. You'd be better off sleeping in the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sprucecreekfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chateaubleau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 152 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We waited at the curb at the airport for over an hour and made four calls to the hotel asking where they would pick us up. After the final call they finally told us we needed to be up one floor. As if we had ever been here before. So the man did not speak english and was obviously mad. He slammed our luggage into the back of the van and slammed the doors. We finally arrive at the hotel and get checked in. We are hungry and tired at this point. We get our luggage to the elevator and get stuck in it three times having to call the front desk each time to let us out. After standing there and watching staff play on the lobby computer we ask the lady at the front desk how we are going to get all this luggage to the second floor. She looks up and says it will have to be carried. Really?? She does get help from a guy in the kitchen. He is not very big and the luggage surely out weighed him. So the whole time the guy who drove us just walked back and forth and looked at us refusing to offer a hand. Ok so we get the luggage to the room and start to get settled. Ughhhh....dated room, ceiling in bathroom stained and peeling. We are so tired that we just dont care anymore. We decided to check out the attached restaraunt. It was nice. Food was good. Priced rediculously high. It cost around 23 dollars for two shrimp and a piece of chicken cut up and put on a kabob. We head off to bed. The next morning we check out and wait for a ride to go to the cruise port. We settle out by the pool where an old man that appears to be family is smoking. We look at the balconies and it appears that alot of people are living here. The patio furniture was moved to their balconies from the pool. Also overheard a conversation between the lady who worked the night before and the man at the counter in the morning regarding canceling a credit card because a charge was made to it. It appears these folks are not paying their bills and definately dont repair anything in the hotel. This is not the place to stay for a precruise hotel.

Room Tip: Call ahead and read reviews
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muzicone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Second time here, everything is kind of OK, I don't understand why so many bad reviews. A few months ago I had trouble with the wifi signal but now, Dec. 2012, it works pretty well and it's strong and takes no password or anything. All in all three stars.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Claudio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed there to take advantage of a fairly economical rate and proximity to a facility I was doing business with. Encountered a school ma'am type who made you feel you were encroaching rather than them swerving you. Elevator archaic and nerve racking, sliding doors in the room hard to budge and pipes don't work too well. The only advantage to the place was its proximity to my business location. Place needs overhauling!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elgeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was trying to be budget conscious when I was traveling to Miami and decided to take a chance on this hotel. The pictures on the website looked fine and was not expecting too much. First of all the hotel was not in great shape when I arrived, debris around the parking lot and a handful of people sitting outside smoking. My room was not very clean at all; the bathroom sink was broken and put back together by some type of resin. The neighbors next to me were very loud as was the traffic outside my window. I ended up finding out the loud neighbors were crews from the cruise lines coming in. I checked out 2 days early and went to a Courtyard.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckeye_Traveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My flight was cancelled and the airport stuff gave me a voucher for this hotel. I stayed at this hotel for 15 min and checked out to stay at another hotel. I did not know that hotels this bad still exist! Nasty! Smelly! Disgusting! The staff at the front desk didnt even bother to ask why i checked out sp fast. He just smiled when i told him that i just checked in a few minutes earlier. I guess they are used to this. DO NOT CHECK IN! The worst nightmare came true.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My flight from Miami was cancelled as there was a technical fault with the aircraft. I stayed at Chateaubleau Hotel in Miami. On arrival the smell of the hotel was rancid with 8 Mexican looking young men loitering in reception. That was unsettling!!! I was starving and the kitchen was closed. The receptionist was a man of around 80 who seemed grumpy. The room smelt stale and as for the bed!!! I slept on the chair!!!At 2:30am someone was knocking on my door!!! I called Reception who sent someone to check - no feedback. in the morning I went downstairs at 5am as I just wanted to leave. There to greet me was a huge cockaroach!!!!! Was that breakfast??? Oh No!!! The kitchen was closed!!!! Never again!!!

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms which are on blind corners and exposed to the isolated land.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHATEAUBLEAU, Manager at Hotel Chateaubleau, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

We apologize for your bad experience at our hotel. We try to accommodate everyone the best we can. It seems like at the time of your arrival you weren't under the most favorable circumstances. When we receive distressed passengers from airlines we try to do our best under short notice.
Our restaurant is open from 7AM to 11PM although certain times, we keep it open after hours when we are expecting late arrivals. There are plenty of take outs open late near our area and even walking distance.
We have security cameras in our property and we keep only the main lobby entrance open.
We apologize again for your bad experience during your stay; we take these feed backs very seriously and we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
10.0 mi away
Quality Inn South at the Falls
3.1 mi away
Jefferson Hotel
Jefferson Hotel
#89 of 124 in Miami
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 12 in Coral Gables
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sinbad Motel
Sinbad Motel
#73 of 124 in Miami
69 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#38 of 124 in Miami
1,842 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateaubleau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateaubleau

Address: 1111 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Miami, FL 33134-3321
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Price Range: $81 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Chateaubleau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in The City Beautiful in the heart of historic Coral Gables, adjacent to the financial and design districts, shopping malls, entertainment centers, famous restaurants and only ten minutes from the Miami International Airport. All rooms are two queen or king size bed with spacious private balconies. The award winning restaurant Mylos offers the best tastes of the Mediterranean conveniently located in the hotel lobby. Hotel Chateaubleau is designed to give our guests personal attention in a family environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chateaubleau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Miami
Best Western Chateaubleau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing